Old 01-03-2006, 04:28 PM   #1501 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
My family for the most part hates my natural hair. I think they are just so used to that old-skool fried, dyed and layed to the side mentality. I ignore them because I love it and I feel beautiful.

RenzePenze and Foxxy1 your hair is beautiful beyond words!

I love this woman!
Old 01-03-2006, 11:03 PM   #1502 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by GoldenBrown
My family for the most part hates my natural hair. I think they are just so used to that old-skool fried, dyed and layed to the side mentality. I ignore them because I love it and I feel beautiful.

RenzePenze and Foxxy1 your hair is beautiful beyond words!
How long have you worn your hair naturally? How are you wearing it now (twist-out, cornrows, double-strand twists, extensions)? How would you describe your hair's texture?

Though it sounds like you're handling your family's opinions well, know that they'll get used to your hair eventually. My family didn't give me a hard time when I first cut the perm out of my hair, but they kept asking when I was going to let it grow back. When I told them it would grow when I decide to lock it, they all piped down... I didn't know that I would really lock it, but I knew that it would stop the questions... It worked like a charm.

It also helps if you have another person in your family who is sportin' a natural style as well, or if you have an older relative who used to sport a natural back in the day. My mom wore her hair naturally for a while when I was a kid, so she eventually understood my need to do this for myself. I have a cousin who is locking his hair right now for the second time. We both support each other. There's strength in numbers. If you have neither, you at least have us for support.

Last edited by Caribsun; 01-04-2006 at 12:12 AM.
Old 01-04-2006, 09:36 AM   #1503 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Originally Posted by SeReNDiPiTy
I love this woman!
Love u too dippity-doo!
Thanks for the encouraging words Caribsun (as usual)!
Old 01-04-2006, 08:10 PM   #1504 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Deep Conditioning For Locs

At what stage should a person start to deep-condition his/her locs? I just started using regular conditioner a month ago, and wondered when and how often should one deep-condition locs? Is there a preference between deep-conditioning and oil treatments? I'll ask my stylist when I return, but I want to get everyone's take on this.
Old 01-04-2006, 08:30 PM   #1505 (permalink)
Carnival 2008 ah ready!

well i jus peepin in allyuh thread was jus readin and i am thinking about lockin my hair but my mom said when i finishe school which is this year so by august i should do it. I really am dreadin the first year cuz i heard you all say its the hardest and really have little patience with my hair cuz its untidy it could never stay tidy for more than 2 days. But i'm going to do it!
Old 01-04-2006, 09:07 PM   #1506 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by Soca_Loving_Trini
well i jus peepin in allyuh thread was jus readin and i am thinking about lockin my hair but my mom said when i finishe school which is this year so by august i should do it. I really am dreadin the first year cuz i heard you all say its the hardest and really have little patience with my hair cuz its untidy it could never stay tidy for more than 2 days. But i'm going to do it!
It doesn't have to be that way. I'm finding that it depends on your hair's texture and who is doing it. I don't do my own hair, so that has helped me keep the "busted" stage to a minimum. Everyone's busted stage happens differently. keep reading the thread.
Old 01-04-2006, 09:33 PM   #1507 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by Caribsun
At what stage should a person start to deep-condition his/her locs? I just started using regular conditioner a month ago, and wondered when and how often should one deep-condition locs? Is there a preference between deep-conditioning and oil treatments? I'll ask my stylist when I return, but I want to get everyone's take on this.
I don't want this message to get lost in the thread, so I'm posting it again...
Old 01-04-2006, 09:52 PM   #1508 (permalink)

Ms. Caribsun, here are some pics. It's been a while.

My friend did it on Monday. It still looks fuzzy like it didn't do, but at least you can see my scalp.
all-my-peeps-locs-me6.jpg  all-my-peeps-locs-me5.jpg  all-my-peeps-locs-me3.jpg  

Last edited by JuicyTriniJJ; 01-05-2006 at 10:39 AM.
Old 01-04-2006, 10:30 PM   #1509 (permalink)

well i know cream conditoner are no nos for dreads since they leave residiue ( learnt that the hard way) i use hot oil treatments it really helps espeically in the winter when my hair is really dry

Old 01-04-2006, 10:39 PM   #1510 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by Sugahkhayne
well i know cream conditoner are no nos for dreads since they leave residiue ( learnt that the hard way) i use hot oil treatments it really helps espeically in the winter when my hair is really dry
Thanks...I thought cremes would be out....how often do you do the hot oil?
Old 01-04-2006, 10:41 PM   #1511 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by JuicyTriniJJ
Ms. Caribsun, here are some pics. It's been a while.

My friend did it on Monday. It still looks fuzzy like it didn't do, but at least you can see my scalp.

The last one is about 2 weeks ago.
You have some nice length there...how long have you had your locs...I'm late for the party, so I'll need to be updated..(laugh).

thanks for the pics! my hair looks a little fuzzy when I first got it done by one loctician. now, the locs look like big puffs of cotton at first...then they calm down as the days go by. It's funny how hair behaves...keep up the good work.
Old 01-04-2006, 10:46 PM   #1512 (permalink)

Thanks...I thought cremes would be out....how often do you do the hot oil?
i do it once a month...basically every time i do my hair..

Old 01-04-2006, 10:52 PM   #1513 (permalink)
Fam Congo

people, your hair all look very nice... i am feeling jealous now...
i don't know what is different with my locs but they are not as shiny and good looking as whati am seeing in here. i wonder if i should change loctician. but where i am located there are not many and i don't want to use beez wax. i have beenlocing my hair with oil since the beginning and i would like to keep it like that. any suggestion ????
Old 01-04-2006, 11:24 PM   #1514 (permalink)
BabyJ22

Originally Posted by soraya
people, your hair all look very nice... i am feeling jealous now...
i don't know what is different with my locs but they are not as shiny and good looking as whati am seeing in here. i wonder if i should change loctician. but where i am located there are not many and i don't want to use beez wax. i have beenlocing my hair with oil since the beginning and i would like to keep it like that. any suggestion ????
Stay away from the beez wax, I also just twist my hair with oil.
Old 01-04-2006, 11:28 PM   #1515 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Originally Posted by BabyJ22
Stay away from the beez wax, I also just twist my hair with oil.
what she said...though I'm sure there are others who use the wax, I stay off of it. My locticians use loc gel (organic root stimulator). Others use Aveda products (which ones, I don't know). I didn't know that oil would work as well. let everyone know where you are....someone may be able to refer someone to you to visit when you want to take a break from doing it yourself.