#16 (permalink) | |
Registered Member
Credits: 576,026
Here is why, Dumbo. You live in England, right? As a matter of fact, it does not matter if you live in England or not, I will still show you why you are a SIMPLETON. Have you been to the FETES in Canada and New York, every weekend, from the time the song came out May of 2011? Moreover, were you at the fete I attended last weekend? |
#17 (permalink) | |
Credits: 98,277
Although i can't find someone else to agree with me...i really liked patrice in that groovy competition too....not because she was in fine form, cuz her voice was busted.....but because she left it all out there on the stage. She worked hard and in the interview afterwards she said she felt spiritual during her performance and I saw it. But her voice was not in good shape for the competition probably because of the nightly fetes that she was doing. |
#18 (permalink) |
Mommy Dearest
Credits: 179,872
Over all the music was cool this year, I appreciated the Groovy tunes. Precision Productions have made a serious name for themselves this year, followed by GBM productions. Machel through his experience has kept his essence and still remains in a league of his own.
I enjoyed Prophet Benjamin Performance at the Power Monarch, I think for soca he's something to look at, he's a great reggae artist and his catchy humorous tune shows us his versatility. I’m looking forward to 2013 or anything he may come with throughout this year. Off to the other islands for Carnival ![]() ![]() __________________ Link me on fassbook http://www.facebook.com/#!/SocaDivaChandelle 2 Sweet 2 B 4Gotten:) |
#19 (permalink) | |
Mommy Dearest
Credits: 179,872
__________________ Link me on fassbook http://www.facebook.com/#!/SocaDivaChandelle 2 Sweet 2 B 4Gotten:) Last edited by **Vincy-Soca-Diva**; 02-22-2012 at 01:24 PM.. |
#20 (permalink) |
Credits: 3,527
Thanks for the reviews and comments people.
I'm late this year coming up to speed with all the 2012 Trini music so I find a thread like this usefull. I used to be a huge Trini music fan starting like 14 years ago, but over the past few years finding myself losing interest, especially with the uptempo stuff. Not an islander so I have no bias re the music from any island. I'm just not feelin any of the top three RM tunes this year, and its been that way for some years now. It just seems like the uptempo formula is tired and stale to me for the most popular songs and Ive been looking elsewhere in the smaller islands, especially Grenada, for my uptempo musical fixes. Gotta wonder how long it will be before the music moves away from wave rag and push flag. But I'm sure there are some buried gems in all those releases...so leh meh get to wuk. So far, the only songs I got on repeat now are Throw Wine by Prophet Benjamin and Inna Band by Blaxx. |
#21 (permalink) | |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 22,127
![]() __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 02-22-2012 at 02:51 PM.. |
#22 (permalink) | |
Icon
Credits: 435,701
__________________ ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH -Mahmoud Abbas |
#23 (permalink) | |
Credits: 136,232
part 1
And...costumes were wicked this year, even ones not expected to look that great came out HAWT...except YUMA's goldeneye...errr glad I actually let that section miss me it looked very forgettable on the road. Bejewelled Blitz didn't look very blinged out either...the entire thing needed to be sparkly or something that headpiece looked like a toy. Seems many bands had costume drama (bliss complaints bout sizes, yuma complaints bout various tings, my band - d'krewe - was HELLA late with the costumes and messed up my schedule for when to be done with that so I could be uploading pics and liming and other things!...I mean 2 and 3 times coming back to sort it out, and heard TRIBE's shipments of brassieres/etc had issues and they had a last minute re-order that was killing availability of things and hands for other bands.) Seems many bands had FOOD drama. Last year no issues with food, this year people in YUMA actually didn't get fed, and people in my band got fed, but some had to wait on round 2 of food to come to the truck...wth was going on with food this year? And they were rationing too last year i came late and still got breakfast in between on the road... this year they cutting off the food band as you get your lunch...that's it for you. Costumes hot, groovy