Old 01-07-2009, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,164
Why is REGGAETON so much BIGGER then SOCA?

Why did Reggaeton got so international, while soca is soooo slow and small and ppl dont even know wha the frig it is outside Caribbean?!?!
"Soca? Whats that? Music? from Caribbean, ah, calypso music.."

I think there is a problem with the name, everybody know whats Calypso is the no person outside the scene or outside caribbean know what Soca is...

The JA (the reggae ppl) always say Calypso instead of soca in them tunes, like Collie Buddz mamacita tune (he not JA, but u get the idea)

Maybe its because of the two very diffrent tempos in soca, ragga/groovy soca vs uptempo soca...

Is soca to soft and happy and reggaeton hard and tuff with badman lyrics and shit, what white "cool" ppl like. (as they listen to gangsta hiphop & shyte)
If thats the case, just frek them off. Soca should stay as it is.

or is it just because there is so much more Latinos everywhere that take the reggaeton music on? West Indies ppl are more concentrated out side caribbean to US, CAN and UK.

What do you think?
http://www.socarevolution.com/
http://www.myspace.com/socase
http://caribbeanbacchanal.podomatic.com
http://soca.spreadshirt.net <<< Fresh Soca T-shirts and more!
Old 01-07-2009, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,612
Originally Posted by da.swedish.soca.bwoy View Post
Why did Reggaeton got so international, while soca is soooo slow and small and ppl dont even know wha the frig it is outside Caribbean?!?!

I think there is a problem with the name, everybody know whats Calypso is the no person outside the scene or outside caribbean know what Soca is...

The JA (the reggae ppl) always say Calypso instead of soca in them tunes, like Collie Buddz mamacita tune (he not JA, but u get the idea)

Maybe its because of the two very diffrent tempos in soca, ragga/groovy soca vs uptempo soca...

Is soca to soft and happy and reggaeton hard and tuff with badman lyrics and shit, what white "cool" ppl like. (as they listen to gangsta hiphop & shyte)
most reggaeton is in spanish. most ppl don't even understand the lyrics
or is it just because there is so much more Latinos everywhere that take the reggaeton music on? West Indies ppl are more concentrated out side caribbean to US, CAN and UK.

What do you think?
the fact that there r spanish ppl all over does help it alot especially in america. the fact that alot of caribbean ppl don't even like soca also hurts soca too and the similarities between reggaeton and hip hop and dance hall also help it.
Old 01-07-2009, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,269
well you are in Europe and reggaeton is clearly more popular over there than it is here in the United States, #1

#2, the tempo and bpm metronome of reggaeton is in the 80-100bpm range, rarely going outside of that, and for most music listeners, it's closer to the mainstream hip hop and r&b they hear on the radio and TV- that's the same reason why groovy soca (which many consider too "happy" a la Russell Peters) has more potential to crossover- it's what people are used to).

#2.5, now in the UK, because there is such a heavy house and drum n bass scene (I know this is 2009 I shouldn't even be talking about drum n bass, but, since the bpm and tempo of some of the UK music is consistent with soca- a jump up tune in London or Leeds or somewhere else in Europe or in those communities may crossover- I think the issue again goes back to most people considering it to "happy"- which is ignorant to me because honestly there's enough trouble in the world- the world needs more love and happiness bad!

#3, people love violence! clack clack bang bang gunshot, rah! bunch of bad mindedness I can't stand VIOLENCE and so that's why when the dembow craze dropped out of reggaeton or became stale, I stopped paying attention- I stay 100% soca or die- nothing but peace and unity over here

but I think soca will really make moves over the next few years- the dancehall that is coming out right now is piss poor, with no major mainstream artist in sight or no big riddims or hits (partly because when the whole scene went digital and the 45 business died- I knew it was only a matter of time before quality deteriorated)

so in conclusion- Harella is 100% right, soca is on the rise- I would say in the same way as Chris Blackwell pushed Bob Marley and that reggae culture to mainstream acceptance, there needs to be someone with $ and influence to push soca the same way- that is smart and understands how to introduce Carnival as a "concept" and an "experience" that can be appreciated as a citizen of any nation in the world like most soca junkies embrace it

that's my $0.02 anyway...

