Old 10-23-2006, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,708
Ancientwomyn

I DID IT... 5:15... not the time i was pacing, but you can read all about my Mile 20 fiasco in Sports forum. I wanted to tell you, it was the most amazing experience of my life. I cried at the finish line like a baby. I couldn't stop crying until i got back the hotel. Now I am crying from being sore. LOL.

Allthe scarifice, 5 am running, no partying, no carnival was sooo worth it, and if i never do those things again, i swear i would not miss a single moment of it.

At around mile 23 i swore i would never run another marathon again, but now I can't wait until Disney, Jan 7th.
Old 10-23-2006, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,508
I just was looking for you on here and read your thread in the sports forum... I'm soo happy for your achievement sis... we all have a goal and you stuck right through it... I'm going to start training once I get the ok from my doctor about my back *I actually almost messed it up while running one morning* but it's going to be done... and I'm not stopping as the weather gets cold. Now let me ask how did you find your running club?
Old 10-23-2006, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn View Post
I just was looking for you on here and read your thread in the sports forum... I'm soo happy for your achievement sis... we all have a goal and you stuck right through it... I'm going to start training once I get the ok from my doctor about my back *I actually almost messed it up while running one morning* but it's going to be done... and I'm not stopping as the weather gets cold. Now let me ask how did you find your running club?
i found my club on the internet. I checked out a couple clubs before i found the right one. Most of them will let you run with them before you join. So just do a search for clubs in your area.

Now let me tell you about running in the cold. My training for this marathon was in the hottest months of year. Running in the cold was great at first, although my hands never warmed up and i ran with my gloves the entire time. But when I had to stop and slow my heart rate down at mile 20, my muscles cooled and i could not get them started again. And that wind... oh my!
Old 10-23-2006, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Credits: 1,200
Congrats

Congrats to you for competing in the Chicago Marathon. I ran track most of my life, but never had the desire to run a marathon.
Old 10-23-2006, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LadyDay005 View Post
Congrats to you for competing in the Chicago Marathon. I ran track most of my life, but never had the desire to run a marathon.
Chicago is the Windy city...burrrrrrrrr its one of America's most beautiful cities. I wish the weather was nicer.