Old 02-28-2006, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

DaVinci Code unoriginal?

Did anyone see on the news that their is an intellectual property suit going on that could cause the movie to be cancelled?

I really enjoyed that book. That would be a real shame to find out that DB stole someone elses ideas.
Old 02-28-2006, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 24,976
yeah man. i saw that.....really disappointing. first james frey and now dis...steups....
Old 02-28-2006, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 12,465
Originally Posted by Star Studded General
Did anyone see on the news that their is an intellectual property suit going on that could cause the movie to be cancelled?

I really enjoyed that book. That would be a real shame to find out that DB stole someone elses ideas.
i saw something on it but didnt read the article. that would be real sad, cause the book is one of my faves. I just hope the film lives up to my expectations
Old 02-28-2006, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by TTmudder
i saw something on it but didnt read the article. that would be real sad, cause the book is one of my faves. I just hope the film lives up to my expectations
Well with the current litigation the film will be delayed if no settlement is reached. If the work is proven to be that of the plaintiff the movie might end up being cancelled.
Old 02-28-2006, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Eyes of the Emperial Lion

Credits: 4,139
You have to be kidding me... I'm waiting for this movie to come out and thuis mess happen.
Old 02-28-2006, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)

obviously he had to research and if these people also had a book on the same things, it go be similiar that doesn't mean he teif it. it just mean nobody ever hear bout them and they want a piece of the action.....well i'm sure that's what his lawyers will argue

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village
Old 02-28-2006, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 19,714
i think he credits the books he draws these references from....i lent my copy out so i cyar go check
Old 02-28-2006, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 12,699
The ideas in this book is anything newit's just a new spin on it....u ever her of the gnostic christians
Old 02-28-2006, 09:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Flirt by Nature

Credits: 33
DaVinci Code unoriginal

I was watching the news last night and they reported that they may pull the film in Great Britian, not the US. Keep your fingers crossed. Looks like it's going to be a great movie!
Old 03-01-2006, 01:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mad Scorpion

Originally Posted by vincy_socababy
obviously he had to research and if these people also had a book on the same things, it go be similiar that doesn't mean he teif it. it just mean nobody ever hear bout them and they want a piece of the action.....well i'm sure that's what his lawyers will argue
One thing stands out for me though. In Davinci code where there are all these scrambled words being used as clues, one of the main characters names have the exact same letters as a key character in the petitioners book. I can't recall thier characters name but in DaVinci Code it's Leigh Teabing.