islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Socapro

Old 02-18-2012, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 98,277
You mean is only 500K for Calypso Monarch

Imagine that power soca nonsense gets 2M but groovy soca.......and incredibly the calypso monarch gets $500k. What? How the hell does that decision get made?
Old 02-18-2012, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post

Imagine that power soca nonsense gets 2M but groovy soca.......and incredibly the calypso monarch gets $500k. What? How the hell does that decision get made?
Calypsonians may boycott the Finals if they doh increase the prize money!

From $2 million last year down to $500k this year for 1st prize!

The government know that a lot of calypsonians will be blazing them this year for that SOE nonsense they came up with last year so they doh want to pay big money to get roasted!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-18-2012, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,918
aye bring dis year calypso come wen all you have time please.

I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future.
A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari...

"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”

Old 02-18-2012, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 48,985
ONLY 500 k, you are talking about Five Hundred Thousand dollars right???

nah deuw deux la jhet mamow.... jwei avec mwen

Old 02-18-2012, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
PROUD PROUD TRINI

Credits: 28,899
play whe should of given away more money! SMH at them
Old 02-18-2012, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
PROUD PROUD TRINI

Credits: 28,899

play whe runs the groovy and i dont know why so lil money for groovy same thing last year everyone else got 2 million beside groovy! but its a shame soca monarch got more than calypso!
Old 02-18-2012, 08:31 PM   #7 (permalink)

I read somewhere that the government knows that the calypsonians would be coming after them because of the SOE. So they doh wah pay them bards big money to crucify the government. Doh know how true that is but that rell shallow.
Old 02-18-2012, 09:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 126,440

Imagine I come with good lyrics as a calypsonian
Why can't first prize be one million
If they don't increase the prizes next rounds
Most of us will sing about them in our songs

Some of them might feel that is small thing
That a group of singers are blazing them
But doh sleep on us calypsonians

Santimanitay!

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-19-2012, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 3,252

I have one question. Which event makes the most money?

Answering that question may answer this post!!
Old 02-19-2012, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Latest news from i95fm: The T&T calypsonians monarch will be getting their 1mill$ prize money and will all be performing tonight at the 2012 DIMACHE GRAS FINALS for the 2012 Calypso Monarch title.

Well done to them and may the best man/woman win!!
TriniTrini likes this.

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-19-2012, 06:30 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
Latest news from i95fm: The T&T calypsonians monarch will be getting their 1mill$ prize money and will all be performing tonight at the 2012 DIMACHE GRAS FINALS for the 2012 Calypso Monarch title.

Well done to them and may the best man/woman win!!
Thank you! It shouldn't have even come to this. WTF?