Old 04-06-2005, 02:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
Hairstyle not appropriate for race ....

It was on the news yesterday, today I'm trying to find an article and no luck. A caucasian girl, couldn't be more than 12, was sent home by her school (Metro Detroit somewhere) because she had braids. The excuse they used was that her hairstyle was not appropriate for her race.

Could someone please define what a racially acceptable hairstyle is or entails? I lost.
Old 04-06-2005, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,225
for white folks or those with long str8 hair....pony tails or 1-2 french braids

black folks could have de afro and de braids and plaits.
Old 04-06-2005, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,421
http://newswww.bbc.net.uk/1/low/education/4361791.stm

stupid school. just stupid. she should go somewhere else just based on the fact that I wouldn't want someone so dumb trying to teach me anything.

Last edited by Mystic Xtremist; 04-06-2005 at 02:52 PM..
Old 04-06-2005, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 41,522
This place has gone MAD!

Old 04-06-2005, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist

stupid school. just stupid. she should go somewhere else just based on the fact that I wouldn't want someone so dumb trying to teach me anything.
I wonder what kind of cut-rate cereal box education this head teacher have.

Old 04-06-2005, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,421
Originally Posted by shandy
I wonder what kind of cut-rate cereal box education this head teacher have.
And I wonder if they send home black girls for perming/straightening their hair
Old 04-06-2005, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlkSexyTriniChic

This place has gone MAD!
fuh real
Old 04-06-2005, 02:57 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,970

Imagine how much ppl would get sent home!!
Old 04-06-2005, 02:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173

Thanx Mystic. Yuh de Google don!

P.S. Mi completely wrong, is Europe dis happen, no wonder mi caan find it. Still, wha de *&$#clawt dis fada?

Last edited by Agony; 04-06-2005 at 03:01 PM..
Old 04-06-2005, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wuck up ya waist gyal

Credits: 231
pure stchupidity.........
Old 04-06-2005, 02:58 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 29,932
Originally Posted by Agony
It was on the news yesterday, today I'm trying to find an article and no luck. A caucasian girl, couldn't be more than 12, was sent home by her school (Metro Detroit somewhere) because she had braids. The excuse they used was that her hairstyle was not appropriate for her race.

Could someone please define what a racially acceptable hairstyle is or entails? I lost.
Nah! Da come like this Indian girl, whose mother tell her tuh take de canerows out her hair.
Old 04-06-2005, 03:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 14,225
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
Nah! Da come like this Indian girl, whose mother tell her tuh take de canerows out her hair.
well is she mother who say so....not she principal.
Old 04-06-2005, 03:02 PM   #13 (permalink)

God forbid the black students should put blond streaks. That should call for instant expulsion.

Logic and sense has been thrown out the window oui.

Old 04-06-2005, 03:03 PM   #14 (permalink)

And weaves, oh my goodness, the punishment for weaves would be astonishing.

Old 04-06-2005, 03:05 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 29,932
And weaves, oh my goodness, the punishment for weaves would be astonishing.
Nah, plenty white girls does wear dem too. Doh ge' tie up cause it does blend in better wit dem. lol