strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 3,469
A bit of an eclectic selection....but some GREAT works.
check your local bookstore, library, www.bn.com or even www.ebay.com for a copy of the book we pick! :) Here's some info on each of the titles: Banana Bottom, Claude McKay Young Jamaican, Bita Plant, is adopted by white missionary benefactors and sent to England. She returns to her home village of Banana Bottom seven years later, a beautiful, English cultured young lady. Despite the evangelical guidance of her foster parents and the friendship of a with squire, Bita is increasingly drawn to the vitality of her more natural culture with its festivals, superstitions, revival meetings, and passionate courtships. Among her many suitors she chooses to marry the quiet, humble man who allows her to be most true to herself. Bad Girlz, Shannon Holmes Bad Girlz takes you into the mysterious and often dangerous lives of young women who turn to the streets and strip clubs as a means of survival. These are girls who, along the way, suffer bad breaks and find themselves ripe for exploitation by men and women who pretend to be their saviors. Salvation, Bell Hooks Salvation takes an incisive look at the transformative power of love in the lives of African-Americans. Whether talking about the legacy of slavery, relationships, and marriage in black life, the prose and poetry of Martin Luther King Jr., James Baldwin, Malcolm X, and Maya Angelou, the liberation movements of the 1950s, '60s, and '70s, sexual pain or pleasure, hip-hop and gangsta rap culture, addiction, greed, or the failure of black leadership, Hooks lets us know what love's got to do with it. Sister of My Heart, Chitra Divakaruni Anju is the daughter of an upper-caste Calcutta family of distinction. Sudha is the daughter of the black sheep of that same family. Sudha is startlingly beautiful; Anju is not. Despite these differences, since the day the two girls were born - the same day their fathers died, mysteriously and violentlySudha and Anju have been sisters of the heart. When Sudha learns a dark family secret, that connection is threatened. For the first time in their lives, the girls know what it is to feel suspicion and distrust - Sudha, because she feels a new shame that she cannot share with Anju; and Anju, because she discovers the seductive power of her sister's beauty, a power Sudha herself is incapable of controlling. When, due to a change in family fortune, the girls are urged into arranged marriages, their lives take opposite turns. One travels to America, and one remains in India; both have lives of secrets. When tragedy strikes both of them, however, they discover that, despite distance and marriage, they must turn to each other once again. Last edited by soca junkie; 11-17-2003 at 10:28 PM.. |
da sweet one
Credits: 1,667
Voted :) .. but doh mind to read which ever is selected :)
KingBea....
Credits: 3,961
I want...
...to read about the bad gurls, I want to see what they do....**Evil Grin**
Mrs. Cimo 2
Credits: 2,010
Re: I want...
only you Cimo*post jack* how u doin? *end post jack* |
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 3,469
Soca Lover
Credits: 293
I picked bad girls.
~Dare to be freeeeeee~
Credits: 1,050
Cimo i'll love to lend u my copy but i promised liccy it already...you're next in line......btw, after readin the book lemme see if the *evil grin* will still be there ![]() |
Mrs. Cimo 2
Credits: 2,010
Re: Re: I want...