Old 01-02-2006, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Credits: 1,074
Good Gyms ???

So you know this is the time of year gym memberships are sky high ... so i think i'm finally serious ... only looking to lose a few lbs and get toned ...

Where have the good deals?
Which have the gimmicks bcuz I know it's not really $5/month ...
good equipment?
clean?
Not ghetto or won't feel pressured?
Not too busy? I guess that's hard bcuz I would be going after work and on the weekends ...
Are trainers worth it??

by the way i'm looking in the Brooklyn/NYC area but welcome any input from others outside that area...
Old 01-02-2006, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Blah!

Credits: 2,387
I live in NYC and I use NYSports Club. I have only used NYSC so I cannot really compare them to anyone else, but I LOVE THEM! I love the machines, the type of classes, etc. My only problem is that they do not have in-door tracks. I undserstand that most gyms in NYC do not have one, but I really cannot run on treadmills.
Anyway, each NYSC has its own vibe. I have been to multiple ones. I used to go to one in the Union Square area. I found that I felt very uncomfortable there because most of the women were 100lbs (ballerina type). I have gone to a couple close to my job, but I hate seeing co-workers in the gym with me. I have gone to one uptown and I felt the most comfortable there, however after a while I could not work out anymore because a lot of men were using it as a dating spot. I was not looking for a date; I was just looking to get toned and I just wanted to be anti-social.
I currently go to one on the upper west side. The BEST! The trainers are nice, there is no pressure, a nice mixture of people (black, white, big, small, men, women). While during peak hours there is a lack of machines, I love the atmosphere so much that I would never leave that location.......

Last edited by shortsweetness; 01-03-2006 at 12:18 AM..
Old 01-03-2006, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Pimptress

i go to NYSC on long island. never been to the ones in the city. its ok, bit overpriced.

i used to belong to crunch, the BEST. i loved it. Pricey as well.

I hear ballys is reasonable. haven't really been to any.

gold's gym is basic meathead gym but has all the equipment you would ever need.

there is a smaller but afforadable gym - dolphin i believe? i know when i lived in the city it was dirt cheap to join. but a bit dingier.

trainers are great for extra motivation or even to help you out i the very beginning. some are better than others but all know the basics to achieve your goals.
Old 01-03-2006, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,691
for me, Lucille Roberts is the best gym. good prices and no gimmicks. they have good aerobics classes and u don't have to worry about any stink sweaty men gawkin at u.
Old 01-03-2006, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,796
i am a member of ballys been going for bout a year...i had a trainer for a month ..greatest motivator..speaking of which he still owe me my last session

classes are great too i lovee kwando and pilates

Old 01-03-2006, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Roz
~~~~~~ROOF TOP BABY~~~~~~

Credits: 342
Originally Posted by MsEnglishHarbour
So you know this is the time of year gym memberships are sky high ... so i think i'm finally serious ... only looking to lose a few lbs and get toned ...

Where have the good deals?
Which have the gimmicks bcuz I know it's not really $5/month ...
good equipment?
clean?
Not ghetto or won't feel pressured?
Not too busy? I guess that's hard bcuz I would be going after work and on the weekends ...
Are trainers worth it??

by the way i'm looking in the Brooklyn/NYC area but welcome any input from others outside that area...
Wha pounds you need fi loose?????? SSSTTTTUUUUUPPPSSSSSS

Bally's is pretty good....Great prices and some great trainers (but little more expensive IMO than other gyms).
Old 01-03-2006, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 16,339
i go to crunch... LOVE IT!!!

the classes are great, the instructors are fun & motivating and the equipment is great as well. i've been going there for about a year & i like it. i'm not too sure about gyms in Brooklyn, every one i've been to thus far (i was thinking of switching because of location & availability) has been less than spectacular. i think i'll just stick with crunch for now.
Old 01-04-2006, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Originally Posted by shortsweetness
I live in NYC and I use NYSports Club. I have only used NYSC so I cannot really compare them to anyone else, but I LOVE THEM! I love the machines, the type of classes, etc. My only problem is that they do not have in-door tracks. I undserstand that most gyms in NYC do not have one, but I really cannot run on treadmills.
Anyway, each NYSC has its own vibe. I have been to multiple ones. I used to go to one in the Union Square area. I found that I felt very uncomfortable there because most of the women were 100lbs (ballerina type). I have gone to a couple close to my job, but I hate seeing co-workers in the gym with me. I have gone to one uptown and I felt the most comfortable there, however after a while I could not work out anymore because a lot of men were using it as a dating spot. I was not looking for a date; I was just looking to get toned and I just wanted to be anti-social.I currently go to one on the upper west side. The BEST! The trainers are nice, there is no pressure, a nice mixture of people (black, white, big, small, men, women). While during peak hours there is a lack of machines, I love the atmosphere so much that I would never leave that location.......
My point exactly!!!!
I work on the upper west ... where exactly is the location ... I'll check it out if the prices are nice
Old 01-04-2006, 01:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
luk de reel trubble yah

Originally Posted by Roz
Wha pounds you need fi loose?????? SSSTTTTUUUUUPPPSSSSSS

Bally's is pretty good....Great prices and some great trainers (but little more expensive IMO than other gyms).
Old 01-04-2006, 01:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Blah!

Credits: 2,387
94th and B'way...
I really enjoy it. The trainers are there to help and they are really friendly. I am not sure about the prices (comes out of my pay check and I get a discount).
Old 01-06-2006, 09:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
STEADY WUK

Credits: 2,062
I am looking for a good gym too.....Does anyone have any suggestions?
Old 01-06-2006, 11:37 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 31
I used to belong to NYSC. Its a great with really good classes. They are all over NYC, so you can go to different locations, if you take their more expensive membership. Otherwise you are limited to the one where you started. Now I belong to Bally's, which I've had for a longtime but wasn't using. For me to use a gym during the week it has to be very convenient to my job. I go to the Bally's Sports Club near GCT during the week. I love this gym! The classes are great and the trainers and the instructors are so supportive. This facility also has a pool. The sports club is different than the regular Bally's and there's only a few around. There is one by Penn Station also. The Bally's on 54th & Mad has good classes as well as the Chelsea location. On Saturdays I go the Bally's Total Fitness (the lower tiered club) in New Roc City. This location has great classes also and they are one of the new clubs so its pretty nice and clean. For anyone the Bay Plaza location in the Bronx is not bad either.