Old 10-01-2008, 02:11 PM   #6151 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by JaSocaLuva View Post
No....atleast not to me. I have the colour but I've never bleached my hair, so I don't know if that makes a difference.

As far as keeping my hair moist, right now I just use the JA mango & lime island oil, but I recently bought another product made by Surge Hair Care, called the Woojee Cream. It seems to keep my hair pretty moisturized.
But usually after I wash my hair, I rub a little bit of oil in it before retwisting also.
hair is looking good ...happy birthday...

well...i'm thinking of coloring mine (but I've been saying that for the last few years, so why should anyone believe me, right?). I'm in South Africa...land of locs and color...but..i don't wanna have to worry about maintaining it....i might do it when I return to the states.

you should put together a fotki album. I need to update mine.
Old 10-01-2008, 06:01 PM   #6152 (permalink)
De Soca'Robics Instructor

Originally Posted by Caribsun View Post
hair is looking good ...happy birthday...

well...i'm thinking of coloring mine (but I've been saying that for the last few years, so why should anyone believe me, right?). I'm in South Africa...land of locs and color...but..i don't wanna have to worry about maintaining it....i might do it when I return to the states.

you should put together a fotki album. I need to update mine.
I thought about doing a fotki album but keeps putting it off :-). I will check it out. Ah, you're finally in South Africa? How long? When did you reach?
Thank you for the birthday wishes also!!!!!!
Let me know when you FINALLY colour it. What colour would you choose anyway? Just curious.
Old 10-01-2008, 10:51 PM   #6153 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

been here six weeks...happy to report that locs are everywhere...and folks really go all out with loc styling...they like my locs, but I can see that folks want me to pump it up by putting it up in some tight style (no thanks...i'll do that when I'm ready). They use wax and heavy stuff out here most of the time, but the locs I've seen look really good.

maybe a brown color with red undertones...I know exactly who I'd have do it for me when I return home for good, which will be just in time for spring and I'll be ready for a change.
Old 10-01-2008, 10:57 PM   #6154 (permalink)

been here six weeks...happy to report that locs are everywhere...and folks really go all out with loc styling...they like my locs, but I can see that folks want me to pump it up by putting it up in some tight style (no thanks...i'll do that when I'm ready). They use wax and heavy stuff out here most of the time, but the locs I've seen look really good.

maybe a brown color with red undertones...I know exactly who I'd have do it for me when I return home for good, which will be just in time for spring and I'll be ready for a change.
Well that sounds lovely!!! I say GO FOR IT!!!!! No better way to get ready for Spring than to do something new! I'll be checking back with you.
Old 10-02-2008, 07:40 AM   #6155 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

So..about this ACV thing...I bought some ACV today...do you do the rinse before shampoo/conditioning or after? I'm gonna wash this weekend and want to try it...wanna do it right...even got the organic ACV (not that this should make a difference). I even hear some folks adding lemon juice to their mix....a friend gave me a lemon straight off of her tree and I'm thinking of adding that to the mix as well.

when you do the rinse, how long do you leave the acv mixture in the hair?
Old 10-02-2008, 02:16 PM   #6156 (permalink)

So..about this ACV thing...I bought some ACV today...do you do the rinse before shampoo/conditioning or after? I'm gonna wash this weekend and want to try it...wanna do it right...even got the organic ACV (not that this should make a difference). I even hear some folks adding lemon juice to their mix....a friend gave me a lemon straight off of her tree and I'm thinking of adding that to the mix as well.

when you do the rinse, how long do you leave the acv mixture in the hair?
Honestly, it depends on the mood I'm in. Sometimes I do the rinse and let it sit in my hair for about 10 minutes BEFORE I shampoo and then after my final shampoo I do another rinse. I have combined it with lemon before as well. I once read somewhere that if you cant eat it, don't put it in your hair, so you can't go wrong with lemon and vinegar :-).
Old 10-02-2008, 09:43 PM   #6157 (permalink)

No....atleast not to me. I have the colour but I've never bleached my hair, so I don't know if that makes a difference.

As far as keeping my hair moist, right now I just use the JA mango & lime island oil, but I recently bought another product made by Surge Hair Care, called the Woojee Cream. It seems to keep my hair pretty moisturized.
But usually after I wash my hair, I rub a little bit of oil in it before retwisting also.
So that color is a rinse?
Old 10-02-2008, 11:16 PM   #6158 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

My 5 yr old has decided that she wants dreads so I braided her hair up and plan on letting it dread up...I'll post a pic tomorrow. It's only been 2 weeks so far and I keep thinking she'll change her mind and ask me to comb her hair but she hasn't so I think she really wants dreads.
Old 10-03-2008, 01:24 PM   #6159 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Originally Posted by southern chic View Post
My 5 yr old has decided that she wants dreads so I braided her hair up and plan on letting it dread up...I'll post a pic tomorrow. It's only been 2 weeks so far and I keep thinking she'll change her mind and ask me to comb her hair but she hasn't so I think she really wants dreads.
braided it as in plait it in three strands. Won't that be too tight when the loc starts to form? i.e make a very tight loc?
Old 10-03-2008, 07:39 PM   #6160 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mercedes View Post
So that color is a rinse?
Well it's a semipermanent colour. When I first dyed it, it was bright red, but as I wash it, it fades out a bit.
Old 10-03-2008, 07:40 PM   #6161 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
braided it as in plait it in three strands. Won't that be too tight when the loc starts to form? i.e make a very tight loc?
That's actually how I started my locs also...with 3 strands.
Old 10-03-2008, 08:23 PM   #6162 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
I dunno but that's how I'm doin it.
Old 10-11-2008, 04:35 AM   #6163 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

39 months....

hope y'all can see that...
Old 10-11-2008, 08:43 AM   #6164 (permalink)

hope y'all can see that...
omg ... you look amazing! tell me what ur doing cause i want mines looking so.
Old 10-16-2008, 09:23 AM   #6165 (permalink)

It's definitely worked for me as well. I forgot what the vinegar to water ratio should be, but I try to keep it 1/2 and 1/2.
Alright, so my birthDAY is pretty much over, so I decided to fool around with my half dead camera! The red is washing out of my hair but I still like the colour. I'm contemplating dyeing everything back black/darkish brown for the new year, but I'm not 100% sure yet.
Do you happen to remember what shade of semi permanent dye you used the first time? Your color is very pretty.