My love...my life..
Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie
Half of a Yellow sun
Purple Hibiscus This young lady is NOT writing fast enough for me! Both are brilliant literary works. |
My love...my life..
PURPLE HIBISCUS From the Publisher Fifteen-year-old Kambili's world is circumscribed by the high walls and frangipani trees of her family compound. Her wealthy Catholic father, under whose shadow Kambili lives, while generous and politically active in the community, is repressive and fanatically religious at home. When Nigeria begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili's father sends her and her brother away to stay with their aunt, a University professor, whose house is noisy and full of laughter. There, Kambili and her brother discover a life and love beyond the confines of their father's authority. The visit will lift the silence from their world and, in time, give rise to devotion and defiance that reveal themselves in profound and unexpected ways. This is a book about the promise of freedom; about the blurred lines between childhood and adulthood; between love and hatred, between the old gods and the new. Barnes####&####Noble.com - Books: Purple Hibiscus, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Paperback, Reprint |
My love...my life..
An Interview you guys may enjoy
Crucian fuh eva!
Purple Hibiscus
Oh gosh, I am so mesmerized by Kambili's character! I can feel her conflict. I am now at the point where they have been at their auntie's for a moment and deh grandfather has come....so riveting...especially when she states that her father will decide what she will study at university.
My love...my life..
![]() finally!!! someone i can discuss this book with! How do you feel about their father? I hated him with a passion!!! Let me know how you feel about the way this book ended I became enamored with Kimbali's brother and the resistance that he put up... but let me let you finish the book first |
Crucian fuh eva!
Also, Amaka...Ieh liking how she just drops inuendos regarding rich people as opposed to speaking up about her feelings....although that may change later in the book. I am trying to move as quickly through this book because I feel that there is something brewing with how Kambili watches Father Amadi. With Jaja...you get a sense earlier in the book that he will eventually revolt and give resistance....and I love how he blossoms once they are in their auntie's home. |
My love...my life..
lol i'll wait til yuh done |
sexy thang
Half of a Yellow Sun
What a good read. I truely enjoyed it, will be getting Purple Hibiscus soon.
Crucian fuh eva!
My love...my life..
Fired up! Ready to go!
My love...my life..
sexy thang
I finally picked up Purple Hibiscus and started reading immediately.
![]() I was just reading your comments on the father how you hated him but last night i was thinking he was so humble and was such a disciplinarian i was actually liking his stance. I guess that will change huh? lol I guess the father turned out to be a monster no wonder Jaja said they will protect the baby from their father. hmmm, cant wait for lunch to continue reading. |