When would you say a Soca artist is big?
I ask this question because I am totally lost by what some people think is big. Are these artist judge by how much fans they have, record sales, or radio play? Most Soca artist is only popular in the Island where they came from, and is struggling to sell 500 CD'S(that is even to much to talk about) so tell me what make them big.
JA Soca Ambassador
Winning a few major titles, and of course other island's DJs playing it. |
I would say when you are getting air play in all the soca islands constantly.
Now here is a problem, people like Lyttle and Rupee are bigger outside the soca world than in largely because the sing Soca Lite (nothing wrong with that). So where do you place them? |
President Barack Obama!!!
perhaps if they go to big fetes to perform in NY, Canada, UK, Fl and most attendees know them
`` `` `` `` Oh my gosh. Praise God. This is a beautiful day. Congratulations to the Honorable 44th President of the United States of America, Barack Hussein Obama. You are magnificent. Yes we can!!! Yes, the Journey now start. My ancestors, America's ancestors... thank you for what you did to help make this day a reality. Congrats to all the supporters worldwide whether by heart or by actions. I saw this momentous occasion happen and I feel good! |
Kevin Lyttle
It is because of its POPULARITY in the Caribbean that Kevin Lyttle was able to TRAVEL/PERFORM throughout the Caribbean and NORTH AMERICA performing this song without EVER being SIGNED to any MAINSTREAM label. How is it POSSIBLE for a TOTALLY UNKNOWN artist to perform throughout the Caribbean and North America if his song wasn’t POPULAR within the Caribbean and the Caribbean communities throughout the DIASPORA? Come on bro, use that BIMSHIRE BRAIN of yours and stop fall for the HE say, she say NONSENSE/COMMESS. |
Yes, turn me on was a Monster of a tune, never said not. The question is has he consistently had Monster big tunes? Lyttle is big (that songs funny doesn't it), but more so as a cross over artist than a soca artist. He is bigger outside of the home of soca (and I mean Caribbean not Trinidad) than he is in the Caribbean. No, here is an interesting question. Lets say Shotelle gets big like Rhianna, and I don't just mean mainstream but huge like Ri Ri is and she puts out 2 soca songs a year for Crop Over. The songs are decent in Bim and do ok in the rest of the Caribbean but do nothing outside of that wiould she be a big soca artist? |
I agree about Kevin Lyttle, not about Rupee tho. I mean outside the soca world he only really has Tempted To Touch. But he has a ton of hits within the soca world, alot more than he has outside.
Because of the nature of soca, I consider them big if they are big where they come from.
Kevin tune is big, but he is not a big soca artist. hes not in big demand amongst the big soca fetes, i dont hear his music play that much on most of the caribbean stations. i dont even see him on tempo (although i think tempo is lame). |
Just got an Imix PHD
Location: Dominican Republic and puerto rico.. dem gyal sweet
nah nah got to disagree.
Where Can I Find Soca Riddims???? HELP ME PLZ
MARK CYRUS' MASTERROOM STUDIO: Ragga Ragga Soca III (2008)