Old 07-01-2008, 01:59 PM   #5941 (permalink)
De Soca'Robics Instructor

Unhappy

Originally Posted by Caribsun View Post

A few weeks ago, I was interlocking my hair with my fingers...I wasn't paying attention when I was doing one of my locs, and I created a big knot at the root of the loc. When I tried to slam my 'weaving" in reverse, by weaving the loc through the last hole I used, the knot just got bigger. Somehow, I got the knot to be smaller, but just couldn't fix it all the way. I decided to leave well enough alone...at least I didn't create a big hole.

Three weeks later, I'm getting ready to interlock again. There's a little new growth at the base of this loc for me to work with, but the knot got a little bigger when I tried interlocking. I reversed my attempt today, but got that big ole knot to contend with. Anyone ever had this happen? What's gonna happen to this loc down the line? Will it break because of this? Is there a cure?

Oh nooo!!! Sorry to hear that. I've had it happen a time or two, but I always manage to catch it right when it happens, to be able to pull the lock and smooth it out as much as I can by rubbing on it. I'm not sure what to tell you though....sorry.
Old 07-01-2008, 04:32 PM   #5942 (permalink)

A few weeks ago, I was interlocking my hair with my fingers...I wasn't paying attention when I was doing one of my locs, and I created a big knot at the root of the loc. When I tried to slam my 'weaving" in reverse, by weaving the loc through the last hole I used, the knot just got bigger. Somehow, I got the knot to be smaller, but just couldn't fix it all the way. I decided to leave well enough alone...at least I didn't create a big hole.

Three weeks later, I'm getting ready to interlock again. There's a little new growth at the base of this loc for me to work with, but the knot got a little bigger when I tried interlocking. I reversed my attempt today, but got that big ole knot to contend with. Anyone ever had this happen? What's gonna happen to this loc down the line? Will it break because of this? Is there a cure?

i did this recently & literally had to cut the loc off at the end. the lump kept getting bigger each time i interlocked & the loc couldn't pass. i was distraught but it had to go.
Old 07-01-2008, 11:15 PM   #5943 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

I posted the same thread on another forum and folks said this is normal and that my hair will be fine. Over time, the knot will become less noticable. I'm leaving it alone. If I cut the knot, the loc will come off...no need to sacrifice a loc for a knot. It will be fine. Since it's under a bunch of locs, I won't give it another thought.
Old 07-01-2008, 11:28 PM   #5944 (permalink)

I posted the same thread on another forum and folks said this is normal and that my hair will be fine. Over time, the knot will become less noticable. I'm leaving it alone. If I cut the knot, the loc will come off...no need to sacrifice a loc for a knot. It will be fine. Since it's under a bunch of locs, I won't give it another thought.
well i wish someone told me this before i cut mine steups!!!
Old 07-03-2008, 12:09 AM   #5945 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Nkosazana View Post
So ok guys I just retwisted my locs ALL BY MYSELF! Here's the result, I just put it in the usual bun style. It is way to hot ova here to have my hair down lol.
Also, I tired this hair oil tea from Carol's Daughter and it smells great. I leaves a nice sheen and it's suppose to stengthen hair against breakage
your hair is beautiful.
Old 07-03-2008, 12:10 AM   #5946 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post
well i wish someone told me this before i cut mine steups!!!
SORRY!! I HAVE 2 AND I JUST LEAVE THEM ALONE.
Old 07-03-2008, 12:19 AM   #5947 (permalink)

Location: I’m from a place where you can find a Black girl getting her hair done by Dominicans while wearing Chinese slippers, eatin Jamaican food and an Italian ice..BROOKLYN BABY
Originally Posted by jamtrinbaje View Post
your hair is beautiful.
Thanks
Studio Museum in Harlem has free admission every Sunday between 12 and 6 PM, with free programs and events geared to all our different audiences. From hands-on family workshops to theater performances, whatever their age or interest, visitors will find something to love at Target Free Sundays at the Studio Museum
Old 07-03-2008, 11:32 PM   #5948 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Please tell me your twisting method the products that u use.

So ok guys I just retwisted my locs ALL BY MYSELF! Here's the result, I just put it in the usual bun style. It is way to hot ova here to have my hair down lol.
Also, I tired this hair oil tea from Carol's Daughter and it smells great. I leaves a nice sheen and it's suppose to stengthen hair against breakage
Old 07-04-2008, 10:58 AM   #5949 (permalink)

Location: I’m from a place where you can find a Black girl getting her hair done by Dominicans while wearing Chinese slippers, eatin Jamaican food and an Italian ice..BROOKLYN BABY
Originally Posted by soraya View Post
Please tell me your twisting method the products that u use.
Products: loc n twist gel in a white jar with a purple top, shea butter oil and carol's daughter hair oil ( i used it as a hot oil treatment)

Twisting method: Palm roll
Studio Museum in Harlem has free admission every Sunday between 12 and 6 PM, with free programs and events geared to all our different audiences. From hands-on family workshops to theater performances, whatever their age or interest, visitors will find something to love at Target Free Sundays at the Studio Museum
Old 07-05-2008, 01:06 PM   #5950 (permalink)
Fam Congo

do u clip each loc and sit under the dryer?

Products: loc n twist gel in a white jar with a purple top, shea butter oil and carol's daughter hair oil ( i used it as a hot oil treatment)

Old 07-05-2008, 01:55 PM   #5951 (permalink)

who makes the loc & twist gel you use?
Old 07-05-2008, 09:42 PM   #5952 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post
who makes the loc & twist gel you use?
from wha she describe that's organic root stimulator locking gel
Old 07-06-2008, 12:15 AM   #5953 (permalink)

After washing my locs I palm roll each loc with organic root stimulator. While I twist I clip every loc individually with metal clips. Then I sit under a dry for about two to three hours or until completely dry and lastly I put hair oil in my locs.
Old 07-06-2008, 03:54 AM   #5954 (permalink)

i been looking at this discussion for awhile, so i decided to join in wit some pics myself. heres some pics i deceided to put up for my very first time here.

1st pic-first time twisted back in mar '07
2nd-locs at 10 months
3rd-my hair touched up today(sat). got my hair dyed at the 1st yr mark.
4th-the backside again, after touch-up.

these are the best pics i have right now. i was stupid nd did not get other pics along the way of the process(which i totally regret). jus tell me what u think...
all-my-peeps-locs-scan0001.jpg  all-my-peeps-locs-moms-pics-024.jpg  all-my-peeps-locs-picture-069.jpg  all-my-peeps-locs-picture-071.jpg  
Old 07-06-2008, 07:03 PM   #5955 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by Name View Post
i been looking at this discussion for awhile, so i decided to join in wit some pics myself. heres some pics i deceided to put up for my very first time here.

1st pic-first time twisted back in mar '07
2nd-locs at 10 months
3rd-my hair touched up today(sat). got my hair dyed at the 1st yr mark.
4th-the backside again, after touch-up.

these are the best pics i have right now. i was stupid nd did not get other pics along the way of the process(which i totally regret). jus tell me what u think...
Not stupid...I didn't take pics for the first 4 months.

Hair looks nice and thick.