Like Tree6Likes

Old 02-21-2012, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 132,568
Your review of Soca for Trinidad carnival 2012

HERE IS MINES

Overall this was a great season for the Groovy, most of the artists were good with Kerwin being one of the standouts...

Shurwayne came back in ripping form with the catchy Wining Addiction.

The Antilles was a great riddim, Ephraan was a breakout star, precision productions owned the season

Kes slid in the rankings but he still had some hits, Denise Belfon was no where to be found, Buffy crashed and Burned.

Swappi is officially a big gun and he entered into the Power Soca arena for the first time

Machel Montano dominated with many hits and misses, but he was still talked about..hate him or love him, he is here to stay.

Destra is still good at groovy but lacking in Power and looking for that right spark to return her to Power prominence.

Bunji went a year without singing about fire!

Nadia came into her own as an artists with some boss tunes

Fay Ann is still the mash up queen and still toting feelings and angry as usual.

Island Pop/fusion dominated the scene

TC/Shal proved he is an actual artist and not just a DJ

Iwer went back Grenada for a Jab Jab riddim but was denied glory again

The small island artist did not bring a single hit to Trinidad, they just did not deliver anything this year.

You could have counted the good power tunes on 5 of your fingers

GROOVY SOCA> ISLANDPOP> POWER SOCA

next year we doing it again![/B]

Last edited by SWAGGERIFIC; 02-21-2012 at 07:06 PM..
Old 02-21-2012, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 68,841
Originally Posted by SWAGGERIFIC View Post
HERE IS MINES

Overall this was a great season for the Groovy, most of the artists were good with Kerwin being one of the standouts...

Shurwayne came back in ripping form with the catchy Wining Addiction.

The Antilles was a great riddim, Ephraan was a breakout star, precision productions owned the season

Kes slid in the rankings but he still had some hits, Denise Belfon was no where to be found, Buffy crashed and Burned.

Swappi is officially a big gun and he entered into the Power Soca arena for the first time

Machel Montano dominated with many hits and misses, but he was still talked about..hate him or love him, he is here to stay.

Destra is still good at groovy but lacking in Power and looking for that right spark to return her to Power prominence.

Bunji went a year without singing about fire!

Nadia came into her own as an artists with some boss tunes

Fay Ann is still the mash up queen and still toting feelings and angry as usual.

Island Pop/fusion dominated the scene

TC/Shal proved he is an actual artist and not just a DJ

Iwer went back Grenada for a Jab Jab riddim but was denied glory again

The small island artist did not bring a single hit to Trinidad, they just did not deliver anything this year.

You could have counted the good power tunes on 5 of your fingers

GROOVY SOCA> ISLANDPOP> POWER SOCA

next year we doing it again![/B]
Not entirely true about music from the other islands as Skinny Fabulous' "Rumble" got played a lot in the fetes as a warm-up for Fay-Ann's "Misbehave" and Tallpree's "Jab All Over" got a lot of play as a warm-up for Iwer’s "Jab (No Pain)".

On the groovy side Hypa Sounds tune "Roll It" was a big hit that played a lot in the fetes!

I was expecting Edwin's "Good Time" to do much better than it did in T&T this year but it didn't. Maybe too many quality groovy-tunes and folks in T&T just wanted to hear something fresher after possibly hearing "Good Time" from since August last year!

Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM);
Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT
On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM);
www.facebook.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-21-2012 at 07:21 PM..
Old 02-22-2012, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 69,575
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
Not entirely true about music from the other islands as Skinny Fabulous' "Rumble" got played a lot in the fetes as a warm-up for Fay-Ann's "Misbehave" and Tallpree's "Jab All Over" got a lot of play as a warm-up for Iwer’s "Jab (No Pain)".

On the groovy side Hypa Sounds tune "Roll It" was a big hit that played a lot in the fetes!

I was expecting Edwin's "Good Time" to do much better than it did in T&T this year but it didn't. Maybe too many quality groovy-tunes and folks in T&T just wanted to hear something fresher after possibly hearing "Good Time" from since August last year!
ok you say ppls want to hear something fresh please explain to me when BAD DOG RIDDIM came out and that will completely squash your arguement...

trini ppls wanted to hear their own at the end of the day they only have ONE carnival like the rest of the caribbean!! But of course islanders or foreigners would like variety !

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-22-2012, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
ok you say ppls want to hear something fresh please explain to me when BAD DOG RIDDIM came out and that will completely squash your arguement...

trini ppls wanted to hear their own at the end of the day they only have ONE carnival like the rest of the caribbean!! But of course islanders or foreigners would like variety !
Hey Digga, please note that I started that sentence with the word MAYBE which you did not highlight in your quote as I am only speculating here!

There is a good reason for my speculation though! Edwin Yearwood is an established big name soca artist in T&T therefore radio stations are more like to play his hits from Crop Over than hits or a riddim from lesser known artists from Barbados or St Lucia for example unless there are big name T&T artists on that riddim.

I don’t think the Bad Dog Riddim got played in T&T until Fay-Ann jumped on it hence most folks in T&T are not familiar with the original St Lucian pieces on that riddim.
They are familiar with Skinny's cut because he is now an established big-name soca artist in T&T and his song was also cleverly promoted by Skinny's promotional team as a T&T carnival release! Also as you are aware Skinny’s “Rumble” was used regularly in the T&T fetes as a warm-up track for Fay-Ann's "Misbehave".

