Old 03-22-2006, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,957
Brand Names

i would like to know from those who only buys brand cothes, what is the feeling it gives you? Why spend 400$ and more on clothes, shoes, bags...?
Old 03-22-2006, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oh How I Love Mi Country

Credits: 121
Originally Posted by soraya
i would like to know from those who only buys brand cothes, what is the feeling it gives you? Why spend 400$ and more on clothes, shoes, bags...?
Excitement and joy that I have good quality clothes. Not some cheap ting that gon tear up in 2 wash. At least these will last me months if I want to keep wearing them over and over.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,303
I like good quality clothes...I am not a slave to name (cause I hate clothes that have huge labels on it) but I feel good knowing that my clothes have exquisite detailing, beautiful stitching, etc. Also, in some instances knowing that I am wearing something that no one else don't have is good.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
The JaM™

Bu don't y'all feel cheated knowing that it cost nowhere near the final price to manufacture the item? You're paying like 10 times its true value JUST for the brand name...

You can get good quality stuff for a lot less... nobody saying you must buy the inferior stuff that disintegrates on the second wash.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Oh How I Love Mi Country

Originally Posted by VincyJam82
Bu don't y'all feel cheated knowing that it cost nowhere near the final price to manufacture the item? You're paying like 10 times its true value JUST for the brand name...

You can get good quality stuff for a lot less... nobody saying you must buy the inferior stuff that disintegrates on the second wash.
Yes and NO
Old 03-22-2006, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by SexyVincyGal
Yes and NO
explain
Old 03-22-2006, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Oh How I Love Mi Country

explain
Yes cause I have to pay that much for the clothes

No cause others have to make a profit also.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by SexyVincyGal
Yes cause I have to pay that much for the clothes

No cause others have to make a profit also.
There's a difference between making a profit and down-right tiefing prices... in my view, there's no need to charge SO much. A profit can still be made if the price was reduced.

However to each his own. I refuse to buy the overly expensive brands....
Old 03-22-2006, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Oh How I Love Mi Country

There's a difference between making a profit and down-right tiefing prices... in my view, there's no need to charge SO much. A profit can still be made if the price was reduced.

I buy them full price rarely. I usually buy them when they on the sale rack (thats where all my clothes come from)
Old 03-23-2006, 01:02 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 160,115
Sales rack brand name stuff is the way to go or if you save you can treat yourself.
But I always remember items of clothing shoes handbags or otherwise that my mom bought and how they "stood up" over the years. Real quality.....how vex yuh does get when something you really like mash up and yuh cyar find another one. You want something longlasting so you get the quality and have it around to pass on the memories. I wore this to xyz, I got this in place X and that day ...blah blah blah Memories

Old 03-23-2006, 12:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 9,303
Originally Posted by Taj
Sales rack brand name stuff is the way to go or if you save you can treat yourself.
But I always remember items of clothing shoes handbags or otherwise that my mom bought and how they "stood up" over the years. Real quality.....how vex yuh does get when something you really like mash up and yuh cyar find another one. You want something longlasting so you get the quality and have it around to pass on the memories. I wore this to xyz, I got this in place X and that day ...blah blah blah Memories
Not even stood up--but my mom has bags, shoes and even luggage that if something happens to it..she cans still send it to the company and have it fixed.
Old 03-23-2006, 12:47 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva
I like good quality clothes...I am not a slave to name (cause I hate clothes that have huge labels on it) but I feel good knowing that my clothes have exquisite detailing, beautiful stitching, etc. Also, in some instances knowing that I am wearing something that no one else don't have is good.
Well stated, Prinzez!
Old 03-23-2006, 01:44 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,388

I think that is a big misconception. For example, If a shoe costs $700 and is hand made with quality products, Its gonna cost the manufacturer about $150 to make. Quality materials are not cheap. In many cases the LEATHER used to produce a high end shoe costs more than a finished CHEAP shoe. You also have to take into account the person that sits their and hand tans the leather or hand details the shoe. In many cases, the heel on the shoe is hand carved. Not only are you simply buying a shoe but you are buying a piece of art. It would not be possible to produce a shoe with such detail and quality for $100. This holds true for all forms of clothing...not just shoes. I used shoes for mmy example because shoes are my favorite.

I think the mark up on cheap shoes is even higher than it is on expensive shoes. For example, It probably costs payless $2 to mass produce a shoe that is using inferior materials in some sweat shop in China yet they turn around and sell those shoes for 15 and 20 dollars. In a true retail environment those shoes should sell for about $8. I always find it amusing watching women limping around or Dancing Barefoot in the club because they are wearing BAD shoes. I think it is better to have 5 pairs of good shoes than it is to have 50 Pairs of cheap shoes that hurt when you wear them.

Quality over Quantity.

Remember, you get what you pay for!