Old 12-27-2003, 02:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 179
Whos better Onika or Fayanne?

I say Onika because her melody and most importantly lyrics are more powerful than Fayanne. Onika's success is also credited to Oungku from Flames. Fayanne is succesful too, winning roadmarch last year and placing in the monarch. But Despite Display she most really work on her lyrics, is it just me cause all Im hearing is nursery ryhmes from her. I think she a better peerformer than actual singer! What yall think?
Old 12-27-2003, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Bring yuh Backside

Credits: 180
Re: Whos better Onika or Fayanne?

Originally posted by harizon
I say Onika because her melody and most importantly lyrics are more powerful than Fayanne. Onika's success is also credited to Oungku from Flames. Fayanne is succesful too, winning roadmarch last year and placing in the monarch. But Despite Display she most really work on her lyrics, is it just me cause all Im hearing is nursery ryhmes from her. I think she a better peerformer than actual singer! What yall think?

Nah! I choose Fayanne. She is by far a better performer than Onika and I also find her lyrics to be good and her new songs prove it. When I hear Lose Your Way ah makin sure ah doh forget tuh pray. :angel1
Old 12-27-2003, 02:34 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 179
Re: Re: Whos better Onika or Fayanne?

Originally posted by Sookie
Nah! I choose Fayanne. She is by far a better performer than Onika and I also find her lyrics to be good and her new songs prove it. When I hear Lose Your Way ah makin sure ah doh forget tuh pray. :angel1
Ohh yes Onika not touching Fayanne when it comes to performaning. But lyricly Onika is more talented. " Jump up"? "wave"? is too typical and weak for me! Onika's lyrics are even better than most male artist. Maybe that has to do with Oungku's help.
Old 12-27-2003, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,211
fayanne

fayanne got with easy. Onika dont write none of her music so if we going of that fayanne take it easy. And she run thing on stage
Old 12-27-2003, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 91
STEUPS

FAYANNE BOY!!!! FREEDOM
Old 12-27-2003, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

fayann is soooo overrated... cyan even name five good songs by de gyal and all of a sudden she is de best thing since sliced bread
Old 12-27-2003, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

oh but to answer the question Fayann.. onika overrated too
Old 12-27-2003, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 91
Originally posted by MrBlackRock
fayann is soooo overrated... cyan even name five good songs by de gyal and all of a sudden she is de best thing since sliced bread

1. my turn now

2. Display

3. focus

4. lose your way( trample)

5. Freedom

hell yeah she the best ting, she now came out couple year now and has been mashing up ever scince. aprox scince 2001 she reach on the scene within a year or two won roadmarch, come on bossman give credit where is due....... she's a bossssssss.
Old 12-27-2003, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by D socarat
1. my turn now

2. Display

3. focus

4. lose your way( trample)

5. Freedom

hell yeah she the best ting, she now came out couple year now and has been mashing up ever scince. aprox scince 2001 she reach on the scene within a year or two won roadmarch, come on bossman give credit where is due....... she's a bossssssss.
she is good. i took her over onika right?.. good.. but to some people she not even the best vocalist in her own band,,, she has splendid tunes but her performance leaves a ton to be desired.. too quiet on stage when invasion performs
Old 12-27-2003, 04:36 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 238
Faye-Ann is a good singer and she has some really explosive tunes out but her stage performace i am sorry to say is not all that the few times that i have seen her live the woman did not sound good i take that back she did sound good only when she sang Display all the other time she spent more time pulling up her pants than focusing on the audience and feeling what she is singing.

and yes i do know that she has been around for a while and i do know that she has accomplish a great deal within the few years but within in time i am sure that she will learn to take more of a command on stage because the Invasion band is known in some way for their high energy performance on stage espically IWER.

as for Onika i am yet to see her perform live.
but Onika in her own right is a wonderful and talented singer she has had plenty of tunes that done and mash things in and about

but all in all i think that both of these woman have worked very hard to be where they are today and i am sure that there is much more that is yet for them to learn but so far i must say that both Onika and Faye-ann have done a great job with the music and with their careers. And i just wish them both continued success in all they have yet to accomplish.

Last edited by Chandra; 12-27-2003 at 05:57 PM..
Old 12-27-2003, 05:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Solidarity

Thumbs up Two Talented Trinis

i'm all smiles because of this thread!

i think these are two gifted young women and if they keep the love for the artform and continue to improve like they have over the years, there is no limit to how successful they will become.

i don't think there is that much that separates the two and just like how ratty was able to name 5 Fayanne tunes i could name about 5-7 Onika tunes that in my opinion are also very good. i think Fayanne's tunes stand out more because she is such an integral part of what Invasion has done over the last few years. Flames, on the other hand, has been around much longer than Onika and some of their current hits have seen Onika share the lead vocals and/or play more of a background role. That the two of them are beautiful and sexy is without question!

They both have rich, melodic voices that just makes for great listening. They are also similar in that their command of the stage could use some work. However, i do recall Fayanne doing a great job in that regard at this year's socarama at floyd bennett field. i also believe that Onika was poised to deliver a knockout performance at this year's brassfest in Brooklyn and were it not for the silly security/promotional guidelines which prevented us from being close to the stage, a very good performance could have been great. In terms of lyrics, i tend to give the nod to artists who write their own material so if Fayanne is indeed writing her own stuff and Onika isn't then the edge would go to Fayanne.

That said (and despite ratty's obvious "Blue-family" bias :p), Onika possesses an intangible quality that makes her my choice. i'm not quite sure what it is and it may simply be a personal preference but for me, Ms. Bostic got "it" and got it good.

Last edited by Solidarity; 12-27-2003 at 06:18 PM..
Old 12-27-2003, 08:54 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 140

Both of these women have beautiful voices.

Old 12-28-2003, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 6,453
Leh we mash it up

I love Onika but have to go wit Fayanne on this one. I only wish she would take more controll on stage she is more in the backgroud when I think she should be more in controll, but she is still new and has a promising future in the business.
Old 12-28-2003, 07:26 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 2,389
i pick destra
Old 12-28-2003, 07:30 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 238
Originally posted by deoriginalrudeboy
i pick destra