vibes rocked the place, and for the first time everywhere I went i was stopped to take pictures with people, dem friend, dem child, dem man (yes a girl asked me to take a pic with HIM that was...weird! lol)...and even people in TRIBE, Bliss and Harts costumes were asking me what band my costume was from and saying how nice it was...costume must have really been two and three times hotter than I thought it was cause people acted like it was an individual or something, last year i dont' think anyone went out of their way to take pics, this year is like a spotlight wherever i was walking...the headpiece kept bringing that same effect in the airport too! And the BOOTS big up Niecy's Custom Designs boots sell OOFFFFFFF. Late to everything this year, goal next time is get there the time i intended...smh running around like madwoman looking for my band lol, and got to insomnia when daylight was already hear... But still wicked!Fetes...what the HELL was up with fetes this year? Bare was new and got cancelled, UWI Splash happen every year and get cancel, Frenzy boatride friday get cancel, Puro Blanco all white boatride (advertised right here on imix) Sunday get cancel...is what suh? Soca Monarch...if they going to give the whole thing to Machel i shoulda just gone back to Girl Power and let them tell me the results (but GP closed early this year, and that would have irritated me if i went!) Soca Monarch is cool but Girl Power vibes/crowd is more my speed...plus, i was wining on some officer at SM and the officer NEXT TO the one I was wining on pushed me so hard with the baton or whatever was in his hand, it left a bruise that got WORSE as time went on...wth and i wasn't wining on him???? Someone told me male police not allowed to do that they suppose to get a female to handle things... like di man vex him nah get no attention...smh the people of soca monarch near front stage i always hear bad things about...they were wayyyy better than the police. My wristlet zipper broke and my phone and everything drop out. Didn't get the money back obviously but a girl had picked up my phone for me and gave it to her man to hold and I got it back when they saw me coming through staring hard at the ground trying to find it! Goes to show just cause the crowd rougher don't mean they all "bandits". Still like girl power better. Scorch...WICKEDEST FETE EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR what!!!!! The wait to get inside and the b.s. they were on with issuing their fancy schmancy "email only" tickets had me thinking not me again any year after this...got inside and forgot ALL BOUT DAT. lol. From the girls on pole dancing and beside her trying to get me drunk off apple and banana flavored puncheon shots (i say a little she says "noooo have MORE!" and pours the thing to the top...and refills right after i try one! smh)...to the goodlooking people all bout...to the food and drinks and drinks and drinks...to the dancefloor, the HYPE AS HELLLL dj's (hypa hoppa, dj private ryan, and many other shirtless eye candy keeping the vibes well hot on stage), the music...and one of them dj's kept picking random girls to pour whatever he had in his bottle down their throat...somebody tell me turn around and he wanted to pour it down my throat lol. So the music had to lock off per police at midnight... "so when yuh feel seh di soca done, well is more soca to come...when yuh feel seh di wining done, well is MORE WINING TO COME" out come rhythm section and people animal instincts take OVER bwoy lol. One of the drummers motion me to come over by him an him jussa wine wid me an drum same time...another girl come join us an mi tell him him TALENTED to manage both of us and STILL hitting dem drums hard! Good times, good times...yaadies came out and repped in that fete too, anywhere one of us heard the accent or saw our flag (male or female) we hail each other up. Oh yeah and BEENIE MAN walked into the fete like nutten...only a small entourage too! I can't say enough good things about that fete. It made me late for Insomnia. And I normally put nothing before Insomnia. :) __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |
#24 (permalink) |
part 2
Went home, caught a nap, should have set my alarm cause was suppose to nap 1 hour, it turn into 4...what i should have done was nap in the car on the way straight to Insomnia cause that was a nex 1.5 hours of time wasting just trying to GET there!
