Old 11-18-2005, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Who Is Better Than Krofyah?

it is my opinion that as a total catalogue, krosfyah has produced better songs than any other soca band. if you agree or not let me know.
Old 11-18-2005, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,976
Originally Posted by jahluv3000
it is my opinion that as a total catalogue, krosfyah has produced better songs than any other soca band. if you agree or not let me know.
TOUCH out of St. Vincent and the Grenadines has a FABULOUS CATALOG of songs that will MATCH and surpassed 90% of the KNOWN soca bands in the Caribbean.

But as for the so-called KNOWN bands, Krosfyah has the BETTER and more LASTING music.

But Krosfyah's STANDARD has been DROPPING for the past 3 years.

I cannot REMEMBER a song, since SAK PASSE, that has been a HUGE HIT for Krosfyah.
Old 11-18-2005, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Money fi spend

Credits: 16,856
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
TOUCH out of St. Vincent and the Grenadines has a FABULOUS CATALOG of songs that will MATCH and surpassed 90% of the KNOWN soca bands in the Caribbean.

But as for the so-called KNOWN bands, Krosfyah has the BETTER and more LASTING music.

I cannot REMEMBER a song, since SAK PASSE, that has been a HUGE HIT for Krosfyah.

Sak passe

the road is mines the road is mines
Old 11-18-2005, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 5,169
Originally Posted by jahluv3000
So far I would have to agree much less I wanted to ste de same ting at one point... krosfyah produced de most hits throughout de caribbean and de states, canada, uk, etc.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,914
I think they are the most consistent band, hands down. While their music may not be as popular as before, I feel their cd's still surpass other bands as a whole. Personally I think they push the wrong music. Some of the mid tempo/slower tunes I think have better potential than some of the faster ones. This year's Head Gone was a nice song, but they concentrated on Yardie Graduate. Tony Bailey's Sweetest Thing is a very nice song, but people have a tendency to only pay attention to Edwin's songs. While Edwin always has some nice music, as a band, both Khiomal & Tony Bailey have a lot of talent that often gets overlooked. Check last year's Bend Ova Gyal, Can I Hold You Tonight, or even Edwin's Holes. A lot of people only listened to Sugar Cane.

Anyhow, I still love them as a band, but as with most bands that have a strong lead singer, the rest of the talent is over looked. Take Sean Caruth. Great music, but overshadowed by Machel then Shurwayne.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,477
Let me do this diplomatically as I can and

you know I was coming to respond to this.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. Everybody has their own taste in music. Of all the soca bands I have been listening to for the past 24 years nobody could surpass the LEGENDARY BURNING FLAMES especially in terms of variety of soca and eastern caribbean music, genres and pure musical talent. Certain aspects may be debatable in terms of who had hits where or number of hits where.

As I see it, it may be debatable with Krosfyah and Burning Flames with slow tempo soca ..many will say Krosfyah had more hits and maybe more hits overall from that aspect. I think its just debatable on that level.

Lyrically Krosfyah is better.

Singing, it depends. When Flames had Onyan and Oungku they were better but when Onyan left Krosfyah is better.

But in uptempo music, variety of music , creativity and musical talent...its not even close...Flames all the way.
Old 11-18-2005, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 385
xtatik 1st

krosfyha n burning flames 2nd n 3rd, but burning flames still mekin sweet tunes, i dunt relle hear nothin much from krosyha like how dey back in da days songs were
Old 11-18-2005, 10:50 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Okay Maybe The Flames

well i have to apologize. i still think krosfyah is the best of all time, but i would have to agree that burning flames has a sound the no other band can match. if i had to argue for second place it would definitely be the flames
Old 11-21-2005, 11:55 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,263
Originally Posted by Rummy
I think they are the most consistent band, hands down. While their music may not be as popular as before, I feel their cd's still surpass other bands as a whole. Personally I think they push the wrong music. Some of the mid tempo/slower tunes I think have better potential than some of the faster ones. This year's Head Gone was a nice song, but they concentrated on Yardie Graduate. Tony Bailey's Sweetest Thing is a very nice song, but people have a tendency to only pay attention to Edwin's songs. While Edwin always has some nice music, as a band, both Khiomal & Tony Bailey have a lot of talent that often gets overlooked. Check last year's Bend Ova Gyal, Can I Hold You Tonight, or even Edwin's Holes. A lot of people only listened to Sugar Cane.

Anyhow, I still love them as a band, but as with most bands that have a strong lead singer, the rest of the talent is over looked. Take Sean Caruth. Great music, but overshadowed by Machel then Shurwayne.
Rummy I totally totally agree with you, I also think headgone is the tune to be pushed, and you're soooooooooooooooooooooo right about Tony and Khio being over-looked, and God knows them does have some sweet tunes. Holes was another tune that was real sweet, and I cant say I ever heard it anywhere else besides the cd. It aint got nuttin in this post that I disagree with girlie, you pon point with this one.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,730
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA

stupessssss
Old 11-21-2005, 12:00 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 10,003
Nobody!
Old 11-21-2005, 12:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 442

Very good post. Very good point.
Old 11-21-2005, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 702

How I know you was gonna come with something like this?
Old 11-21-2005, 12:58 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BFFan
you know I was coming to respond to this.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. Everybody has their own taste in music. Of all the soca bands I have been listening to for the past 24 years nobody could surpass the LEGENDARY BURNING FLAMES especially in terms of variety of soca and eastern caribbean music, genres and pure musical talent. Certain aspects may be debatable in terms of who had hits where or number of hits where.

As I see it, it may be debatable with Krosfyah and Burning Flames with slow tempo soca ..many will say Krosfyah had more hits and maybe more hits overall from that aspect. I think its just debatable on that level.

Lyrically Krosfyah is better.

Singing, it depends. When Flames had Onyan and Oungku they were better but when Onyan left Krosfyah is better.

But in uptempo music, variety of music , creativity and musical talent...its not even close...Flames all the way.
How I know you was gonna come with something like this?
Old 11-21-2005, 01:01 PM   #15 (permalink)

My sentimental favorite is Xtatik...but if I had to be totally objective, I really would have to push Krosfyah.

Oh how the mighty has fallen...poor Square One ent getting luv no more? Ahh fuh de good ole days....