Old 09-06-2006, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Loving 2008

Credits: 1,978
Adult Eczema

Does any one have it or know anyone who has it? What tips/ tricks do you know of?
Old 09-06-2006, 12:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
ganja is a herb!

Credits: 88
Yes. THE BEST THING I HAVE CAME ACROSS IS CETAPHIL. It comes in a body wash and a lotion. EXCELLENT! The Dr's always trying to give me different prescriptions, but they do me nothing. My child has it to, and when he was a baby the dr, told me to wash him and use that lotion on him. that was 10 years ago, now that's all that is all we use.
Old 09-06-2006, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,077
Originally Posted by GANJA QUEEN View Post
Yes. THE BEST THING I HAVE CAME ACROSS IS CETAPHIL. It comes in a body wash and a lotion. EXCELLENT! The Dr's always trying to give me different prescriptions, but they do me nothing. My child has it to, and when he was a baby the dr, told me to wash him and use that lotion on him. that was 10 years ago, now that's all that is all we use.
how often do you guys have flare ups.........My son had it for the first year of his life and have not gotten it since he is going to be 4 but I doh no if it will come back........
Old 09-06-2006, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,706
I do, I didn't develop it until i was like 16. it usually flares up when i use fragranced soaps, lotions, detergents, or drastic changes in the weather temp. I would suggest using mild unfragranced soaps and lotion (Cetaphil is good). Also use clear detergents, I use All Free and Clear. You can get a prescription from your doctor for when you have flare ups. Most likely, your doc will prescribe Elidel but that is for mild eczema so if you have more moderate or severe flare ups tell your doctor and he'll prescribe something stronger. I'll give you the name of the one that I use but I'll have to post it tonight when I get home, cant remember right now. As soon as you get a flare up, just put the ointment on it and it works immediately and helps stop it from spreading and itching.
Old 09-06-2006, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Kiz

how about pure petroleum jelly
Old 09-06-2006, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Loving 2008

Thanks for the advice. I will try to get some Cetaphil soap A.S.A.P. When I was younger, I just used to get it on the back of my knee and the inside of the elbow. Now its on my hands, abdominal area, and neck. My skin calmed down when I cut out anything I thought might have triggered it (Zest soap, scented lotions, large quantities of soda, and the Ginger Shandy everyday) and started using Aveeno Skin Relief Body Wash & Lotion.
Old 09-06-2006, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ms_sparkylz View Post
Thanks for the advice. I will try to get some Cetaphil soap A.S.A.P. When I was younger, I just used to get it on the back of my knee and the inside of the elbow. Now its on my hands, abdominal area, and neck. My skin calmed down when I cut out anything I thought might have triggered it (Zest soap, scented lotions, large quantities of soda, and the Ginger Shandy everyday) and started using Aveeno Skin Relief Body Wash & Lotion.
me too! that's where mine started as well. now i get it on my thighs and calves and arms.
Old 09-06-2006, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
how about pure petroleum jelly
but that's so thick and heavy, just the thought of putting petroleum jelly on my skin is makin me itch.
Old 09-06-2006, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 16,342
funny thing, i developed it in high school. my doctor gave me all kinna prescriptions for it. nothing worked. my mom got a recipe for an oatmeal bath from my granny. i used that and i was fine. not too many flare ups. then it came back a couple of years ago, nothing too serious, i just went back to the old routine. i went away on vacation a couple of years ago and got sun burnt to the point of having hives. i seriously have not had a hint of it since. lol i don't know what the sun killed (my dermatologist can't even explain it) but, the eczema's gone. i wouldn't recommend going out and getting sunburnt but it's rather odd how it just went away.
Old 09-06-2006, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Sparkylz- another thing that helps... get a good exfoliating body scrub. Bath and Bodyworks have some good ones. Get one without the fruity fragrance. Don't use it when you have a flare up though because that might make it worse. But once you get it under control use the exfoliating scrub once a day, it helps.
Old 09-06-2006, 02:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
but that's so thick and heavy, just the thought of putting petroleum jelly on my skin is makin me itch.
yeah it is but i find he skin does geh dry fast.......
Old 09-06-2006, 03:10 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 756
me too! that's where mine started as well. now i get it on my thighs and calves and arms.
I get it there now too, but didn't get it as a teenager.
I find cetaphil works. My dermatologist had me spending hundreds of dollars on all these prescription humectants.
A friend of mine told me about Cetaphil. I said what did I have to use...Now it's under control. I just use protopic if I feel an itch coming on
Old 09-06-2006, 03:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 3,016
I find the all natural products always work best. I recently started using a lot of shea butter products my boyfriend suggested. They all have worked great. I spent a good amount at Nubian Heritage stocking up in NY cuz we don't even get half of those products in Toronto.
I used the prescription stuff every once in a while on little problem areas but thats about it.
Old 09-06-2006, 03:28 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Soca_Diva76 View Post
I get it there now too, but didn't get it as a teenager.
I find cetaphil works. My dermatologist had me spending hundreds of dollars on all these prescription humectants.
A friend of mine told me about Cetaphil. I said what did I have to use...Now it's under control. I just use protopic if I feel an itch coming on
i do the same. i have one tube of prescription cream that lasts me for a whole year. i just use it as soon as i feel any itching and it goes right away.
Old 09-06-2006, 04:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Loving 2008

Sparkylz- another thing that helps... get a good exfoliating body scrub.
The exfoliation does make it look better since it removes some of the dry discolored skin. But I gotta wait til the irritation subsides.