Old 06-22-2008, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tis the season for giving

Hair maintenance

What's your regime for maintaining healthy hair?

How often do you wash/ condition you hair and with what products?

I came across this, her hair looks healthy. Is it me or the stylist real pulling up the client hair...lol
YouTube - Design Essentials Home Styling Vol. 1: Precious-Natural Hair
Old 06-23-2008, 08:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

I do cowashes at least 3 times per week and deep condition once a week.

After a wash I moisturizer with profectiv mega growth antibreakage strengthener and herbal essences LTR leave in then I seal with amla oil.

I also use a mixture of ayurvedic oils on my scalp when my hair is dried.

Now that I'm newly relaxed I rollerset, then dry then I brush out the curls and wrap my hair before styling.
Old 06-23-2008, 09:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
In retirement.

Originally Posted by Chillybebee View Post
What's your regime for maintaining healthy hair?

How often do you wash/ condition you hair and with what products?

I came across this, her hair looks healthy. Is it me or the stylist real pulling up the client hair...lol
YouTube - Design Essentials Home Styling Vol. 1: Precious-Natural Hair
Hmmm
I had a huge bottle of Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Shampoo and Conditioner
Still have lots of conditioner but now I use Relaxed and natural Shampoo.

I recently started cowashing this year and I use Cholesterol.

I realize the less I manipulate my hair the better so that means I wash it prob every 2 weeks.

I've unlearned a lot of things with my hair ie. I would dry then comb out....never again
I would have it combed out then wash it....This of course tangled it up again so now I keep huge twists in it and wash it in sections.

Also instead of blowdrying I part and flattwist or cornrow for quick drying and to reduce shrinkage.

I guess unfortunately I still use "grease" in my hair but its actually called Oil Therapy from Soft Sheen Carson and honestly feels like oil vs grease. I have a thing with using up products so I will use it till its done.

OH and before a wash I put random stuff in my hair conditioner, detangler, oil, odds and ends and sit under a conditoning cap prob for 2hrs I do it b4 I wash cos i dont like having to shower 2x (shampoo then condition washout)

Hurt people hurt people... Try to break the cycle.
Look within yourself, value yourself and treat others with dignity.

Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-23-2008, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Kiz

I doh have no regime...I wash it once ah week or every two weeks if my hair in cornrows..I doh have time or patience for de set ah simme dimmie
Old 06-23-2008, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Peace, Love & Unity

wash once a week, with either pantene or kera care shampoos & conditioners. every other week use Sebastin 2+1 or Motions CPR deep conditioners. every 2 days use either razac polishing gloss or IC polishing serum. and every day Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Nourishing Sheen Spray. i know i use a lot of sh!t on my hair
Old 06-23-2008, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tis the season for giving

Nice regimes ladies, what 'bout the guys? lol

wow! Nica you wash your hair a lot. You have an interesting method though. The most I think I can do is twice a week. Which ayurvedic oils do you use? how do you like the amla oil? I'm not really fond of the smell so I limit its use to hot oil treatments or scalp massages. There's this oil from morocco called argan oil, I'm eager to try it but I'm happy with what I use, (grape seed oil & apricot oil).

Originally Posted by Nica View Post
I do cowashes at least 3 times per week and deep condition once a week.

After a wash I moisturizer with profectiv mega growth antibreakage strengthener and herbal essences LTR leave in then I seal with amla oil.

I also use a mixture of ayurvedic oils on my scalp when my hair is dried.
Nice regime, if the grease works use it. I haven't used cholesterol in a while I used Queen Helene years ago. I try to comb out my hair while i'm washing out the conditioner or else it tangles too much. I too put a million things to condition my hair.(partly to use them up to) I mix oils and creams and go under the dryer for 10 mins when I want to speed up the process.

Hmmm
I had a huge bottle of Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Shampoo and Conditioner
Still have lots of conditioner but now I use Relaxed and natural Shampoo.
I recently started cowashing this year and I use Cholesterol.
I realize the less I manipulate my hair the better so that means I wash it prob every 2 weeks.