Insomnia...wicked as always...got there in time for Machel, in time for the WATER HOSES (favourite part *smile*) and got TOTALLY soaked especially up by the stage! Throw wine on cute man throw wine on big man throw wine on man that remember me from LAST YEAR Insomnia (how???? my hair totally different him still remember!), throw wine on man in wheelchair (is a row of them in there wth going on there? but all in good fun!)...throw wine on man who said "I never wine a Jamaican gyul before yuh know, allyuh could wine?" ...and they chose that moment play suppen like Buckets...a who tell dem haha I was about to walk past cause i was headed somewhere but I smiled sweetly, turned my back to him, and let him have it...his friends laughing at him for biting off more than he could chew by time di song done. Smiled sweet again and walked off. lol Had doubles in the fete from the feistiest doubles GYAL ever, who want to serve man who not even in the line but want to fold up and screw face like ME a cut line when I reach out to take the next one she put down...even other girls in line who louder (and meaner) than me race her up and tell her I been in line long time just like them and is only one i want what she carrying on suh for. Cause most people in line was getting all 5 and 6 one time fi dem an dem friends. hm. Insomnia always wicked... outside waiting on taximan to find me, some car across the way BLASTING Swappi's "Bubble On A DJ"...I normally don't like soca that have a similar vybe to dancehall but Swappi sick mi body wid it dis year man couldn't help it...song drive me CRAAAZY only ting get mi worse for 2012 is BUCKET...taxi shows up, as i go to get in some young (and CUTE!) maxi driver come rush mi bout where am i going he will take me straight to the door. I said that's okay i paid this one already. He said no you didn't I saw you the whole time you were across the street...i was like wait just how the hell long was dude WATCHING me? So i told him i paid the taxi roundtrip on the way UP...he said okay what's your number. lol I said ohhh is THAT you wanted all this time he said YES what you doing tonight? Swappi's fault the man get a show...song maddddd... KNOCKED out in the car. Taxi man nice enough to remember i needed to stop by pharmacy for Icy Hot, him wake me up cause I would not have remembered. Love that taxi driver...and I told his boss how great he was too! __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |
#25 (permalink) |
part 3
Since boatride was cancel we (me and my clients and some people I helped get sorted out and prepared for carnival on the plane on the way down cause they were really a little clueless as to how un-ready they were, only thing they had sorted out was Girl Power and costumes) went to lime on Ariapita at Sweet Lime. Customer service so bad I had to help get orders, get orders STRAIGHT, and serve our orders lol but I felt bad for the poor girl cause is nearly 10 of us and one of her and she obviously needed help...even she said is like I work there. I had 2 Sweet Limers (non-alcoholic and quite refreshing) and a Banana Brace...or something suh (definitely alcoholic and sweet)...NICE lime, nuff jokes, and the place was full to the brim!
J'ouvert...Silver Mudders...showed up and got concerned after jumping ship from Chocolate City cause place was DEAD QUIET like ghost town...truck was late, real late. But it got wicked a girl was giving the oil massages so you could get mudded up, and one woman asked where the MEN to give the women massages? I said she had a point...so I went and got me one. He was SO cute and barely spoke English...and soon after he volunteered a nex one came to oil me up too...people started coming over wondering wait WHAT going on here??? lmao Got my silver mud everywhere from head to foot. Some girl was onsite cutting up and sexy-ing up the shirts. Thanks to her cause i have zero creativity in that department. When our trucks showed up and powered up the vibes jumped way up and stayed up! Had a wicked time on the road! And is like some kind of rule that I must meet one of the sexiest men for all of carnival during j'ouvert...it happen last year and it happen this year...man came out of nowhere and chemistry was so instant and strong it hurt...we just leaned on each other with foreheads touching and wined and talked in that same pose like 2 lovebirds for the longest...only separate to exchange numbers...then the vibes was getting too strong so I was like okay we...we...we need to...*had memory problems rocking all connected to him like that*... we need to GO, we getting lost in our own little world and the trucks leaving us. He was dangerous. Shorter than me and brown and absolutely the effing sexiest thing I saw all morning, including passing me in other bands (and Chocolate City had some nice looking things crossing my eyesight!)...whew. Okay what was I saying? Came back to meeting point, some man volunteer to spray the mud off me...fun tings. :) Ate, drank more, was merry...HYPE...what! Monday Mas - dem shorts this year was rather...small...put the hot back in hot shorts. vibes nice on the road. Not so nice that i ran out of memory almost immediately and had to waste like 2 hours back at the guesthouse clearing out pics to make room for monday! Tuesday Mas - WICKEDDDDD my costume from headpiece to the peel and stick glitter eye makeup to the costume to the boots looked very amazing. It was quite gratifying to have masqueraders as well as strangers and professional photographers asking me what band it was and telling me how nice I looked...proving once and for all it doesn't have to be TRIBE, Bliss, Harts, YUMA, or Islandpeople for it to be an excellent costume! I was happy to tell them my band is D'KREWE. :) Not so amazing...the