Old 05-21-2006, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

Harry Potter Book 7

Let's have our very own post, shall we?

Topics of discssion:

The significance of Harry having his mother's eyes.

Identifying the Horcruxes and where to find them.

Is Snape truly evil/Will Snape be redeemed?

The Snape/Lily theory. Is there more to why Snape hates James and by extention - Harry?

Is Harry powerful enough to defeat Voldemort at this stage?

Is Harry's ability to love going to aid him in his conquest: how so?

J.K. Rowling said the sorting hat is never wrong. Will Wormtail finally prove that he's a Gryffindor? Will he pay his wizarding debt to harry?
Old 05-21-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

My personal opinion on these matters.

Harry's eyes:

J.K. Rowling was asked in an interview why such a big emphasis was being placed on the fact that Harry had his mother's eyes, and, whether or not there were some magical properties to with with his eyes. She laughed and said that it was a very good question, and that the girl was quite smart to think of it, but, most unfortunately, she couldn't answer.

There are very subtle parts of the books where Harry is noted as making direct eye contact with people, especially when he's trying to get information from them, and they complying to his requests. The instances that jump out at me are when he's trying to get Hagrid to tell him about the mission he was sent on in OotP and Hagrid was most reluctant but eventually gave in. The other one I noted was when, during Occlumency lessons, Harry was able to make Snape answer almost all of his questions and it was noted that Harry was "looking directly into Snape's dark cold eyes and wondering whether he would answer." Snape's demeanour and his loathing of Harry would leave one to wonder why he would have indulged Harry to such an extent, answering every one of Harry's questions. The most glaring instance was in HBP when Harry persuaded Slughorn to gave him the memory. The Felix Felicis told Harry that is was important not to break eye-contact with Slughorn by looking away and, the very last thing Slughorn said to Harry before passing out, was that Harry had his mother's eyes. Dumbledore seems to know about this ability of Harry's even if Harry isn't aware of it himself. That's why he remarked to Phineas Nigellus, who had said he couldn't see why Harry would be able to get the true memory from Slughorn and not Dumbledore, that he didn't expect him to understand why. And even earlier in the book, Dumbledore took Harry along with him to Slughorn to try and persuade him to come back to Hogwarts, and to do so, he plced Harry in the centre of the room and all the while Slughorn refused to look at Harry and was acting like a man determined to resist temptation.

Last edited by Toppa_Toppa; 05-21-2006 at 10:18 PM..
Old 05-21-2006, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

Identifying the Horcruxes and where to find them:

I'm only sure about two of the unknown Horcruxes and where they may be found. The first one is Slytherin's locket that was supposed to be in he cave but wasn't. I, and many other people are of the opinion that it's the very locket that was mentioned in OotP that no-one could open. Seeing as there's a very high likelihood that R.A.B was Regalus Black, Sirius's brother, who was also a death eater, then it isn't far-fethced that R.A.B could have taken the locket/horcrux back to Grimauld place before he got a chance to destroy it. Also, the fact that no-one could open leads me to believe that Harry's knowing parseltongue would come in to play, seeing as the locket was once Slytherin's himself.

Next there's the tiara that was mentioned in the Room of Requirement when Harry went to hide his Potions Book. Going back to the Chapter "Voldemort's request", he came to the school under the pretense of wanting to be hired. Dumbedore knew that was not his real intention and turned him away, belieiving that he did not have a chance to search the school. But, the RoR is on the seventh floor, and Dumbledore's office is on the seventh floor as well, so, Voldemort could have had time not to find one of the artefacts of the founders, but maybe to hide one. When Harry asked the room to transform into a place where he could hide something, he noted that what seemed like generations of Hogwarts inhabitants had hidden things there but never came back to retrieve them. Now, it seems like the only way one can re-enter that very room is to say that you need a place to hide something. That was why Harry could not get in to see what Malfoy was doing because he was not asking the right question, even though he knew Malfoy was using the room to fix something. However, when Trelayney wanted to hide her Sherry bottles, she was able to enter the room and see Malfoy and, when Harry went in to hide his Potions book, he passed the Vanishing cabinet that Malfoy was attempting to fix. So, maybe if Harry does return to the RoR for his book, he would have to ask the room to turn into a place where he could hide something, and not, to give him the place of his Potions book. Not many people seemed to have known how to retrieve the objects they hid and that's why using the RoR as a place to hide his Horcrux, would have been a brilliant idea by Voldemort. Dumbledore did say that Voldy probably found out more about the school's secrets than any other student. To support the Tiara-Horcrux idea, other people have noted that J.K. Rowling mentioned Tiaras twice in the book. The first time was when Harry was hiding his book and, the second time was when Mrs Weasley was telling Fleur about Bill's great-aunt owning a very beautiful tiara that she might be able to lend Fleur for the wedding. We know that the Weasley's are amongst the oldest and most prominent pure-blood families in Britain, so maybe they have some relation to Ravenclaw.

