Credits: 2,404
*yawn* soca n mainstream
as of this point i dont really care if soca ever becomes big in the states, b/c up here is not where it matters. we've accomplished so much for many years w/o being mainstream, and still the artform remains intact. the only way i see soca being big over here is if they water down the music, n market it to a pop, hip hop or rnb audience which then it would loose its finesse and touch. i say if the music cant make it big the way it is....leave it so. i say dont fix a matter that isnt broken. as long as there are supporters backhome and a few of us abroad, the music will never die.
Credits: 1,099
so true. we gotta abandon the thought of soca making it mainstream for a lil while, cause we will have to put jay z to produce it and all we will be hearin is 'roc a fella' in de back of de dam vocals. leave de ting how it is.
Credits: 41,530
Both of you are so right! The music sweet the way it is
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Credits: 2,474
I AGREE TOO!
WELL SO FAR WE HAVE HOT,HOT,HOT & WHO LET THE DOGS OUT AND THEY AINT SOUND MUCH LIKE SOCA TO ME NOW WE ON D VERGE OF HAVING TURN ME ON...BUT AT LEAST ITS DONE BY THE ORIGINAL ARTIST BUT NOT IN ITS ORIGINAL STYLE. Last edited by BFFan; 10-03-2003 at 07:24 PM.. |
Credits: 69
Guys ,pls don't lose hope with de music making it to the mainstream audience.machel ,iwer,square one and the rest of dem will always be here to keep pumping out the authentic carnival soca music every year.but change is good .a new mainstream soca music is what needed to jump start our dying culture.we must break away from soca music from being just carnival inspired.soca music right now is becoming very repetitive and we need some new blood,new ideas and sounds to be integrated in we music so it can have some life again. soca music is suppose to stir up a frenzy party emotion in your body when you hear it, but right now its just sounding regular.
I heard some new songs from those outbreak fellas"Punjabi; ohh nah nah nah" and its sickkkkk.they're taking the music to the next level and im very excited on where this music is going. I lost faith ,but im backing it 10001% FIREEEEEEEEEE IM BACK!!!!!!!!!! |
Credits: 2,404
Credits: 122
aye leh meh tell alyuh someting compared tuh we up here in d north, soca is main strem dung deh alyuh have all kina radio stations an artist an ting. up here we have a few artists, buh as far as air play goes we have sun at 6-8, thurs morinings and sum on sat nite,(all on different st.) alyuh have whole stations playing soca all d time. In my opinion i say i like ting d way it is now yuh know artist making chunes fuh d people who really unerstand it an fuh d culture. d last ting i wha here is all d artists singin bout how much "ice" de have an how much man or woman deh have. an all dat shyte.