Old 09-21-2009, 12:42 AM   #31 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,615
Originally Posted by carnivaldarling View Post
gosh...I got the ebooks for a coworker and now my entire office is reading them...it's like a disease!! I heard they are extremely addictive. Not really interested in the whole Twilight fad...but i've heard once you start you won't be able to stop..lol.

Ok....so work and school kicked back into gear so my reading time is really limited :-( Just bought Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Been searching for this book for ages here and finally found it. Holiday tmrw so I'm definitely gonna get in some reading time.
Adichie is AMAZING. Purple Hibiscus is also a good read. I recently picked up her last one...a collection of short stories that I have yet to start but you definitely won't regret Yellow Sun..it's definitely one of those I have to read again

And yes Twilight is addictive. I actually didn't expect to enjoy them because I'd put up a mental block to the teen-lit kinda books BUT they were more than I expected. Read the entire series in a week...and if you've seen the size of those books that's no easy feat lol
Old 09-22-2009, 12:21 AM   #32 (permalink)
Crucian fuh eva!

Credits: 701
Second on Adichie...I love her writing. Finished the book of short stories in 4 days! back in school now, so reading for enjoyment is at a minimum right now. Will pick back up around the holidays.

@ Jinjer...how you girl?
Old 09-22-2009, 12:24 AM   #33 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Originally Posted by St. Croix Mami View Post
Second on Adichie...I love her writing. Finished the book of short stories in 4 days! back in school now, so reading for enjoyment is at a minimum right now. Will pick back up around the holidays.

@ Jinjer...how you girl?
wow...welcome back! I'm good

got a few days left before I fly back out for school

and yes those short stories are on point!
Old 10-19-2009, 05:14 AM   #34 (permalink)
Miss Innocent

Credits: 24,930
is it too late to join? Its been a WHILE I read for my own leisure instead of doing research for class assignments....

any suggestions??
Old 11-10-2009, 07:10 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 143
lol, i'm interested, i love books like sweet potato pie, lol
Old 11-10-2009, 07:12 PM   #36 (permalink)

how to join?
Old 11-10-2009, 07:21 PM   #37 (permalink)

help!

could someone tell me how to join this book club?

NB: i am green to all this, just join the site a few minutes ago,
Old 11-10-2009, 07:54 PM   #38 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Originally Posted by cherriet View Post
could someone tell me how to join this book club?

NB: i am green to all this, just join the site a few minutes ago,
lol i don't even know if this is active

we were all supposed to nominate a book then vote on it but...

what's the last good book you've read?