So we have:

Hufflepuff- badger that Voldy stole from Hepzibah
Slytherin- the locket
Ravenclaw- maybe the tiara
nagini
Gaunt ring (destroyed)
Riddle's diary (destroyed)
Final horcrux- inside Voldemort's body

J.K. did say that Harry had amassed more knowledge over the years than he's aware of.

Last edited by Toppa_Toppa; 05-21-2006 at 11:49 PM..
Old 05-22-2006, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 27,147
7/7/7
that is sick right
i hope she makes that date

for those who are a bit out of the loop
7th book
on july 7th
in the 7th month
year 2oo7

"Give me the wine wine of of your life life make sure its right cause its carnival time time"

Old 05-22-2006, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)

she best get to writing and printing and selling eh. steupse i shoulda had that to read right after i saw da vinci code, but nooooooo

T.T I agree with you about the locket in Sirrus's house. and the thing with Harry's eyes.

I hadn't even thought about all that other stuff.

and i still feel Snape evil ( yes Sando I know your opinion here)
Old 05-22-2006, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Empress

Credits: 915
Do any of you think Dumbledore will return? And I dont know about you guys, but the whole Snape thing is really confusing to me. For some strange reason, I still think he could be on the good side, and using his knowledge of what Voldemort is plotting to help Harry out in an underhanded sort of way.

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th

Best of the Best Concert 2013

bayfront park
Old 05-22-2006, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CalypsoQueen83
Do any of you think Dumbledore will return? And I dont know about you guys, but the whole Snape thing is really confusing to me. For some strange reason, I still think he could be on the good side, and using his knowledge of what Voldemort is plotting to help Harry out in an underhanded sort of way.

if she bringing back Dumbledore she best bring back my Sirrus too
Old 05-22-2006, 10:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Empress

Credits: 915
Originally Posted by vincy_socababy
You damn right she better bring back Sirius. That had really hurt me that she killed him off. Then she gonna have the nerve to kill off Dumbledore. Allyuh sure she doesnt be smoking high grade while writing.
Old 05-22-2006, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)

You damn right she better bring back Sirius. That had really hurt me that she killed him off. Then she gonna have the nerve to kill off Dumbledore. Allyuh sure she doesnt be smoking high grade while writing.

nah is bad weed she get
Old 05-22-2006, 01:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

Well she said the way she's writing the books, the hero must go on alone and if Dumbledore and Sirus were still around it would have made it too easy for him. But I think Dumbledore was always dying, with his hand. And that's why he went to the Dursleys at the begining of the book to ask them to allow Harry to come back just once before he came of age.
Old 05-22-2006, 04:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

Errrm...allyuh welcome to post allyuh PoV's on the topics yuh know. I'll come back ad say my say on another one soon.
Old 05-24-2006, 06:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
DE FRACKIN SOUTH KING

Credits: 1,805
After going thru all de books sando will come back with de predictions for book 7
Old 05-24-2006, 07:19 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 195
thought u would find this interesting Toppa Toppa though not on your topic

New dinosaur given a name which Harry Potter would approve
Posted May 22nd 2006 12:28PM by Karen Walrond
Filed under: Media, Books

With approval from scientists and author J.K. Rowling, a new dinosaur species has a fantastic new name: Dracorex Hogwartsia. The new name comes from draco meaning "dragon," rex meaning "king," and hogwartsia, which is a nod to the Hogwarts School of Wizardry, the famed school in Rowling's Harry Potter series of children's books. The naming is intended to honour Rowling's consistent use of dragons in the plotlines of her books.

"The naming . . . is easily the most unexpected honour to have come my way since the publication of the Harry Potter books," said Rowling in a written statement.

Dracorex hogwartsia is a member of the pachycephalosaur family.
Old 05-24-2006, 08:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

Originally Posted by socatrini2002
New dinosaur given a name which Harry Potter would approve
Posted May 22nd 2006 12:28PM by Karen Walrond
Filed under: Media, Books

With approval from scientists and author J.K. Rowling, a new dinosaur species has a fantastic new name: Dracorex Hogwartsia. The new name comes from draco meaning "dragon," rex meaning "king," and hogwartsia, which is a nod to the Hogwarts School of Wizardry, the famed school in Rowling's Harry Potter series of children's books. The naming is intended to honour Rowling's consistent use of dragons in the plotlines of her books.

"The naming . . . is easily the most unexpected honour to have come my way since the publication of the Harry Potter books," said Rowling in a written statement.

Dracorex hogwartsia is a member of the pachycephalosaur family.
Yeah, I read about that...decent.
Old 05-24-2006, 09:09 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 27,147
Originally Posted by vincy_socababy

well they bruied dumbledore
but is sirus really dead?

I have to reread the last book i aint study it like i should off

"Give me the wine wine of of your life life make sure its right cause its carnival time time"