Old 06-20-2008, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
President Barack Obama!!!

Ever had to make modifications

to a dress or other outfit quick quick so you could use it.

I had to modify my dress cause I was determined to wear it today
Old 06-20-2008, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Kiz

ok so what did you do??
Old 06-20-2008, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)

I had to take needle and thread and sew near the arm hole part to make it fit snugger
Old 06-20-2008, 09:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Kiz

Yes girl! I've pin'd and sometimes stapled my dress pants on both sides of the waist so I can wear it to work (how tacky) .......didnt get a chance to get them to the cleaners for them to take it in..

Last edited by Kiz; 06-20-2008 at 09:19 AM.
Old 06-20-2008, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
In retirement.

Lemme see I have done that to a dress

rouched and sewn the shoulder straps to make them thinnner

Nipped the cowl neckline so it didn't drop so deep

It wsa a stretchy material so instead of hemming it I shortened by putting the extra length by the waist folding in 2 places so it looked like general gathering.

Lemme find a pic

Yes Kiz it will come down by the time I get to work*****

Hurt people hurt people... Try to break the cycle.
Look within yourself, value yourself and treat others with dignity.

Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Taj; 06-20-2008 at 11:13 AM.
Old 06-20-2008, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Peace, Love & Unity

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
to a dress or other outfit quick quick so you could use it.

I had to modify my dress cause I was determined to wear it today
i do it all the time! I will take in anything to fit me. if i really like the outfit and it only comes in a bigger size mark my words "i will buy and take it in", i'm the queen of altering clothes or revamping an outfit.
Old 06-20-2008, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
Yes girl! I've pin'd and sometimes stapled my dress pants on both sides of the waist so I can wear it to work (how tacky) .......didnt get a chance to get them to the cleaners for them to take it in..

Pinned before
I tried the tape for clothes before.

My mom taught me the trick of how to pin and not let the pin show too much.

It had a time I forgot to hem my favorite pants. I good iron it then when is time to put on I see the damn hem hanging down.

I say to myself yuh see this shit I ain't have time to sew nah lemme put the pin and secure it. Finish get dressed and I was out the door
Old 06-20-2008, 11:23 PM   #8 (permalink)

Lemme see I have done that to a dress

rouched and sewn the shoulder straps to make them thinnner

Nipped the cowl neckline so it didn't drop so deep

It wsa a stretchy material so instead of hemming it I shortened by putting the extra length by the waist folding in 2 places so it looked like general gathering.

Lemme find a pic

Yes Kiz it will come down by the time I get to work*****
@ Yes Kiz it will come down by the time I get to work*****

So madam found it yet??
Old 06-20-2008, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
i do it all the time! I will take in anything to fit me. if i really like the outfit and it only comes in a bigger size mark my words "i will buy and take it in", i'm the queen of altering clothes or revamping an outfit.
You go gyal

My funniest alteration was stuffing my bra (the bras that has a slit in it to put padding, which I discovered after I put it to wash) to make a loose fitting top fit well. You see I got a hand me down from someone and this person has more chest than me. It worked. I am glad it did not make me look fake doh.