Old 08-23-2006, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

New book by Trini author

Called Breaking the Curse, an autobiographical look at a young man's coming of age journey from boyhood into manhood, and the pitfalls that he has had to navigate along the way. The title refers to his mother's admonishment to him to break the negative legacy of philandering and violence that was bequeathed to him by the men in his family. It's a legacy that he openly and unapologetically deals with, but it's a revelation that he arrives at only after much self-introspection and analysis.

Having recognized "the curse" for what it is, he proceeds to follow along the same self-destructive path as his father, grand-father and great-grandfather before him, for reasons both rational and irrational. Rational in the sense that some of his actions were calculated, pointedly tuning out the voice of his mother echoing in his ear (along with that of his own conscience). Other actions simply defy logic, like having seemingly indiscriminate unprotected sex with different women and fathering kids out of wedlock...despite recognizing that that was one of the tell tale characteristics of his family's own personal 'curse'.

The book's shortcomings themselves are few in the eyes of this critic (yuh boy Bakes) though, and whatever missteps there may be are certainly understandable. However, none of these ever detract from the book's readability, and sheer entertainment/inspirational quotient. The scope is ambitious in that it proceeds to tell a story, but at times it suffers from focus...as is to be expected from a novice, self-published author.

The characters are rich and carefully developed, and the various stories and characters eventually help to tell the story. The first-person perspective puts the reader inside the author's mind which makes for quite a frustrating, but simultaneously enjoyable and insightful journey. It's a book that is by turns nostalgic (I had a couple personal flashbacks to my childhood and youth), joyous, heart-wrenching and uplifting.

From Officer training in the TT Coast Guard, to bi-coastal drug dealing in the US, before a Desert Storm tour with the US Army, the author reveals himself to be an earnest individual with a good heart, but for all his intelligence and determination seemed for the longest to be stuck in a rut of flawed decision-making. Most of what he did, at the time seemed logical and rational to him...and it's not until he consciously tries to change his thought process and cope with his inner demons that he's able to turn his life around.

In the interest of full disclosure, it should be known that I'm somewhat acquainted with the author, and I would have supported, simply for the sake of supporting. However, the little I knew about him, and from the snippets that I became privy to...and knew that his life promised to be quite the manuscript, and in that regard he did not fail to deliver. Ultimately I believe the book to have relevance for many of the men here on Islandmix because I sense that many of us may be able to relate, and if nothing else this may serve as a cautionary, but still inspirational tale for many, and definitely and wholeheartedly recommend it.
Old 08-23-2006, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)

Thanks for the lil sneak peak
Old 08-23-2006, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
Thanks for the lil sneak peak
Buy a couple for the men in yuh family
Old 08-23-2006, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Buy a couple for the men in yuh family
The men in my family too far gone....they need a novena or bush bath or something.
Old 08-23-2006, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)

lmao....whey 'bout yuh nephews and dem?

Buy it tuh help feed dis man chirren den
Old 08-23-2006, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
lmao....whey 'bout yuh nephews and dem?

Buy it tuh help feed dis man chirren den
I only have a niece and I am already teaching her well.....