Old 06-20-2008, 08:46 AM   #5911 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by JAHTEE View Post
Hi Guy's

Long time no post May makes 7yrs that I have been growing my locs and it has been a journey.......I recently cut the front of my hair in something like layers and I used these long spiral roolers to curl it...still trying to perfect the look.

Blessings and enjoy the pics greasy face and all
NICE!
Old 06-20-2008, 08:49 AM   #5912 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Caribgal View Post
Slideshow

Slideshow of locs
Beautiful slideshow.....Thanks!
Old 06-20-2008, 06:45 PM   #5913 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

I'm just running in. I have been dancing everyday for atleast 5 hours for the past two weeks. Just decided to tighten one row and put some loose curls in the end to go out one night last min.
all-my-peeps-locs-vacation-1-140.jpg  
Old 06-21-2008, 02:19 PM   #5914 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RenzePenze View Post
I'm just running in. I have been dancing everyday for atleast 5 hours for the past two weeks. Just decided to tighten one row and put some loose curls in the end to go out one night last min.
your hair looks gorgeous as usual. ahhhmmm... ah want dem earrings dey! lol
Old 06-21-2008, 03:35 PM   #5915 (permalink)

hmmpp...more motivation for me to do my hair

Old 06-21-2008, 05:54 PM   #5916 (permalink)
Kiz

like your hair but like the earrings more
Old 06-24-2008, 01:43 AM   #5917 (permalink)
Fam Congo

I decided to learn to do my hair myself.
since day i used the interloc way to do my
hair. I decided that it will be easier to switch
if i use the wax, although i really wanted to only use oil.

so i have some questions; those who twist your hair
yourselves, how often to do twist them?
after how long do they start staying twist?
do you still oil your hair when using the wax?
do you go under the dryer after using the wax?

I washed and tried twisting, but they just don't stay.
I am looking at the picture posted on this page and i can clearly
see her hair nicely twisted, and i wonder how to make mine stay
and look as nice
Old 06-24-2008, 09:51 AM   #5918 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Poca wuh wax you want to go use in yuh hair. I hope it's not bees wax.

I use oil sometimes. Most times i use a loc gel that is water based. I sit below the dryer with both

Do you pin them down them dry them?
Old 06-24-2008, 12:10 PM   #5919 (permalink)
Fam Congo

hum... so you mean no bees wax! it is a little too late. I was told that since my hair is kinky i need something strong to keep it in place. oh well i only put it once. so I love your hair i find it looks so nice. what is the name of that gel? No i didn't pin them down and i let them dry naturally. i think i might need to see someone do it or have someone do it for me first before i mess up my hair.

thanks

Poca wuh wax you want to go use in yuh hair. I hope it's not bees wax.

I use oil sometimes. Most times i use a loc gel that is water based. I sit below the dryer with both

Do you pin them down them dry them?
Old 06-24-2008, 12:36 PM   #5920 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Originally Posted by soraya View Post
hum... so you mean no bees wax! it is a little too late. I was told that since my hair is kinky i need something strong to keep it in place. oh well i only put it once. so I love your hair i find it looks so nice. what is the name of that gel? No i didn't pin them down and i let them dry naturally. i think i might need to see someone do it or have someone do it for me first before i mess up my hair.

thanks
bees wax aint strong it thick!! So please stop using it it also attracts dust and causes lint. When you roll the hair you need to pin it in place for the oil/gel to dry. I am using Jane carter's twist and lock right now I have also used Jamaica mango and lime extra hold locking gel. They are all water based which is good for your hair with washing out. You take some of the gel put it on teh new growth and roll then pin it in place and dry. When it's dry take the pins out and voila.... yuh did yuh own hair.

