Credits: 30
why jouvert in new york boring to me
i dont know about how people feel about this, but jouvert in new york have nothing but steelbands, i would really like to see 1 or 2 brassbands at the the end of new york jouvert just to get me in the mood for the parkway, what people think about this idea?.
Credits: 8,553
I think beacuse the trucks and music and thing are so expensive peope ddecide to wait for labor day. You wouldn't belive how much they does charge and besides the road they travel does be to short to spend that kinda money. They does have some good fetes that night thought so that is my jouvert in a fete.
The carnival on my mind,on my mind, on my mind, on my head. Ohh o o o ohho o o o ohho o o o oh , Carnival, carnival, carnival. Last edited by pebblesjt; 03-05-2005 at 10:18 AM.. |
Unregistered User
Credits: 633
look meh!
Credits: 1,119
Credits: 236
riddim
I would love to hear a real real nice riddim section comin down for j'ouvert
RasGunta
Credits: 1,148
I agree 100% it's best to keep jouvert the way it is which is the traditional way. Trinidad jouvert is now cmmercial whith too many big trucks and pretty mas. Brass bands at jouvert will just ruin it. |
Trini to the Soul
Credits: 122
are you talking about the parade of bands on Carnival Monday? J'ouvert is just those wee hours of Carnival Monday not so? I think J'ouvert in Trinidad is very well preserved.btw Carnival has been commercial for quite some time. |
look meh!
Credits: 1,119
Credits: 6,459
i find
The jovert in Ny is the best thing going
It has made a strong comeback the past three years especially. |
Credits: 30
i respect the answer about the cost of trucks on the parkway for a few hours, you right about that. that dont make no sense. but all i am asking for is for at the end of the parade after the steelband past if we can get one dj truck playing the hits something like natural freaks or back to basics truck at the end of the jouvert, i dont mean a bunch of brass band mixed in with the steelbands.
Credits: 24
Hi Chingy
Just wanted to say, that Jouvert should be kept traditional...steelband, cow bells, a nice rhythm section, mud mass, pagwa......you know the works....To be honest brass bands and big trucks just doesnt fit the true ideal of what Jouvert is......Old Mas is tradition, and to honor our ancestors we should stay within its tradition...
I am not knocking Big Trucks, but to tell you the truth, Jouvert is better than the parkway to me! :) Oh, and what is up with Trini Jouvert???? The nation who created it all?!!! I think we Trinis need to keep within Tradition....back home and here in USA |
Credits: 393
are u mad lol
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,334
That is not Jouvert, Those are just Morons shooting each other on a crowded street.. Jouvert Actually Takes place Starting on Empire blvd. and Bedford Ave. going up Bedford , Making a left onto Eastern Parkway..Then Making a Left onto Flatbush Ave..By the Museum.. You would know you are on the right track seeing Pan, Riddim Section, All type of Costumed Participants roaming the Streets.. |

are you talking about the parade of bands on Carnival Monday?
Carnival has been commercial for quite some time.