delays and delays with picking up the special order part of the costume (monokini, and a frontline headpiece for a backline order)...seems no matter what i end up collecting in full on Sunday so I will just stop scheduling Saturday as my pickup day if D'Krewe is my band and make up my mind that Sunday is the day for costumes and j'ouvert...cause they were messing up my itinerary with that...also not so amazing...camera stolen in transit...and allllll my tuesday mas pics are on it. smh. I have pics on other people camera i am sure but as i was also photographer for my band and had really nice pics of not just me but the whole band AND VIDEO of us on the road and crossing savannah stage (i got to remain on stage for every section to tape/shoot them)...it's a serious problem. Hoping offering some money will get me at least the memory card back and the a-hole who took it can have the camera. smh. Learned this year that leaving first thing wednesday morning especially as someone who has business to sort out as part of her carnival responsibilities is a HORRIBLE idea...if i had only had downtime before takeoff to get the pictures off my camera and blogged or at least on Picasa I would not be having the mini-nightmare I'm having now...plus, i actually made friends that i kept in touch with all year, male and female, and did not get to link with them unless i ran into them by accident...not cool...if i had stayed wednesday i would have been able to put in some face time and ensure the picture thing sort out... coming friday not so bad but can't leave on a wednesday again i need a down day to handle the blog and safeguard the pictures an ting...smh. But i did learn carnival can still be wicked even if it's a groovy year and not a year of lots of power soca... And i didn't even cover every experience...imagine if i had been there longer? lol Pics coming to the blog and fb soon as I get them sorted... :) __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |
#26 (permalink) |
oh yeah, Silver Mudders has a stormer problem...they fix that and they late start for next year, they'll be perfect, especially since you can EASILY register right from their facebook and pay via PayPal...
Very rare to see that kind of 21st century behaviour from a Trinidad carnival business. Sad but true. My friend who was a TRIBE vet and played this year with YUMA (and was going for cocoa devils but had trouble with registering from way across the world where she was for training) decided to follow my lead and register with silver mudders, and she says the same thing, they fix the stormer thing and make the truck start earlier to still reach on time even with the 3 roadblocks it said it faced this year, she'd do it again. They really had good vibes on the road. __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |
#27 (permalink) |
Credits: 41,209
but wha de hell is dis, I saying Browni not going back Trinidad carnival for a while, not klnowing she down dey in de ting.
#28 (permalink) | |
I clearly had not been paying attention to the start of that song before cause he starts out like he is protesting something, and his name says prophet, he looks very much a ras not just a dread...and then wow the song just run weh leff all decency. lmao. Liked his song even more after i picked my jaw up off the floor of Soca Monarch. lmao. I wasn't the only one wondering what kind of prophet is HE? __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |
#29 (permalink) | |
And why you said i wasn't going? I didn't think i was going either...it wasn't "oh yeah this not missing me ever again"...but people started needing help, and i decided to stop doing it for free...and one thing just led to another even with costume, and housing... it sort of just happened. and my cousin in canada announced last month she is going with me to tnt 2013...so now i have to go anyway cause obviously she not going without me. She going to make a pretty addition to the masquerader roll call too. :) The guys who were clients this year were raving about their whole experience and the customer service from me from SUNDAY and even more so after mas...one of them said he is telling ALLLLL his friends about me and i will probly need to hire help after they get on board. He wasn't even going to play mas...til he went by mas camp with us saturday and saw one of the girls who was going to be on the road. Why dude went back to his guesthouse, got his card, registered same day and got his costume next day...he saw me on the road and was raving how wicked a time he was having. And he was one of the pickiest clients with the most detailed "what if" questions. It felt great to help people enjoy themselves so much. I have also become a sort of "at least i know this one person there" for folks who end up solo because their buddies flake out on them. If i wasn't going they would "know" no one and would have to cancel their trip. I warn them i'm not babysitting but i end up helping out even people i don't know anyway. I don't know I'm good at it...one guy said i was born to do this. :) __________________ "Once your mind is trained you may find your spirit is still weak. A good partner and support can often build up the spirit’s strength." - Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad |

6Likes

But still wicked!
So the music had to lock off per police at midnight... "so when yuh feel seh di soca done, well is more soca to come...when yuh feel seh di wining done, well is MORE WINING TO COME" out come rhythm section and people animal instincts take OVER bwoy lol. One of the drummers motion me to come over by him an him jussa wine wid me an drum same time...another girl come join us an mi tell him him TALENTED to manage both of us and STILL hitting dem drums hard!