Old 10-02-2008, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,643
Winin or Wukkin-up

I have heard this arguement before and would like to know Imix take on it don't know if it has been discuss here before. Also if there is another form let me know. I purposely left out the orginating names to these dances

Which one you prefer according to your dancing style and why.

For me it's wukkin up the winin is a little to slow for me. winnin is for the reggae music
Old 10-02-2008, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,986
Originally Posted by kitkat75 View Post
I have heard this arguement before and would like to know Imix take on it don't know if it has been discuss here before. Also if there is another form let me know. I purposely left out the orginating names to these dances

Which one you prefer according to your dancing style and why.

For me it's wukkin up the winin is a little to slow for me. winnin is for the reggae music
NONE!

I like the JUKKIN style.
Old 10-02-2008, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 11,864
LOL, yeah it was done before, a LLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGG thread.

Wuk Up ain't got to be fast, wukking up is like a accent, similar to wining just different enphasis on different parts of the movement and a different timing/rhythm to it. It also a bit more agreesive.

I personally wuk up most of the time. I actually prefer a nice slow wuk.

BTW jukking is intergral to wukking up.
Old 10-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Destra's Fan

Credits: 463
i want a video
Old 10-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
converse

Credits: 52,768
Originally Posted by Fizzo View Post
i want a video
lol...lol.. hahahah... right on ..right on
Old 10-03-2008, 08:55 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Fizzo View Post
i want a video
Come Barbados, give me a shout and I'll teach you. (That is assuming that your Avator is you. If you are a guy I'll get a girl to teach you.)
Old 10-03-2008, 09:47 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,779
My waistline tired each time iam at a fete....so wukkup!!! wining is when you wine wid a girl and it nice n slow n all dat good shyt!

i recall dis thread was done b4 and their was whole heap of havoc hahah, let the ball roll
Old 10-03-2008, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)

Well wining can be fast, wukkin can be slow. We slow wuk to old dub, but "sweet wine" to songs like nah going home.
Old 10-03-2008, 10:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 30,170
check out the st.kitts wukk up
[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSbwOb4FTss]YouTube - Grand Masters Band: Green Valley Parade Of Troupes clip 1[/ame]

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 10-03-2008, 12:21 PM   #10 (permalink)

Another question is there a difference between reggae winin and soca winin or wukk-up whereever u call. Reason I ask I was watchin JA carnival and the mas player look different winnin to soca than from those from the soca islands

::TORONTO-LIME.com:: / 360.... JA day 3 middle of the video
Old 10-03-2008, 12:37 PM   #11 (permalink)

Another question do u think that wukkin-up winin whatever is the most vulger dance out there or it is how people dance that make it vulger or not
Old 10-03-2008, 01:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by kitkat75 View Post
Another question do u think that wukkin-up winin whatever is the most vulger dance out there or it is how people dance that make it vulger or not
NO is not

but hold up hold up

you from barbados??

Old 10-03-2008, 01:10 PM   #13 (permalink)

You mean the St.Kitts Wine. Wuk Up, is Bajan only.
Old 10-03-2008, 01:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by warrior View Post
You mean the St.Kitts Wine. Wuk Up, is Bajan only.
dread barbados is not the only place around the caribbean use the word wuk up let me give u the list of islands around use the word wuk up

st.kitts

nevis

anguilla

virgin islands

st.maarten/st.martin

statia

saba

we never use the word wine yet

Old 10-03-2008, 04:52 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAM CREW productions View Post
NO is not

but hold up hold up

you from barbados??
yeah proud bajan but at a co-worker heard me and another bajan co-worker was talkin about wukkin-up and the girl asked what is wukkin-up and both or us said it's like winnin but the nastiest wine u could do and after thinking about it I was like we really made it sound like it was vulger and nasty and that wasn't what I meant but I just wanted to see if anyone else perceive it that way. just really gettin into the soca culture within the last two year as far as playing mas in cropover, just an observation.