Credits: 31
The year of Machel
Is it just me or is this some of the best music that Machel has ever produced in a year
. I think he is truly trying to move the music further beyond this jump up for carnival kind of thing. He made music this year that has relevance all year round.He even managed to get somewhat big name celebrities to collaborate with him on some music and they are two of his top songs being Carnival Survivors and We not giving up. "You" has a message "Miss good repuation" has a message and "madder than that" is his continuation of craziness...... I can truly say that I see no reason as to why "We not giving up" with Doug E. Fresh couldnt get air play on BET if kevin little can get airplay along with rupee. After seeing Machel on the 5th and gettin on in the front i'm a little saddened because I know that no other band or show will live up to the expectations I have after that show..Both fro a music, guest performance, and performance level. P.S. For the Record after seeing the Soca Monarch.....HOW DI ASS Bunji Garlin win dat blasted thing..the monarch is now useless to me it means nothing.....1. Shurwayne 2. baby killa 3. Iwer 4. someone else i guess u can say Bunji |
Credits: 2,876
I still say 2000 was better.
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 24,953
Hmm I will say this I think Machel's music was a little more "mainstream" this year, but his best? Nah I would say that at all.
Steel City Man
Credits: 519
Credits: 140,588
Maybe another label will knock. |
Steel City Man
Credits: 519
THe key is letting him do himself. Whatever label he finds, they'll have to take the full package deal. Which is him and Xtatik. ISn't that why his previous deal fell through? Because he had enough sense to stay loyal to Xtatik?
Credits: 3,008
Don't talk out of turn...it's bad for business... |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 24,953
Closet Exhibitionist
Credits: 3,306
Royal
Credits: 23,916
My favorite 'Machel year' was 2000...hands down. But every year is 'Machel year' anyway. :p
In other words, he is still MAINSTREAM, but on the other side of the ATLANTIC. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 03-09-2005 at 10:55 AM.. |
I think Machel is having a good year.
I still say that song YOU is the best song. |
Credits: 696
Credits: 902
first I have to say that I agree with you totally on the soca monarch thing. what they seeing when they see Bunji? I dont get it. He was out of breath and once again you could not understand what he was saying. I dont know what is going on with the young people in Trinidad, but I dont see it with Mr. Garlin. As for the Machel thing, I also agree. Although this album has 4 remixes on it, it is still a great album. The first 8 tracks are really good music, and thats hard to say of any RB or Rap artist out there right now. Now I am a devote Machel fan, so I know that am bias. But my Haitian friend has said the same. He now appeals to not just the true soca fans. I really hope that he does big things this year. |

. I think he is truly trying to move the music further beyond this jump up for carnival kind of thing. He made music this year that has relevance all year round.