Old 08-20-2007, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,551
Winn Dixi n Miami Peeps

The Radio Stations that push Soca in Miami would be

and who would you consider the number 1 station representing for soca

Bless
Bigtruck
Old 08-20-2007, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 563
if I am not mistaken there are only 2 legit stations in Miami and they are reggae/soca stations that target mostly reggae.

there are a handful of underground stations and they are the same thing reggae/soca but 94.5 has been kicking azzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz when they do play soca.
Old 08-20-2007, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,042
Originally Posted by BIGTRUCK ENT View Post

Bless
Bigtruck
Miami/Dade Broward None.
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”
Old 08-20-2007, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300

Bless
Bigtruck
there is an underground station(96.1fm?) with giselle the wassy one. then there is 1080am which features soca and calypso on saturday 12:00 - 3:00 with dj mike andrews. then there 1400am which give a mix of caribbean music(soca included). then, ocassionally, 91.3fm, npr affiliate here in broward which has a reggae show on saturday in the morning from 3 - 7, gives soca 15 to 20 minutes. ever since clint o'neil passed, he started the show on 91.3 over 20 years ago, two dj's do the show: dutchess and an englishman whose name i cannot recall. i find that duchess plays more soca than the other dj

on your second question, it is difficut to say which station represents soca because all play a little soca here and there. at anyrate, if i were promoting a soca artist and his/her music in South Florida, i would talk to giselle. addition to being a dj, she and her posse are very involve in promoting soca fetes in the area. as a matter of fact, there was talk sometime ago about giving her a show on power 96, a english-spanish station which plays rap, hip hop, rnb, dancehall, reggaeton, and, evey now and then, a soca tune.
Old 08-20-2007, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Credits: 563
Originally Posted by winn dixie View Post
there is an underground station(96.1fm?) with giselle the wassy one. then there is 1080am which features soca and calypso on saturday 12:00 - 3:00 with dj mike andrews. then there 1400am which give a mix of caribbean music(soca included). then, ocassionally, 91.3fm, npr affiliate here in broward which has a reggae show on saturday in the morning from 3 - 7, gives soca 15 to 20 minutes. ever since clint o'neil passed, he started the show on 91.3 over 20 years ago, two dj's do the show: dutchess and an englishman whose name i cannot recall. i find that duchess plays more soca than the other dj

on your second question, it is difficut to say which station represents soca because all play a little soca here and there. at anyrate, if i were promoting a soca artist and his/her music in South Florida, i would talk to giselle. addition to being a dj, she and her posse are very involve in promoting soca fetes in the area. as a matter of fact, there was talk sometime ago about giving her a show on power 96, a english-spanish station which plays rap, hip hop, rnb, dancehall, reggaeton, and, evey now and then, a soca tune.

dang I remember that,that was when Rupee was now making it big and the pimp w/the limp was at madd house promoting him or bigging him up that was years ago fareal

but 96.1 only play on the weekends ...right?
Old 08-20-2007, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,551

Bless for the info
do any of this stations have website links or contacts
Old 08-20-2007, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAHTEE View Post
dang I remember that,that was when Rupee was now making it big and the pimp w/the limp was at madd house promoting him or bigging him up that was years ago fareal

but 96.1 only play on the weekends ...right?
correct. about two or three, they use to bust soca during the week also.
Old 08-20-2007, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bless for the info
do any of this stations have website links or contacts
power 96 probably has one. google power 96 and something might come up.
Old 08-21-2007, 04:50 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,042
power 96 probably has one. google power 96 and something might come up.
96.1 isnt 96mixx? i know they got a website 96mixx For the people by the people...
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”
Old 08-21-2007, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Influence View Post
96.1 isnt 96mixx? i know they got a website 96mixx For the people by the people...
yes, i think so.