the Socapolitition
Credits: 332
Yo do u really thing soca gunno make it as it is??
Turn me on hit the world liek a bomb sending waves through out each country ,got play in hitch and on gotti but since then nothin from kevin that has made it to a notable height
we got rupee...tempetd to touch got up on desperate house wives but nothing else and now we hear kl ,and maybe rupee out from atlantic so far we see rihanna as a caribbean star but check the music is not soca...is like a mixture of all our caribbean styles.. and she is making it big....got a nike deal, first artistes to get that ...but the music she singin ain what we know as soca..but all is good..still good to have someone from the caribbean as beautiful and as talented... buh check does this tell us somethin........is america really ready for our soca or they want us to mix it with r&b to get this popso..maybe atlantic saw something we didnt see when they chang the bloody name from soca to "popso" im still undecided......i kinda feel we should keep the soca name but change the music to be mainstream so we know we out there..then once we get there..we slowly drop the real soca..this can be done like on an album u got 15 tracks say 9 tracks mainstream the other 6 our soca on the other hand i feel that why should we change...if reggae and dancehall making it as it is..why soca carnt make it as it is...with out havin to change the name to "popso".which when u think of the name "pop" just look at pop music...dont last ..its good for awhile but then its gone.. Yo whats ur take |
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,305
Good Question.....just check some of the other threads on the topic and you'll get your answers.... BTW, I agree with you , it shouldn't change, that is if the label sign them to do soca, then have them do soca, unless the artestes also want to throw in some R&B or Gospel, etc....but do you have in writing where the labels are requesting the artistes to change the format ? I doubt if that is the issue....first in order for soca to grow, note I said " grow, " you need everyone( islands, promoters, Industry Exec, fans, etc } one the same page, which we dont, we need full support across the board from the promoters putting on the shows to the fans, why is it that I never see a Randy Isaac or a Bud booked to these shows ? If Iwer can run out and do three songs....what... Randy have what...maybe a thousand songs... I am sure he too can find three songs....what make these promoters think that only one or two islands are supporting soca....far from the truth..... . Way too much internal and external fighting going one...you have some who want to keep " We Ting " to themselves....as if they are the only ones in the equation, then you have have others who feel that since this island or another put soca on the " Big Stage, " then it should be about those artistes... Then you have other cry babies who want the format to remain the same....hello, hello....look around you....this might be a wake up call for you....but guess what...things changes....you can't stop it, i can't stop....like the saying goes..." such Is Life " ....now deal with it ! The truth of the matter is that the industry is way to big to confine it to just a hand full....youth, beauty, and new styles will always be in play. Since soca music is the mainstay in so many different islands....it is impossible for one island alone to grow the music.... so until all the above get their sh%t together, it ain't going to happen.... Records deals and going MS is secondary..... The reason why Reggae is so strong...is because powers in charge understand $$$.....everyone and the Gov't are all on the same page....we refuse to keep " We Ting " to ourself...we ain't selfish like that....why do you think Elephant Man can command 30k plus to do a small show or 5k just to do a " dubplate, " further more, if you are a student of the culture....it is really " Soundclashes world wide " that is really pushing reggae from Japan to UK back down to Jamaica ! Last edited by socapineman; 06-05-2006 at 03:12 AM.. |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,337
so because rihanna from barbados, she has to be a soca singer? you seem confused..why change the style of music and keep the name? thats like removing the logo of a mercedes and gluing it on the grill of a hyundai..it still going to be a hyundai patna.. |
Credits: 34,879
Soca needs more unity . Some ppl from one place don't listen to soca from another place. Plus there's just not that many new tunes coming out often enough. Maybe more combos from various artiste from different countries.
Maybe Soca just needs a Jamaicans touch The bigger Soca gets in Jamaica the faster it will grow. Since we are loved by the world then it will be easier for the world to accept Lets face it the Jamaican are the ones full of style & versatile ![]() |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,337
look some oxtail, go do something with it ![]() |
New tunes come out often in Jamaica while the same set of soca songs play threw carnival season. You buy one carnvial cd from a few different countries and you have all the soca songs for the year They need more soca songs coming out to sell more cds and grow the genre ![]() |
my favorite just need some rice & peas |
Credits: 41,529
I sincerly hope that 6/6/06 brings about the armageddon of talking about KL / other atrists signed / and soca going mainstream.
*takes out rosary*
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Credits: 433
well, Barbados mixes and fuses r&b vocals on a soca track (that is why we have a lot of r&b flavoured songs durin crop over time) cause we tryin a lil thing to see if it will work. check alison hinds' roll it gal, it is not soca just a fusion of different genres. soca needs to be taken to the laboratory and get some sort of surgery do to it in order to reach to a higher height. i aint lyin to say that i really love soca but with kl and rupee dropped from atlantic label, wat does that tell us that we need to do? as fuh rihanna, she mixes everythin that is why americans mistake her fuh a pop singer, r&b singer, reggae singer, dancehall singer, etc. cause she fuses everythin together to create a new sound that is liked by all. soca artistes need to do the same but dont overdo it and still call it soca cause it wont be the same original soca.
![]() could someone tell me if KL's TMO success was because of the spragga benz dancehall flavoured or was it in its original format before the dancehall fusion? and rupee's tempted to touch was also in AFTER THE SUNSET with salma hyack and pierce bosnan. Last edited by analyst; 06-05-2006 at 10:01 AM.. |
Credits: 140,830
Show us that you can ACTUALLY FORMULATE/PRESENCE a CASE on your own without MEEKLY RESORTINGt to criticizing the INPUT of others. |
Credits: 140,830
Credits: 41,529
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
#15 (permalink) | ||
Freedom
Credits: 6,413
||