Old 01-26-2007, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ah ain nevah scurred....

Books that All Black Folks should read

Biting off Shandy's post, what are some books u think are essential for blacks to read. When I was younger...

The Wretched of the Earth
The Isis Papers
Assata
The MisEducation of the Negro

were books that generally most black college age kids read. There were many others, but I cant remember. I would probaly add to that

The 48 Laws of Power....

What are some that you think we should all read, or even better encourage our youth to read?
Old 01-26-2007, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Reign of Fire...Judgement

The Autobiography of Malcolm X
Old 01-26-2007, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Puma Power Posse-NY

Cane River
Old 01-26-2007, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ah ain nevah scurred....

Originally Posted by SleepingDawg View Post
The Autobiography of Malcolm X
Oh yeah I forgot about that one...any others
Old 01-26-2007, 11:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings- Maya Angelou
Black Boy- Richard Wright
Kaffir Boy- Mark Mathabane
Manchild in Harlem- Claude Brown
Old 01-26-2007, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
You worserer than I

Originally Posted by LadyDay005 View Post
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings- Maya Angelou
Black Boy- Richard Wright
Kaffir Boy- Mark Mathabane
Manchild in Harlem- Claude Brown
YES

black boy
makes me wanna holla
trespassing
stock for dummies
a hero aint nothing but a sandwich
Old 01-26-2007, 12:03 PM   #7 (permalink)

I actually did this post maybe a year and half ago... But I found this document that I created for the Center for Women's Development here at Medgar Evers College and I try to share this with all women n' men.... Enjoy and pass it on! (I'm also in the process of creating a detail list of books for the women's circle I organize, so keep the list going!)
Blessings
NtrAseHotepnamaste'...

"Sista please take this as a gift from me to you":

So I'm walking down the East Village, NYC a couple months ago and this young black guy is giving out flyers, and he stops me and says "Sista please take this, just take a look I don't want anything for it, I just want to share the wealth and knowledge".... So I take it for his sincere words, but I choose not to read it yet because I had all these crazy thoughts in my head of what can be on this flyer... Finally I make it on the train and give it a read, and to my surprise it's a copy of a hand written BOOK LIST he put together, a Listing of Book Stores and Music to check out... I then realized who it was geared to (you'll get the gist from the following titles) So after reading this and it does say big and bold to share I want to share this with you!!

Here's some of the 1st half of the list:

1. "Woman, Culture, & Politics" by Angela Davis
2. "Sacred Woman" by Queen Afua (I have this book and love it, will take the Sacred Woman steps soon)
3. "From Brotherhood to Manhood" by A.J. Franklin
4. "A Black Parents handbook to Educating your Children" by Baruti Kefele (Aclearwebcreation.com)
5. "Lessons to restore the Goddess Blackwoman" (I love this book too)
6. "Why are Blackwomen Losing Their Hair" By Barry Fletcher
7. "Countering the Conspiracy to Destroy Black Boys" Vol. 1-4 by Dr. Jawanza Kunjufu (nyaclu.com)
8. "The Willie Lynch Letter" by Kashif Hassan-El
9. "Blackwomen, Feminism, Blackliberation: Which Way?" by Vivian Gordon
10. "The Art of war for Success" by Gerald Michealson
11. "Capitalist N*gger" by Chika Onyeani
12. "PowerNomics" by Cluad Anderson
13. "Up From Slavery" by Booker T. Washington
14. "Kwanzaa" by Haki R. Madhubuti (just in time for the season)15. "In search of Sisterhood" by Paula Giddings
16. "Assata Shakur" by Assata Shakur (Required read in my house, thank you daddy)
17. Afeni Shakur: "The Evolution of Revolutionary" by Jasmine Guy
18. "World's Greatest Men of Color Vol 1&2" by J.A. Rogers
19. "Karma Sutra" by Ann Cooper (I got this on my 21st birthday by elder in my family, thank you)
20. "Blackwomans Guide to understanding a Black Man (and vice versa)" by Sister Shaharazad Ali
21. "How I retired at 26!" By Asha Tyson
22. "Girl make Your Money Grow" by Glinda
23. "The Miseducation of the Negro Ms. BridgeForth" by Carter G. Woodson
and left it with this:
Positive Education Always Causes Elovation
P.E.A.C.E.
Here's his book store list:

Hue-Man Bookstore (718)-665-7400
Big Deal Books Inc. (718)-622-7400
Nubian Heritage (212)-427-8999
Books-n-things Inc. (718)-789-8964
Old 01-26-2007, 12:05 PM   #8 (permalink)

Any book that educates about saving and investing.
Old 01-26-2007, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Fired up! Ready to go!

Young Fabulous and Broke - Suze Orman
Girl, Get your money Straight & Girl Make y=Your Money Grow (I forgot the author's name)
Rich Dad/Poor Dad - Robert Kiysaki (please forgive the butchering)
(Sense the finance theme here? hehe)

Letters to a young brother - Hill Harper
I'll think up some more later

Old 01-26-2007, 12:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Puma Power Posse-NY

Originally Posted by shandy View Post
Young Fabulous and Broke - Suze Orman
Girl, Get your money Straight & Girl Make y=Your Money Grow (I forgot the author's name)
Rich Dad/Poor Dad - Robert Kiysaki (please forgive the butchering)
(Sense the finance theme here? hehe)

Letters to a young brother - Hill Harper
I'll think up some more later

I LOVE ME SOME HILL HARPER>>>MMMMMMHMMMM
Old 01-26-2007, 12:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Lonely Londoners
The Power of One
Tandia
Year in San Fernando
Small Island
The Poisonwood Bible
Things Fall Apart
To Kill a Mockingbird
Huckleberry Finn
King Leopold's Ghosts
Old 01-26-2007, 12:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Fired up! Ready to go!

Originally Posted by Angie Fyah View Post
I LOVE ME SOME HILL HARPER>>>MMMMMMHMMMM
Me too!

Old 01-26-2007, 12:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

Native Son
Old 01-26-2007, 12:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by Nisha7 View Post
Biting off Shandy's post, what are some books u think are essential for blacks to read. When I was younger...

The Wretched of the Earth
The Isis Papers
Assata
The MisEducation of the Negro
Our kids need to be reading this in high school
Old 01-26-2007, 12:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Reign of Fire...Judgement

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Any book that educates about saving and investing.
"Your Money & Your Man," Michelle Singletary

I'm buying it for my S/O for our anniversary.