So go wash out that wax with some hot water and try the oil or gel then if that don't work u can ask someone to help you and you see what they doing.
Old 06-24-2008, 01:52 PM   #5921 (permalink)
Fam Congo

thanks,

i will wash my hair as we speak, but i wont be able to by the oil and gel you recommended until thursday... so i will let you know how it turned out.

thanks again

yeah i did it myself.

bees wax aint strong it thick!! So please stop using it it also attracts dust and causes lint. When you roll the hair you need to pin it in place for the oil/gel to dry. I am using Jane carter's twist and lock right now I have also used Jamaica mango and lime extra hold locking gel. They are all water based which is good for your hair with washing out. You take some of the gel put it on teh new growth and roll then pin it in place and dry. When it's dry take the pins out and voila.... yuh did yuh own hair.

So go wash out that wax with some hot water and try the oil or gel then if that don't work u can ask someone to help you and you see what they doing.
Old 06-24-2008, 02:00 PM   #5922 (permalink)
De Soca'Robics Instructor

Originally Posted by soraya View Post
I decided to learn to do my hair myself.
since day i used the interloc way to do my
hair. I decided that it will be easier to switch
if i use the wax, although i really wanted to only use oil.

so i have some questions; those who twist your hair
yourselves, how often to do twist them?
after how long do they start staying twist?
do you still oil your hair when using the wax?
do you go under the dryer after using the wax?

I washed and tried twisting, but they just don't stay.
I am looking at the picture posted on this page and i can clearly
see her hair nicely twisted, and i wonder how to make mine stay
and look as nice
Hi, I've always done my own hair since I started almost 3 years ago. For the past few months, I've been retwisting them every 4-5 weeks. Maybe a little bit here and there in between around the edges so I don't look too raggedy. I usually do twist and pin them down, but I learned a lil trick in Barbados from the girl who did my hair for my wedding. She doesn't use pins. She retwists them until they form a lil 'wheel' at the root, and then just lets them hang, so even sitting under the dryer, they'll stay in the position till you pull the hair straight. So I do either method. But I honestly have not used my pins in ages.

I also use the JML resistant lock gel for hard to loc hair and I sit under the dryer. If I don't want to sit under the dryer, then after I twist a section, I'll put it in a ponytail, and then leave the ponytails in place for the day (or two).
I've never tried twisting with just oil, but I have done it with this home made concoction of olive oil, peppermint oil, water, and a lil holding spray that I made, and it does hold quite well with that as well.

Really, once you do your hair by yourself for a while, you'll know what works best for you, not to mention you'll save quite a few $$ too. Just keep practicing. You'll get it.
Old 06-25-2008, 01:55 AM   #5923 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Originally Posted by JaSocaLuva View Post
Hi, I've always done my own hair since I started almost 3 years ago. For the past few months, I've been retwisting them every 4-5 weeks. Maybe a little bit here and there in between around the edges so I don't look too raggedy. I usually do twist and pin them down, but I learned a lil trick in Barbados from the girl who did my hair for my wedding. She doesn't use pins. She retwists them until they form a lil 'wheel' at the root, and then just lets them hang, so even sitting under the dryer, they'll stay in the position till you pull the hair straight. So I do either method. But I honestly have not used my pins in ages.

I also use the JML resistant lock gel for hard to loc hair and I sit under the dryer. If I don't want to sit under the dryer, then after I twist a section, I'll put it in a ponytail, and then leave the ponytails in place for the day (or two).
I've never tried twisting with just oil, but I have done it with this home made concoction of olive oil, peppermint oil, water, and a lil holding spray that I made, and it does hold quite well with that as well.

Really, once you do your hair by yourself for a while, you'll know what works best for you, not to mention you'll save quite a few $$ too. Just keep practicing. You'll get it.
I used to do that to... but i used to end up turning them soo tight...lol.. but that works also.
Old 06-25-2008, 04:29 AM   #5924 (permalink)
Fam Congo

thanks for the suggestions Jahsoca and Ren...
i really want to do my own hair, and i will keep you posted.
Old 06-25-2008, 10:44 AM   #5925 (permalink)
Catylst Ent. Groupie

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
like your hair but like the earrings more
Originally Posted by Ms. Hershey View Post
your hair looks gorgeous as usual. ahhhmmm... ah want dem earrings dey! lol
lmao... i now see these. Thanks... uhm an yunno de boy stop make earrings now... he's concentrating more on his clothes...sigh!!