Btw I almost forgot; “Out & Bad” by St Lucia's TJ also became a mini hit for T&T Carnival this year as well because Fay-Ann & Baron jumped on the Out & Bad riddim for their hit song “All Over” and TJ's original track was regularly used as a warm-up for Fay-Ann & Baron''s hit "All Over" in the T&T Carnival fetes as a result.

Anyway thanks for your perspective.

Bless

www.facebook.com/socaphd

Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-22-2012 at 09:40 AM..
Old 02-22-2012, 09:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Bacchanalist

Credits: 238,671

This song didn't get enough play...people are now jus getting into it. i fell in love when i 1st heard him perform & frm then on every fete i go to i request it

When ah tink bout love what come to mind is rum rum rumm rummm!
*starts chippin*

Old 02-22-2012, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 136,023
based on the lists above

buffy just had a child, u expect her to give a fcuk about music?

kes played it safe,,,, let he have a next season like this,,,, and the gigs will dry up

erphann/machel combination was better than pump yuh flag, yet machel never once sang it, rofl

tc and shall cant perform to save dem life, and i would never go a fete to see dem clowns.... dem perform to vocal tracks that are louder then dem actual voice when they "try" to sing

How is fayanne totin? fayanne is the best female artist in tnt,,, which isnt saying much anymore, where destra, denise, patrice declining....nadia is a boss

swappi hadda work on his perfomance

megan waldron should make a blues with me(love thatgirl)

i think garlin gets it,,,,, he knows where he is at, he know what he is capable of, and he aint trying to be something he isnt....

blaxx is a very underated artist,,, and i wish him success in everything he does

benjai might hadda be happy with that peoples champion moniker,,, cause hd winning monarch and groovy every year, from now on, rofl

2nd Annual JOUVERT FLAG FETE

Central Florida Fair Grounds

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th
Old 02-22-2012, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by Edghill Thomas View Post
based on the lists above

kes played it safe,,,, let he have a next season like this,,,, and the gigs will dry up

erphann/machel combination was better than pump yuh flag, yet machel never once sang it, rofl

tc and shall cant perform to save dem life, and i would never go a fete to see dem clowns.... dem perform to vocal tracks that are louder then dem actual voice when they "try" to sing

How is fayanne totin? fayanne is the best female artist in tnt,,, which isnt saying much anymore, where destra, denise, patrice declining....nadia is a boss

i think garlin gets it,,,,, he knows where he is at, he know what he is capable of, and he aint trying to be something he isnt....

blaxx is a very underated artist,,, and i wish him success in everything he does

benjai might hadda be happy with that peoples champion moniker,,, cause hd winning monarch and groovy every year, from now on, rofl
And what about Kerwin, yuh leave him out of your review!

Btw I find that you released some great tracks this year but yuh need to market yuhself with the conscious image and yuh tracks a little better as you already have your niche!

Hopefully we will see more great releases from yourself and the other top T&T artists during this year and we won't get plus 95% of the music being release in just 2 months of the year in the build-up to T&T carnival.

It’s impossible for DJs/Radio stations to play everything released in a two month window when you have well over 500 songs being release for T&T Carnival during that window! So it's inevitable that many good songs by lesser known artists will get lost in the dust!

Anyway keep up the good work and we looking forward to another football anthem sometime in the future. Maybe you can do one for the Olympic football team this year if they manage to qualify for the London Summer Olympics!

www.facebook.com/socaphd

Last edited by Socapro; 02-22-2012 at 09:57 AM..
Old 02-22-2012, 09:57 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 149,911
Great music this year for me...and i'm not easy to please when it comes to music.
Old 02-22-2012, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Girl Crush

Credits: 486,473
Originally Posted by Edghill Thomas View Post
based on the lists above

100% agreement. The man can actually sing, remember him joking year before he will keep a concert singing like Al Green and ting. I would def. go see him. IMO, he seems to embody yesteryear; but in a good way. He doesn't sound dated.

Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 02-22-2012, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Girl Crush

Credits: 486,473
Oh yeah Ephraan (sp) Alves get rob at groovy. The young man sang his song; and its so refreshing to know that he can actually sing.

But we know this thing is about popularity.

Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 02-22-2012, 10:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 136,023
Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
100% agreement. The man can actually sing, remember him joking year before he will keep a concert singing like Al Green and ting. I would def. go see him. IMO, he seems to embody yesteryear; but in a good way. He doesn't sound dated.
yes he is a throwback.... and hes verrrrrrrrrrry humble... out of all the artist i had the pleasure of meeting year after year,,,, he seems to get it,,, he does his work for the people..... i just hope the people of tnt appreciate him before its too late
Old 02-22-2012, 10:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,175,505
One and TWO DECENT SONGS.

The uptempo songs were FORGETTABLE.
Old 02-22-2012, 10:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

One and TWO DECENT SONGS.

The uptempo songs were FORGETTABLE.
Similar to Vincy Carnival last year I guess!

www.facebook.com/socaphd

Old 02-22-2012, 10:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,175,505
Similar to Vincy Carnival last year I guess!
VINCY ROAD MARCH PLAYING to this DAY.

Why?

Because it is a song of TOPICAL QUALITY.
Old 02-22-2012, 11:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

VINCY ROAD MARCH PLAYING to this DAY.

Why?

Because it is a song of TOPICAL QUALITY.
Playing to this day on your stereo for sure as you seemingly love Animals!

I am yet to hear that song being played voluntarily by DJs in any fetes outside of Vincy!!

You are living in a Fantasy world but that's not really news is it?!

www.facebook.com/socaphd