Old 05-27-2005, 02:54 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,391
When listening to soca.

Do you find yourself upset when the dj on the radio only talking through half the song?

One thing I hate about Philly's soca scene, no offense to reggae lovers, but our main source of a caribbean station(which i gave up on 3 years now) plays reggae all day sat, 45 mins of soca in the morning, 30 mins of soca in the afternoon. During the last session the dj only talks, and he must announce caribbean news cutting the soca set short. he plays about 10 tunes n finish, then they wanna talk about caribbean unity.
whyyyyyyyy u can't announce all u have to announce and the caribbean news during reggae segments, why do you only play 1hr. 1/2 of soca, i think it's an embarassment. if it's caribbean unity, why can't soca get equal airplay?

and then when i hearing a good song, and i'm singing along, the dj either start talking tata, or change chune.
Old 05-27-2005, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 312
Same ting in fl, i mean comming from ny where we had like 2 or three soca stations and then wlib which plays a mix of soca n reggae, compared to fl where we have caribbean stations that shut off when u go unda a bridge, and also plays majority reggae. Love my reggae doh get me wrong, but like maximus say "Me and the youth who love the reggae
And ah singing it night and day
But the people in the country
Doh wah meh to (x2)
Dey say we ain't no Jamaican
You in the land of Kaiso and Pan
Sing the music of yuh nation
I tellin yuh (x2)
Dey want to wine, dey want to grind
Woman in front and man behind
If I not doing that, then I wastin' time
So I tell them..."
[/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE]