Old 01-30-2009, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,111
Angry Yuh know some comments in Soca Chat getting annoying

This better than who war is getting real f-ing annoying.

Trinis/Trinbagonians who like to push the damn mecca better than you tip, is ah new year big up Trinidad and Tobago without sounding condescending or ignorant nah, oh gosh. We know our talents and awesomeness in many respects but please do not forget some of our performers collaborate with other islands so we are intertwined in some ways. Stop pushing the better than you crap. Every person feels his/her country is boss. Please don't use every blasted thread to continue allyuh war with certain people.

Non Trinibagonians who the frig tell you you could tell us what is quality soca, good soca, etc etc. State whether you like a song and state why you don't think it is good and let's discuss. Please do not use a thread to put down all our songs. We are multi-talented and some of that talent is not uplifted. Most Trinbagonians know what are shit songs. Keep in mind all of us have different tastes.

There are better ways for us to discuss a song or songs for a particular year. Time to learn, Trinbagonians included. Who the frig I be to say all I said and will say below? Some call me: "Minister of Culture". This forum has the potential to be more.

And oh frig yes compared to the glory days it is not the same.
As time goes by, people experiment and a new era of soca will emerge.
Producers, singers, musicians will unite and produce a new sound.
Some will be for mainstream others are for the various tastes. And a number of them will be sung for the Carnivals.
e.g Roboman still growing on me but I won't knock him unique and fun twist to the Caribbean music industry. Many think one of Fireball's most popular song was not good but I loved it and sang right along to it.

Why it is some of you have to mention this year eh all that or to borrow a word, subpar and put down our soca. I find it have endless song from Trinbago that fun, make meh feel sexy, have creativity, and just plain good. Excellent some are. Sweet soca for days. Trinbagonians know what the frig we like.

Some people have the unmitigated friggin gall to continuously put down my island because some people on here and offline are braggards and don't give credit where it is due etc, etc

Ever since I came on this site I have been pushing fairness and unity so fuh damn sure I am not one of those Trinis that don't give other islands respect so don't broadbrush.

Thanks to imix, I have been exposed to the various music and it has broadened my tastes and knowledge but I need to be better immersed to fully appreciate it so someday I hope to go to the various islands to take it in better and learn to dance to the various music.

When ah hear some Trinbago 2009 songs playing ah seeing ah fete, ah seeing mehself on the streets ah Port of Spain playing mas, ah seeing just fun times....

Instead:

Lehwe talk about the soca mafia

Lehwe talk bout changing the industry to be more inclusive of the artists

Lehwe talk bout what inroads have been made for progress

Lehwe talk bout ways to support the artists and other positive things for the benefit of the soca, bouyon, zouk, calypso, cadence etc industries.

Lehwe talk about pushing for quality lyrics in some albums

Lehwe discuss songs in a better way.

If I have the energy and time I will spam any thread with this war foolishness and putting down Trinibagonians unfairly.

However, feel free to blaze any member who insulting yuh country and not partaking in a discussion.
Makes for good entertainment.

So to start soca chat on the right track I am about to start another thread....
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Last edited by TriniTrini; 01-30-2009 at 09:57 PM..
Old 01-30-2009, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 152,681
Old 01-31-2009, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
IN DE AIR

Credits: 86,731
very gd pointers here, but ppl are still gonna bypass this and its very sad.
Old 01-31-2009, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 29,582

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 01-31-2009, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,254
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
This better than who war is getting real f-ing annoying.

Trinis/Trinbagonians who like to push the damn mecca better than you tip, is ah new year big up Trinidad and Tobago without sounding condescending or ignorant nah, oh gosh. We know our talents and awesomeness in many respects but please do not forget some of our performers collaborate with other islands so we are intertwined in some ways. Stop pushing the better than you crap. Every person feels his/her country is boss. Please don't use every blasted thread to continue allyuh war with certain people.

Non Trinibagonians who the frig tell you you could tell us what is quality soca, good soca, etc etc. State whether you like a song and state why you don't think it is good and let's discuss. Please do not use a thread to put down all our songs. We are multi-talented and some of that talent is not uplifted. Most Trinbagonians know what are shit songs. Keep in mind all of us have different tastes.

There are better ways for us to discuss a song or songs for a particular year. Time to learn, Trinbagonians included. Who the frig I be to say all I said and will say below? Some call me: "Minister of Culture". This forum has the potential to be more.

And oh frig yes compared to the glory days it is not the same.
As time goes by, people experiment and a new era of soca will emerge.
Producers, singers, musicians will unite and produce a new sound.
Some will be for mainstream others are for the various tastes. And a number of them will be sung for the Carnivals.
e.g Roboman still growing on me but I won't knock him unique and fun twist to the Caribbean music industry. Many think one of Fireball's most popular song was not good but I loved it and sang right along to it.

