Old 10-20-2006, 12:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Phat Till It Buff Crew!!!

Credits: 556
Roslyn Carrington (TnT) - A Thirst For Rain pt.1
- Every Bitter Thing Sweet pt.2
I really thought they were good

Last edited by #1HotGyul; 11-24-2008 at 09:00 PM..
Old 10-20-2006, 09:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,778
Andrea Levy's "Small Island" is a MUST READ...
Old 10-21-2006, 02:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Drunk and disorderly

Credits: 1,013
Austin Clarke
Althea Prince
Old 11-09-2006, 01:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Up de hill

Credits: 246
[QUOTE=#1HotGyul;2163428]Roslyn Carrington (TnT) - A Thirt For Rain pt.1

Jean Rhys
Michael Anthony
V.S. Naipaul
Earl Lovelace
to name a few
Old 11-13-2006, 02:55 AM   #20 (permalink)
mi nuh cater to bad-mind

Credits: 108
Walter Rodney

heres di online version of How Europe Underdeveloped Africa

http://www.marxists.org/subject/afri...rope/index.htm

C.L.R James
Kwame Ture (Stokely Carmichael)
Toney Martin
Franz Fanon
Marcus Garvey

the list could go alot deeper
Old 01-26-2007, 08:56 AM   #21 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 401
Samuel Selvon is by far my favourite. I started with The Lonely Londoners. It was the first book I've read that was written in Caribbean English.

Other are Michael Anthony and Errol John.

Anyone remembers Moon on a Rainbow Shawl?
Old 02-21-2007, 09:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 22,614
How Europe Underdeveloped Africa

You hould read the poem, of the same name. wriiten by Kamau Braitwaith. BOSS..
Old 02-22-2007, 10:32 AM   #23 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 401
Originally Posted by sexy_jammette View Post
Austin Clarke
Althea Prince
Clarke's A Polished Hoe is playing at the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto from Feb 18 to Mar 4.
Old 02-22-2007, 02:17 PM   #24 (permalink)
SocaLuvinYardieGyal

Credits: 1,778
Originally Posted by Chicktitude View Post
Ok there are quite a few Caribbean authors, many of whom some of you who went to school in the Caribbean might have read. Who are your favorites or who are thouse you've read and may not have liked. Trying to up my reading and support of Caribbean works.

Some I've read are:

Merle Collins
Michael Anthony (Loved his Greens days by the River and others from that series)
V S Naipaul (disappointed with his views of his homeland)
Derek Walcott
Jamaica Kincaid

Andrea Levy...she has a new release called "Fruit of The Lemon" that's out now. There's a review of the book in today's Washington Post, and it's mentioned in the March issue of Essence.
Old 02-22-2007, 02:32 PM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 5,193
Dr. Afua Cooper

Edwidge Danticat
Old 04-04-2007, 01:55 PM   #26 (permalink)

Originally Posted by soca junkie View Post
i heard elizabeth nunez (she's from trinidad) speak the other day. read her latest book prospero's daughter and it was an excellent read. didn't want to put it down.
She's an excellent author. I read two of her other titles, When Rocks Dance & Bruised Hibiscus. Couldn't put them down.
Old 05-12-2007, 10:00 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 266
Originally Posted by Chicktitude View Post
Ok there are quite a few Caribbean authors, many of whom some of you who went to school in the Caribbean might have read. Who are your favorites or who are thouse you've read and may not have liked. Trying to up my reading and support of Caribbean works.

Some I've read are:

Merle Collins
Michael Anthony (Loved his Greens days by the River and others from that series)
V S Naipaul (disappointed with his views of his homeland)
Derek Walcott
Jamaica Kincaid

Why is CLR James not on this list?
Old 05-18-2007, 03:09 PM   #28 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 531
Nalo Hopkinson
V.S. Naipaul - ex QRC boy!
Samuel Selvon
Michael Anthony
C.L.R James - ex QRC boy!
Old 10-14-2007, 07:01 PM   #29 (permalink)
Chick with Spicy Attitude

Credits: 355
Originally Posted by San fernando View Post
Why is CLR James not on this list?
Been a while since I checked in here. But yeah CLR James is also a boss Caribbean Author.
Old 02-27-2008, 03:20 PM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 316
Anthony C. Winkler, he wrote "the duppy" and a few others. hes a great author

You Rated this Thread: