Old 03-06-2005, 01:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Custom User Title

Credits: 2,263
Some people make the motorcycles roaring, Car horns blaring, Walking up and Down Church Ave. as d Unofficial Jouvert Lime..

Usually High School kids roam about there
Old 03-06-2005, 02:06 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 3,815
Since deh move jouvert from Flatbush Avenue, it has never been the same. Jouvert sux, just a bunch of wild a$$ little hoodlums dat have no clue about what Jouvert is and just lookin for some free feel up and wine.

As far as the pan, that is what Jouvert is all about leave it just so.
Old 03-06-2005, 02:24 PM   #18 (permalink)

Credits: 8,543
jovert route

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting
Since deh move jouvert from Flatbush Avenue, it has never been the same. Jouvert sux, just a bunch of wild a$$ little hoodlums dat have no clue about what Jouvert is and just lookin for some free feel up and wine.

Actually the wild hoodlums are far away from jovert. They are on church ave off flatbush and on flatbush.
Jovert actaully has a route that starts on eastern parkway 9(i believe Frankly well thats the stop i get of the train on) and continues down easterparkway tuns down flatbush then turns down empire all the way to nostrand and then turns down church heading towards utica. The judging point is in front of Allans bakery and there are no hoodlums on the route cause they dont know about it. It is mud paint riddm pan and niceness Jovert has been real good the past few years. Let those that dont know about it stay on church.
Old 03-07-2005, 09:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
لمجرد أني جميلة

Credits: 50,657
The discussion is about Jouvert only but I personally didnt like NY much last year at all...

Give me Miami, even DC. NY too crowded, people not acting right, too much barricades and police on Monday...not my thing at all.
Old 03-07-2005, 09:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
De Hungry Man

Credits: 1,409
Jouvert in NY was OK but it was just soooo cooold this past year. Those who were not dressed properly froze. The temps were warm during the day but dropped at night.
Old 03-07-2005, 10:32 AM   #21 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,693
Originally Posted by currygyal
The discussion is about Jouvert only but I personally didnt like NY much last year at all...

Give me Miami, even DC. NY too crowded, people not acting right, too much barricades and police on Monday...not my thing at all.
ummm...none of those places even have J'ouvert...
Old 03-07-2005, 10:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 3,858
If you want to see what Jouvert is all about in New York you need to join people like me, Tallpree, Super P and the rest of the Grenadian in the jab-Jab band.
Old 03-07-2005, 10:42 AM   #23 (permalink)
trini by bloodnotrelation

Credits: 267

jouvert is about the pan fe sure, them big truck thing does only cause problems

"is iron u want iron"
Old 03-07-2005, 10:43 AM   #24 (permalink)

Credits: 2,705
Originally Posted by bebespice
If you want to see what Jouvert is all about in New York you need to join people like me, Tallpree, Super P and the rest of the Grenadian in the jab-Jab band.
the Grenadians r the worst and i luv it. i walking with an empty gallon jar nex year so when i pass thru their bands i can get free motor oil.

but curry is j'ouvert in miami and dc new???? only j'ouvert i heard of was in ny and boston. i think toronto had j'ouver a few years ago (or was dat a fete?) and montreal used to have j'ouvay as well. well kinda.....we walked in circles inside this placed arena. lol.

salty
Old 03-07-2005, 10:49 AM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 2,705
i've always had a blast brooklyn j'ouvert. if u just watchin it from the sidelines and not partaking in festivities, it mite not be as enjoyable. however, on the original topic, i think it's great the steel bands r dominant. nothin like hearin pan in the dark until the sun comes up.

salty
Old 03-07-2005, 08:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Dis Girl is POISON!

Credits: 459

SO FUNNY, MY BOY GETS SOO DRESSED UP, PRADA N TING, TO STAND OUT ON CHURCH N BEDFORD TALKIN BOUT HE GOIN JOUVERT... I TELL HIM DAT AIN JOUVERT... DAMN YANKEES..SO WAT IF I BORN HERE!?

WATS JOUVERT WIDOUT PAN...............TONIC.....
Old 03-08-2005, 12:03 AM   #27 (permalink)
joon-yah

Originally Posted by Indianute
if you are bored in at NY Jouvert just join the hatians and run around acting like an ass spoiling things for everyone else!
waiting for info as to how exactly haitians spoil things

Originally Posted by Queen1982
Oh, and what is up with Trini Jouvert???? The nation who created it all?!!! I think we Trinis need to keep within Tradition....back home and here in USA
since when did Trinidad create jouvay?
Old 03-08-2005, 12:05 AM   #28 (permalink)
joon-yah

Originally Posted by SweetPea
SO FUNNY, MY BOY GETS SOO DRESSED UP, PRADA N TING, TO STAND OUT ON CHURCH N BEDFORD TALKIN BOUT HE GOIN JOUVERT... I TELL HIM DAT AIN JOUVERT... DAMN YANKEES..SO WAT IF I BORN HERE!?

WATS JOUVERT WIDOUT PAN...............TONIC.....

lol . . . when cultures come together, the results are sometimes interesting, to say the least.