Why it is some of you have to mention this year eh all that or to borrow a word, subpar and put down our soca. I find it have endless song from Trinbago that fun, make meh feel sexy, have creativity, and just plain good. Excellent some are. Sweet soca for days. Trinbagonians know what the frig we like.

Some people have the unmitigated friggin gall to continuously put down my island because some people on here and offline are braggards and don't give credit where it is due etc, etc

Ever since I came on this site I have been pushing fairness and unity so fuh damn sure I am not one of those Trinis that don't give other islands respect so don't broadbrush.

Thanks to imix, I have been exposed to the various music and it has broadened my tastes and knowledge but I need to be better immersed to fully appreciate it so someday I hope to go to the various islands to take it in better and learn to dance to the various music.

When ah hear some Trinbago 2009 songs playing ah seeing ah fete, ah seeing mehself on the streets ah Port of Spain playing mas, ah seeing just fun times....

Instead:

Lehwe talk about the soca mafia

Lehwe talk bout changing the industry to be more inclusive of the artists

Lehwe talk bout what inroads have been made for progress

Lehwe talk bout ways to support the artists and other positive things for the benefit of the soca, bouyon, zouk, calypso, cadence etc industries.

Lehwe talk about pushing for quality lyrics in some albums

Lehwe discuss songs in a better way.

If I have the energy and time I will spam any thread with this war foolishness and putting down Trinibagonians unfairly.

However, feel free to blaze any member who insulting yuh country and not partaking in a discussion.
Makes for good entertainment.

So to start soca chat on the right track I am about to start another thread....
Old 01-31-2009, 08:20 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 278,744
Tar and Feather...............rational thinking not going to owrk
Old 01-31-2009, 09:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
zen
Gajo Fresco

Credits: 1,157
Originally Posted by Picong View Post

+1

But good analysis, by TT!
Old 02-01-2009, 09:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,111
Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
very gd pointers here, but ppl are still gonna bypass this and its very sad.
Originally Posted by zen View Post
+1

But good analysis, by TT!

Good discussion is desired.... if not lehwe go down the road....
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 02-01-2009, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 80,777
*In a deep voice* "Trinitrini"
Old 02-01-2009, 03:56 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Good discussion is desired.... if not lehwe go down the road....
I go keep it simple.......the only way this forum will go in a positive direction is for their to be VERY strict moderation and individuals who flood the forum with stupid, antagonistic and irrelevant threads need to be removed from the boards permanently........there are some of us on here who want to learn and enjoy music from other islands.........then there are those who only purpose is to push their agenda and disrespect the music of other islands in order to feed their ego and inferiority complex.........
Old 02-01-2009, 04:25 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 156,471
Trini "do it fuh we culture" Trini

Old 02-01-2009, 04:26 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 129,637
I go keep it simple.......the only way this forum will go in a positive direction is for their to be VERY strict moderation and individuals who flood the forum with stupid, antagonistic and irrelevant threads need to be removed from the boards permanently........there are some of us on here who want to learn and enjoy music from other islands.........then there are those who only purpose is to push their agenda and disrespect the music of other islands in order to feed their ego and inferiority complex.........
You KNOW what, I have to AGREE with U, because U R on POINT.

Yuh kno, we does discuss Soca............this tune shouldnt even be discussed, is shit, plain and simple. No matter wat island yuh from, yuh kno a hit tune when yuh hear it.

I must say that I am TRULY HUMBLED by your WORDS.

NUFFF RESPEK IYAH.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 02-01-2009 at 04:30 PM..
Old 02-02-2009, 09:54 PM   #13 (permalink)

You KNOW what, I have to AGREE with U, because U R on POINT.

[/COLOR][/B][/size]

I must say that I am TRULY HUMBLED by your WORDS.

NUFFF RESPEK IYAH.
I am on point because I am speaking bout u yuh cowardly dumb khunt........if u r removed from Soca Chat........there WILL be an opportunity for open discussion without d dotish bias and agenda u b pushing.........folks would not feel the need to be critical of artists because of their feelings towards u.......as far as the PC tune.........people react to it because of its origin.......its still not the big soca tune u was trying tuh bash people brains into thinking.........and guess wat yuh lil fag........unlike u who would walk way from a gal if it was a machel tune playing.....I would stay dancing wit d gal.......
Old 02-02-2009, 10:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 54,830

Kevin Shittle gehin licks.
Old 02-03-2009, 01:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,065
I agree totally. All those things you stated that were missing are the reasons I have refrained from communicating on this board in so long. Nice to see another positive brother in here.

May your campaign succeed!

I most DEFINITELY have your back!