Crucian fuh eva!
Unburnable by Marie-Elena John
Excellent read! Its her first novel...I can't tell if she is Antiguan or Dominican, but the book is set in Dominica.
Yes she is from Antigua and I've been sleeping on the book for a min...
Smarty Skirt
I am so ashamed of myself. I really need to go and get this book, I should have done that since she came here for the Literary Festival.
My love...my life..
just started this
Crucian fuh eva!
hi and thanks from Marie-Elena John
Plenty thanks to St Croix Mami and others for the Unburnable big-up. I see you mention about the end... people does want to beat me up fuh dat but I think I give the reader a lot of power over what happens. Anyhow I'll continue to check back here for a while to see if anyone has specific questions and I'd be happy to answer them, or you can go to the contact page of my website at Marie-Elena John - Unburnable - Home and reach me that way.
And in case people prefer to see what I have to say vs. read it, this youtube link will take you to a video of an interview where I discuss some of the themes of the novel: YouTube - Broadcast Yourself. and also this recent post on the Caribbean Beat blog was a big thrill because Chimamanda Adichie is ONLY the hottest young literary wonder out there today, and she was kinda liking Unburnable a lot.. Caribbean Beat blog: Marie-Elena John thanks again, Marie-Elena |
Crucian fuh eva!
Congratulations on such a wonderful debut novel! Please provide us with more, more more! I missed a book signing you had at Karibu books at Pentagon City. Are you holding other signings in deh area?Also, thanks fuh taking the time to post on here. Continued success and blessings to you. |
My love...my life..
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and yes i agree with you on Adichie I LOVE Half of a Yellow Sun and I'm halfway through Purple Hibiscus...lol... when i'm done with thta i'll go back to Unburnable and let you know what i think |
Unburnable/Yellow Sun/Hurston Wright Legacy Award
No, no more DC signings for now, I'm back home (Antigua) and resting up. I was in New Haven and NY after DC and suffering from serious fatigue! But I'll definitely be back in DC in late October if not before for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Awards because I just found out that Unburnable is short-listed for the Debut Fiction category -- that Award Ceremony is November 2nd in DC. BTW Jinjer, I'm a bigger Adichie fan that you... and it's a big point of pride for me that she won the same prize I'm now short listed for (Hurston-Wright Legacy Award, best debut) in 2004 with Purple Hibiscus. She's also nominated this year for Yellow Sun in the Best Book category, so hopefully I'll meet her then and I can thank her in person for saying such good things about Unburnable. Check out the Hurston-Wright Foundation website to see all the nominees in all the categories: The Hurston/Wright Foundation: Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Marie-Elena Marie-Elena John - Unburnable - Home |
My love...my life..
we'll have to fight for that spot! I'm on the last 3 chapters of Purple Hibiscus and I don't want the book to end!!! She has spoilt me for sure.... I have Unburnable in my bag and will re-start it as soon as i'm done with PH. You know....what drew me to the book was the image on the cover....such hope....despair...hurt....longing...fear...love...in one picture! |
Crucian fuh eva!
I know! That was what caught my attention. I went into the bookstore looking for one thing that they did not have and then I went to the Caribbean/African Reading section thinking I would not find anything and boom, deh it was and I thought the cover image was so interesting and then I read the jacket and purchased it. It only took me a week to read it. It may have taken me less time, but I have texts for my classes as well. |
My love...my life..
ZAHIR by Paulo Coelho has a similar image and that book ranks pretty high on my list as well. Definitely a MUST read |
Crucian fuh eva!
CanTiguan
this is a great read
Marie-Elena is so descriptive I felt like i was right on the island. The book is amazing...i can't wait for the next novel!
Crucian fuh eva!
That is exactly how I felt once I finished the book! The descriptions of mas are so vivid that you can actually see it all! Those descriptions remind me of stories that my granny and aunties would tell me about mas and jouvert of days long ago. |

Congratulations on such a wonderful debut novel! Please provide us with more, more more! I missed a book signing you had at Karibu books at Pentagon City. Are you holding other signings in deh area?