Old 09-13-2007, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,698
Alternative to ProActiv

some people (myself included) have complained about ProActiv and it being too harsh on the skin. i started using an over the counter regimen called "Acne Free" that i got from cvs. i've only been using it for 4 days and so far, it's been working noticably well and i use it twice a day and it doesn't cause any irritatation. it costs 19.99 and has the same cleanser, toner, and creme as ProActiv with a benzoyl peroxide formula. it also comes in a another formula for severe acne.

i would recommend using a exfoliating scrub before using acne free and a good moisturizer after.
Old 09-13-2007, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 821
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
some people (myself included) have complained about ProActiv and it being too harsh on the skin. i started using an over the counter regimen called "Acne Free" that i got from cvs. i've only been using it for 4 days and so far, it's been working noticably well and i use it twice a day and it doesn't cause any irritatation. it costs 19.99 and has the same cleanser, toner, and creme as ProActiv with a benzoyl peroxide formula. it also comes in a another formula for severe acne.

i would recommend using a exfoliating scrub before using acne free and a good moisturizer after.
Thanks for the info, my sister was talking about getting proactiv(which I probably need more than her) but she said it was too expensive so I'll let her know about this and probably try it myself. I already have an exfoliating scrub so I should be straight.....

I wonder if I can get it anywhere else, like walgreens or riteaid because CVS is not that close to me....

Last edited by VictoriaECD; 09-13-2007 at 11:58 AM..
Old 09-13-2007, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 566

I thought I was the only one this happened to I had to send that proactive package back with a quickness.....

I recently saw this acnefree at walmart ,but I had already started using the blackopal soap and there exfoliating scrub and I must say I love it!
Old 09-13-2007, 12:48 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VictoriaECD View Post
Thanks for the info, my sister was talking about getting proactiv(which I probably need more than her) but she said it was too expensive so I'll let her know about this and probably try it myself. I already have an exfoliating scrub so I should be straight.....

I wonder if I can get it anywhere else, like walgreens or riteaid because CVS is not that close to me....
if they sell it at cvs then i'm sure they sell it at other major pharmacies. the proactiv worked for me but i could use it only every other day as opposed to twice a day b/c of the irritation it caused which is a waste of money because you have to order like a 3 months supply minimum from proactiv.
Old 09-13-2007, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAHTEE View Post
I thought I was the only one this happened to I had to send that proactive package back with a quickness.....

I recently saw this acnefree at walmart ,but I had already started using the blackopal soap and there exfoliating scrub and I must say I love it!
and what's funny is that the proactiv commercials talk about how gentle it is and can be used on sensitive skin.. NOT!
Old 09-13-2007, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

and what's funny is that the proactiv commercials talk about how gentle it is and can be used on sensitive skin.. NOT!
I know right that thing had my face in a mess.......... it's funny cause when I was a teenager I never had acne and now as I am getting older I have this "adult acne" I hate it... that and white heads on ma nose lawd a cant stand those things but on a good note wwhen I called up proactive they refunded my account right away and they didnt even ask for the product back so I gave it away.
Old 09-13-2007, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)

I know right that thing had my face in a mess.......... it's funny cause when I was a teenager I never had acne and now as I am getting older I have this "adult acne" I hate it... that and white heads on ma nose lawd a cant stand those things but on a good note wwhen I called up proactive they refunded my account right away and they didnt even ask for the product back so I gave it away.
same here... mine is not bad atal, its very sporadic which is just as annoying
Old 09-13-2007, 03:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

same here... mine is not bad atal, its very sporadic which is just as annoying
same hear I thinks it's stress
Old 09-13-2007, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

same hear I thinks it's stress
definitely... work related stress!
Old 09-18-2007, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
#1 requested lady

Credits: 363
Damn! I now seeing this thread. I use proactiv, and it works great. it don't dry my face out or anything, but if I get something cheaper that works the same, i'm up for that. Thanks.
Old 09-23-2007, 12:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 594
The aveeno facial line is also great.
Old 09-23-2007, 09:52 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 6,724
The same thing happened to me for about 2 years ago. My face was in a MESS. I used Proactiv and the Acne free and neither of them worked. I also went to the dermatologist and he was a waste of my money. He gave me pills and creams and nothing worked.

I got a really good facial with extractions, went to the sauna everyday for about 3 weeks with noxema on my face and mostly everything disappeared in about 2-3 months. I still have a few white heads which I've had all my life but otherwise my face is clear. I also continue to go to for a facial about once every 6 months now. Most people couldn't believe that I have no marks now given how my face was before. I went back to my dermatologist and told me he has never heard of that working and insists that his medication is what worked eventhough I had stopped using it about 1 month before starting the steaming thing.
Old 09-23-2007, 03:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,694
Neutrogena has worked wonder for me

not even that annoying period pimple
Old 09-23-2007, 10:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,959
the clean and clear advantage acne line is good as well as neutrogena....i used proactive and it irritated my skin badly....

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)
Old 09-24-2007, 01:58 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Jinjer View Post
Neutrogena has worked wonder for me

not even that annoying period pimple
i tried the neutrogena acne creme and it made it worse for me. i wanted to give it some time to work b/c i know with some acne medications, it gets worse before it gets better b/c it brings out the underlying acne. but after a month with no improvement, i took dat shit right back to cvs and got my money back and my acne wasn't as bad when i stopped using it.