-SC
Old 01-07-2009, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
10-75 the box K

Credits: 6,055
Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
the fact that there r spanish ppl all over does help it alot especially in america. the fact that alot of caribbean ppl don't even like soca also hurts soca too and the similarities between reggaeton and hip hop and dance hall also help it.
Hits nail on the head!
Old 01-07-2009, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 16,546
Reggaeton is so much bigger than Soca for one reason. Spanish

You see that map. Thats Latin America. Now add probably about 40 million Latinos from the US only. Its very simple. Soca just cannot compete with the millions of Spanish speakers in the region. On top of it all the non spanish speakers that enjoy Reggaeton also. Its a wrap. Now in recent days I think Reggaeton has lost a lot of its hype. But its still the top club music in alot of those countries. I have hope for Soca though. We can do it dammit.
Old 01-07-2009, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,269
Originally Posted by tikreyol View Post
I have hope for Soca though. We can do it dammit.
quoted for truth
Old 01-07-2009, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 15,612
Reggaeton is so much bigger than Soca for one reason. Spanish

You see that map. Thats Latin America. Now add probably about 40 million Latinos from the US only. Its very simple. Soca just cannot compete with the millions of Spanish speakers in the region. On top of it all the non spanish speakers that enjoy Reggaeton also. Its a wrap. Now in recent days I think Reggaeton has lost a lot of its hype. But its still the top club music in alot of those countries. I have hope for Soca though. We can do it dammit.
if that's the case, how is dance hall competitive, if not better off than reggaeton?
Old 01-07-2009, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 11,863

What do you think?

That's pretty much it. The reggaeton thing in mainstream music was much like the indian thing, a fad.

No here is something interesting before Ricky Martin got his Grammy for best new artist, he was a millionary from singing latin music all over latin america.

Lesson: You don't have to go "mainstream" to make it big. You think soca could do the same regionally?
Old 01-07-2009, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 17,089
How big is reggaeton outside of the latin populations??
Old 01-07-2009, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
How big is reggaeton outside of the latin populations??
I have only heard of them having a fan base in Japan and some parts of Europe. Mostly places where Dancehall is big. Its pretty obvious that without the enormous latin population it probably wouldn't be that big.
Old 01-07-2009, 04:05 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 7,235

Collie Budd is from Bermuda, and he got that reggae and caypso rhyme from rihanna. and also he would have said Dance Hall and Soca if anything.

soca is influential in very covert ways however, the big horns, House music is derived from soca, ppl w. rags, etc. Plus people don't know what dancehall is either. They think of Reggae. Is reggaeton reall that big?? i never hear it and i live in miami (where u'd think it would be KING)

What do you think?
If it is as big as you say, then i think its because latin america is a continent and the caribbean is a sea.
Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience.
Old 01-07-2009, 04:57 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 20,803
reggaeton is more ORGANISED they have more videos produced and is not restricted to a SEASON!?

thanks 2 my homie, i learnt of this site and they are nuff videos...

CLICK HERE - for site example

ps: and thats jus one example but its a mix of various styles of music not all reggaeton, they got some dancehall .. but explore n e ways

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 01-07-2009, 05:02 PM   #13 (permalink)

oh i jus found this one too

CLICK HERE

Old 01-07-2009, 05:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
reggaeton is more ORGANISED they have more videos produced and is not restricted to a SEASON!?

thanks 2 my homie, i learnt of this site and they are nuff videos...

CLICK HERE - for site example

ps: and thats jus one example but its a mix of various styles of music not all reggaeton, they got some dancehall .. but explore n e ways

i love that website. Yea the Panamanians are straight west indian. Their Reggaeton has Dancehall and Kompa in it.
Old 01-07-2009, 05:29 PM   #15 (permalink)

i love that website. Yea the Panamanians are straight west indian. Their Reggaeton has Dancehall and Kompa in it.
is there one for the zouk or kompa ??? dat wud b interesting exploration