I've unlearned a lot of things with my hair ie. I would dry then comb out....never againI would have it combed out then wash it....This of course tangled it up again so now I keep huge twists in it and wash it in sections.
I wash my hair once a week or every 2 weeks as well.
Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
I doh have no regime...I wash it once ah week or every two weeks if my hair in cornrows..I doh have time or patience for de set ah simme dimmie
I just revisted Keracare detangling shampoo and it worked like a dream. Lol.. I use a lot of stuff on my hair as well. Sometimes I forget they're even there. I have a olive oil sheen spray in my cupboard for years now. lol
I've started consolidating all conditioners and oil as a pre-shampoo to cut down on time. Then after shampooing I might go under the dryer for 5 mins. with the conditioner.I've used a similar regime before. I like ORS products
Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
wash once a week, with either pantene or kera care shampoos & conditioners. every other week use Sebastin 2+1 or Motions CPR deep conditioners. every 2 days use either razac polishing gloss or IC polishing serum. and every day Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Nourishing Sheen Spray. i know i use a lot of sh!t on my hair
Old 06-23-2008, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Peace, Love & Unity

I just revisted Keracare detangling shampoo and it worked like a dream. Lol.. I use a lot of stuff on my hair as well. Sometimes I forget they're even there. I have a olive oil sheen spray in my cupboard for years now. lol
I've started consolidating all conditioners and oil as a pre-shampoo to cut down on time. Then after shampooing I might go under the dryer for 5 mins. with the conditioner.I've used a similar regime before. I like ORS products
yep i use the hydrating detangling shampoo too, I abosulutely LOVE it but i don't like the price atal that's why i alternate with the Pantene it's too expensive! that sitting in the dryer for a couple of minutes with a conditioner makes a world of difference you need to pull out that olive oil sheen and use it, this weather will fry your hair

Last edited by CARAMELSISTA; 06-23-2008 at 02:57 PM.
Old 06-23-2008, 03:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
In retirement.

What over the head(?) dryers do yall use cos all I have is a heating cap and a blowdryer but I havent used the blowdryer in ages sometimes an allover dryer is better. esp when trying to do a wet to dry style.

Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-23-2008, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kiz

What over the head(?) dryers do yall use cos all I have is a heating cap and a blowdryer but I havent used the blowdryer in ages sometimes an allover dryer is better. esp when trying to do a wet to dry style.
doh bodder wid it...unless you have time to be uderneath dat dryer all day wid your hair texture or you willing to pay some good money for a really good one....
Old 06-23-2008, 08:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

wow! Nica you wash your hair a lot. You have an interesting method though. The most I think I can do is twice a week. Which ayurvedic oils do you use? how do you like the amla oil? I'm not really fond of the smell so I limit its use to hot oil treatments or scalp massages. There's this oil from morocco called argan oil, I'm eager to try it but I'm happy with what I use, (grape seed oil & apricot oil).
Bhringraj oil, Manjistha, Amla, Shakakai, coconut oil, olive oil, and msm

I have the dabur amla oil and it doesn't smell too bad.

I'm not sure if I'll wash my hair as often since it's now relaxed. When it was natural I would do almost daily cowashes.
Old 06-23-2008, 09:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
In retirement.

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
doh bodder wid it...unless you have time to be uderneath dat dryer all day wid your hair texture or you willing to pay some good money for a really good one....
Skip!

Old 06-23-2008, 09:57 PM   #12 (permalink)

just took my braids out and i shampooed and then used some olive and peppermint oil that i put in the microwave for a couple seconds.

combed out the hair, blowdried it and then put it in two big canerow, the natural coming in quite nicely.

this is after i comb it out.
hair-maintenance-picture-189.jpg  
Old 06-23-2008, 10:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
da ladi dey call JazEPooh

i use westinghouse (I got it from JCPenny's a few years back for Christmas), and it still works pretty well. I don't know how thick your hair is, but it usually takes me about 25 mins when I just want to dry my hair (this is on medium) without the blow dryer. When I do my roller sets, it takes me about 45 mins. on medium. I think it was like $45, but I have seen them at the BSS.

As my maintenance: I co-wash about 2x a week, and deep condition my hair with a protein about every other week. I do pre-poo with suave humectant mixed with either coconut or castor, OR I just use Burt's Bees pre-poo (on dry hair only). I don't sit under the dryer because usually when I'm doing this I'm running behind Amari (well playing with her). I rinse it out, and just add more conditioner. Now when I use the shampoo I use Burt's Bees More Moisture or CON, then follow with my protein conditioner. Main hair style before the NG got out of hand was the braid out/twist out....humidity messed that one up real quick.
Old 06-23-2008, 10:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
In retirement.

Originally Posted by sharkie View Post
just took my braids out and i shampooed and then used some olive and peppermint oil that i put in the microwave for a couple seconds.

combed out the hair, blowdried it and then put it in two big canerow, the natural coming in quite nicely.

Awww ur so cute

Old 06-23-2008, 10:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Sweet like sugarcane

Originally Posted by sharkie View Post

That looks exactly like my hair!