Old 01-29-2007, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 379
Electronic Wedding Invitations

Is this a tacky concept? It sure saves money though. If you were to receive a wedding invitation via email, would you think..."CHEAP"!!!!

It saves time and money on mailings, and people can respond faster, and the information will be less difficult to lose.

Tell me what you guys think
Old 01-29-2007, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Tacky... like fly paper.
Old 01-29-2007, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,303
Honestly, I think it's tacky because your invitations are some type of momento of the event. So, even if guests can't come, they still have some form of keepsake. It's not the same when you just print it off, even if we live in the digital age.
Old 01-29-2007, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 379
Understood.
Old 01-29-2007, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mrs. S

Credits: 834
dunno cheap depending if u made it ur self but if it was done by a professional then no because u're saving trees
Old 01-29-2007, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 188
IMO it is NOT tacky if you are not having a traditional wedding. you have to keep in mind that everybody is not computer savvy tho so nuff people will need paper invites anyway. i know my granny wasn't checking she email on a regular basis.
Old 01-29-2007, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 16,340
Originally Posted by sapphyre View Post
IMO it is NOT tacky if you are not having a traditional wedding. you have to keep in mind that everybody is not computer savvy tho so nuff people will need paper invites anyway. i know my granny wasn't checking she email on a regular basis.
traditional or not, there are certain things that you just don't do. Electronic wedding invites is one of them. if you can't afford some paper invites... i don't know what to tell yuh but electronic invites for a wedding is straight up tacky.
Old 01-29-2007, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 702
Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post
traditional or not, there are certain things that you just don't do. Electronic wedding invites is one of them. if you can't afford some paper invites... i don't know what to tell yuh but electronic invites for a wedding is straight up tacky.
+1
Old 01-29-2007, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 7,285
it does come off as a lil tacky...plus what if everybody u want to invite doesn't have internet access?
Old 01-29-2007, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 5,802
dammit there goes my environmentally conscious idea of sending out invites via evite...

Old 01-29-2007, 11:05 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne View Post
dammit there goes my environmentally conscious idea of sending out invites via evite...
Send a text instead...
Old 01-29-2007, 11:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,855
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Send a text instead...
oh hell no!!

I agree with Hershey
Old 01-29-2007, 11:35 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 16,340
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Send a text instead...
*dead*
Old 01-30-2007, 04:31 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 5,899
I think its a great idea.

This is what should be done - send the invite by email, and ask everyone to rsvp. Those people that have confirmed that they are coming should be sent a hard copy of the invite. That way you only buy the right amount of invitation and there's no wastage (on those who aren't coming).

Everyone likes a hard copy of an invite, so its best to give it to those who are coming.
Old 01-30-2007, 10:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 702
I have seen a wedding where the bride sent out paper invites and had a link to a website and a 800 number for RSVP's. That was pretty decent as we the guests did not have to remember to send back the response card.