Credits: 17,090
Why This Cya Be Considered Another Soca Sub-genre
Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track 2005
Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track 2006 Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track 2007 Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track 2008 Many many more examples the biggest of which is Destra's "its carnival". Patrice and Machel just came out with a nice one but the same formula. The music is infectious but there is definitely a formula here. But isn't that the case with all the sub-genre in Soca. Why can't this be the emergence of another sub-genre of soca music. Last edited by dedetriniking; 01-23-2008 at 12:16 AM.. |
Here is the thread featuring the newly released song with Patrice and Machel
Roll- MAchel ft. patrice & oil and music-Machel & David Rudder Once again the formula is the same. The biggest difference is in the melody of each...shouldn't that be enough to distinguish each song from the next. Why can't this just be considered another sub-genre and free your mind so that you can allow yourself to enjoy them music. |
Destra started it with this:
Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track followed the following year by Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track all the way up to today with songs like Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track again very slight changes in the riddim..the real distinguishing feature in these songs is the melody but the formula is the same. Another sub-genre? Why not? |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,276
Me no likey.... (the Patrice and Machel)
It just sounds too much like....well all those songs you listed.... I really think 2K8 is the year that roadmarch will really be a competition....its not going to be a given that the big names gonna take it this year which is a good thing. As far as a sub genre what would you call it??? Last edited by Rinababy; 01-23-2008 at 12:35 AM.. |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
How about powersoca? Its got that real fast pace.... does that genre already exist? but on another tip that style your talking about seem to be Kernal specials, not too many other producers making that sound. Maybe we can chalk it up to just being his "signature sound". |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
look how much success he's had! it makes sense that others will emulate and jump on that band wagon. That is def. Kernal Robert's sound i dont care who else produces it or sings over the track. Kernal brought that sound to the popularity it currenly has. |
Agreed!! Ah like yuh Power Soca suggestion as well.
Credits: 140,979
**WONDERING if to HELP them out before they DROWN themselves**
What song aryo THINK that KERNEL PRODUCED that led to the STATEMENT it STARTED with him?? I thought KERNEL'S main TALENT/GIFT is as a WRITER? |
Credits: 153,685
in soca Monarch the faster songs are called power soca. dais why dey have groovy and power soca monarch.
Credits: 153,685
but i think he is a producer not sure.
http://stlucianow.com/ Last edited by Dr Insane; 01-23-2008 at 01:47 AM.. |
Credits: 140,979
Next thing you know, yuh go hear dem sey ah DEM whey call it so. Ah LUCKY tink de EVIDENCE dey right in de ARCHIVES of ISLANDMIX.COM. |
Credits: 2,478
It"s Carnival may have began a trend in Trinidad but wasn't there songs that were similar that before? Songs like Tremble It, Choo Choo, (even Energy from Tonik band from Antigua). It's Carnival had a catchy hook which made it popular. It also incorporated harmonic vocals and electronic guitar...thats nothing new for uptempo music.