Old 09-29-2007, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 153,608
why do you think flames music isn't that big in the southern island's any more?

i don't know bout the other's but i know st.lucia dey ole music alone get's bligh. the new stuff people don't listen to or play.
Old 09-29-2007, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 35,008
u mean burnin flames?

well, dem was never big in barbados. i hardly heard their music on the radio.
Old 09-29-2007, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)

burning flames and red hot flames.
Old 09-30-2007, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 15,567
Coz there music isn't as good as it was let's say 10 years ago. I can't think of any recent flames (w/ the exception of Papi and that is only in Antigua and maybe St. Kitts and Montserrat) that would go down as an all time classic.
Old 09-30-2007, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
Coz there music isn't as good as it was let's say 10 years ago. I can't think of any recent flames (w/ the exception of Papi and that is only in Antigua and maybe St. Kitts and Montserrat) that would go down as an all time classic.
papi i doh know how da win a road march.
Old 09-30-2007, 01:22 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 15,567
Originally Posted by Insane Lucian View Post
papi i doh know how da win a road march.
well that was an antiguan thing (altho, there were alot of ppl who thought the song was pure crap). the horns are what got evere1.

Last edited by direct_effect; 09-30-2007 at 01:26 AM..
Old 09-30-2007, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)

well that was an antiguan thing (altho, there were alot of ppl who thought the song was pure crap). the horns are what got evere1.
i guess
Old 09-30-2007, 01:39 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,874
It probably doesn't help having a lot of summer carnivals so close together either. Vincy, then St. Lucia, then Bim (same time as Antigua) and Grenada. Once the seasons are done, I'm not sure how hard Flames pushes their music to get played in those islands (or any others where the riddim box isn't as big an element in their own soca).
Old 09-30-2007, 04:08 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 684
I don't agree. I think for the older generations or people who are mainly into older Flames, the music isn't as good. But Flames have come out pretty solid in the last few years. The song "Live CD" is a classic. "Quad" came out last year and it was big, I'd call it a classic for sure. "Strings" is a classic to me too. "Papi" seems to me like it will be a classic song too. "Green Bush" too.

Plus, there are lot of older Flames that I don't find people in the south know about bu would be classics. All I hear about from trinis, lucians, etc.. when it comes to Flames is Workey, Pong and Chant and Swinging Engine. What about songs like Stampede, Hurricane Ah come, Tout Moun Dance, Island Girl, Chook and Dig, Iron Band, Bush Dancer ?

From the way it sounds to me, some southern islands have never really been into Flames that much, it's just that, ocassionally one or two songs get thru.
Old 09-30-2007, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
I don't agree. I think for the older generations or people who are mainly into older Flames, the music isn't as good. But Flames have come out pretty solid in the last few years. The song "Live CD" is a classic. "Quad" came out last year and it was big, I'd call it a classic for sure. "Strings" is a classic to me too. "Papi" seems to me like it will be a classic song too. "Green Bush" too.

Plus, there are lot of older Flames that I don't find people in the south know about bu would be classics. All I hear about from trinis, lucians, etc.. when it comes to Flames is Workey, Pong and Chant and Swinging Engine. What about songs like Stampede, Hurricane Ah come, Tout Moun Dance, Island Girl, Chook and Dig, Iron Band, Bush Dancer ?

From the way it sounds to me, some southern islands have never really been into Flames that much, it's just that, ocassionally one or two songs get thru.
thing's like papi is classic in antigua not in the region. i love tout moun dance',piece ah iron,iron band was ok. dey have some i like but now i eh really feeling dey music. flames popular but it's not any more down swouth.
Old 09-30-2007, 10:36 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 4,246
Originally Posted by Insane Lucian View Post
i don't know bout the other's but i know st.lucia dey ole music alone get's bligh. the new stuff people don't listen to or play.
Antigua is a part of the Southern Caribbean. The creativity of Flames died sometime ago, the creativity they had that made the older songs work and kept them in your head after you heard them don't exist anymore.
Old 09-30-2007, 11:16 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
Antigua is a part of the Southern Caribbean. The creativity of Flames died sometime ago, the creativity they had that made the older songs work and kept them in your head after you heard them don't exist anymore.
when i say south i mean st.lucia and down like most people on here would think.
Old 09-30-2007, 11:20 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 9,864
Originally Posted by what most trinis say
"because they don't come to trinidad no more and we run the route!!!!"
*easy..relax...i don't actually believe that, but that's what 'they' say
Old 09-30-2007, 11:24 AM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
*easy..relax...i don't actually believe that, but that's what 'they' say
what does a tune or some body music being big in another island have to do with trinidad?
Old 09-30-2007, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 2,470
One thing is certain their approach to music has changed.

Last edited by BFFan; 09-30-2007 at 04:19 PM..