~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~
Credits: 258
gettin on bad
I come from a very religious family, and time after time we always have these minor agruments about me and my cousin taking part in what they call "ungodly" behaviour such as partying, playing mas in carnival, and etc.... These are things I love to do because I have a strong passion for dancing, and on the other hand I love god, and go to church......... Is there anything wrong with this? what are views about religion and partying...?
Re: gettin on bad
Credits: 2,676
One thing I can't stand about some people that claim to be so religious is when they judge other people. They should know that no one is to judge but God. Most especially when you are not doing anything wrong or hurting yourself or anyone else. So in a very respectful way tell dem to HULL DEH TAIL!!! Do what you love to do and whatever makes you happy. You have no one to answer to but God.
Credits: 1,075
Honestly there is nothing wrong with "partying". If it is simply just dancing and feteing...I don't recall anything being mentioned in the bible forbidding this..But then again I have not studied the bible
I am not a big fan of "organized" religion because as Dougla stated their tendency of judging...God is everywhere and sees what is in your heart and mind..If your heart and mind is true to him..It makes no difference if yuh play in carnival and have a time... Again..as Dougla said..in a polite manner..tell them "hull they tail".... |
Look de Storm coming
Credits: 240
Re: gettin on bad
Ain't God de man that turn wata into wine in de wedding reception. tell them that:p Tell them also that yuh gettin out all yuh sinner before Lent. That goes only if yuh is Catholic or Anglican On a serious note Tiny yuh not doin nothin to hurt nobody . Party and dance, whine and be free. |
Credits: 696
Well it really isn't so much an issue of 'judgement' as some people put it...but rather interpretation. You have to remember that many Protestant denominations descended from a puritanical ideal...so anything seemingly too 'carnal' was prohibited. In the caribbean many religions have taken this and completely ran with it, and many associate partying (and rightly so) with suggestive dancing.
The question thus becomes, "is suggestive dancing" immoral or a sin...likely not. Christ's teachings are that lusting in the mind makes one just as guilty as committing the lustful act in question...so therein lies the answer. If you don't think that partying and feteing leads to lustful thinking..and I'd imagine for most of us adults it doesn't...then there's nothing wrong with you 'getting on bad'. |
~Sweet Sugah City Gyul~
Credits: 258
I agree with you BNS( to lazy to write your whole name)...... Personally I never thought nothing of it. I don't see anything wrong with partying and dancing, just as long as you don't put these things before god and make it your life..... It's not breaking any 10 commandments.. so why not get on bad??
:: BTW in notice this post was in the wrong place:: ![]() |