Old 08-28-2008, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)

When Bajan Soca was great

We didn't care about carnival, we were making music for Crop Over, for Bajans.

We didn't sing about Chipping or about "carnival". We mad music for Bim. It annoys me when Jabeah sings "Nothing sweeter than Carnival" and when Bajan's sing about Chipping on kadooment day.

Do you think there is a connection?
Old 08-28-2008, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

isn't carnival apart of your culture? why would songs about carnival annoy u?
Old 08-28-2008, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)

I ain't Bajan but I don't think Bajan soca is that bad right now. A lot of the groovy songs that came out this year I like. If anything, BIM needs more solid uptempos this year.

However, I get what you mean about some of the content in some songs. Chances are, an artist like Jabae is not singing a song about Carnival because he's trying to reach Bajans alone. He probably wants that song in TnT for 2k9.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Half man - Half beast

Originally Posted by warrior View Post
We didn't care about carnival, we were making music for Crop Over, for Bajans.

We didn't sing about Chipping or about "carnival". We mad music for Bim. It annoys me when Jabeah sings "Nothing sweeter than Carnival" and when Bajan's sing about Chipping on kadooment day.

Do you think there is a connection?
Machel Invasion.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
Machel Invasion.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

i always loved bajan soca from past to present!! wunna music does make pelt waist, spin pooch and wuk up bad!!!
Old 08-28-2008, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms. QT CuTe View Post
isn't carnival apart of your culture? why would songs about carnival annoy u?
We have Crop Over, and we don't call it "carnival". Imagine if someone from you country put out a song during your carnival with lyrics like "...wunna does wuk up..."

I have no problem with Machel(and friends) in Bim actually I think some of their songs are more Bajan than some local one. Granted they ARE produced by a Bajan but their Ragga Socas have that driving Bajan "slow wuk" feel while a lot of the ragga socas like Sun Till Sun have "sweet wine"/chipping feel.

Don't get me wrong, a sweet wine is nice, but come Kadooment day we want to Wuk Up and get on bad.
Old 08-28-2008, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

We have Crop Over, and we don't call it "carnival". Imagine if someone from you country put out a song during your carnival with lyrics like "...wunna does wuk up..."

I have no problem with Machel(and friends) in Bim actually I think some of their songs are more Bajan than some local one. Granted they ARE produced by a Bajan but their Ragga Socas have that driving Bajan "slow wuk" feel while a lot of the ragga socas like Sun Till Sun have "sweet wine"/chipping feel.

Don't get me wrong, a sweet wine is nice, but come Kadooment day we want to Wuk Up and get on bad.
yea, i see what u mean.
Old 08-28-2008, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

i understand ya babes...doh worry next year nothing but wuk up and get on bad chunes for d road!! i will be there for wunna crop over and ah gine come 2 spin pooch not to whine or chip!!!
Old 08-28-2008, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)

I have no problem with Machel(and friends) in Bim actually I think some of their songs are more Bajan than some local one.Granted they ARE produced by a Bajan but their Ragga Socas have that driving Bajan "slow wuk" feel while a lot of the ragga socas like Sun Till Sun have "sweet wine"/chipping feel.

And you know what, I like that. To me, this is caribbean unity in soca. When you from Trinidad but can go to Barbados and sing a Bajan styled song for their Cropover, that to me shows respect for the next person's culture.

However, I totally understand the way you feel about the Bajan "wine for carnival" type songs being released for Cropover. If you Bajan and you want to release those type of songs for TnT Carnival to get your name out in that island, it makes sense to me. But if you singing for Cropover and you singing about "wine for carnival" when Bajans "wuk up for cropover", I don't see the sense.
Old 08-28-2008, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)

I hear dat...bajans def wanna wuk up and wild out....shit i do for sure...but its all soca...some wine n some wuk up...a difference to me lol
Old 08-28-2008, 05:28 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
Machel Invasion.
u mean VINCY invasion cause contone, pong and all the so called bajan soca artistes have been influenced by vincy soca and bring that garbage sound to bajan shores.
Old 08-28-2008, 05:35 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
I ain't Bajan but I don't think Bajan soca is that bad right now. A lot of the groovy songs that came out this year I like. If anything, BIM needs more solid uptempos this year.

However, I get what you mean about some of the content in some songs. Chances are, an artist like Jabae is not singing a song about Carnival because he's trying to reach Bajans alone. He probably wants that song in TnT for 2k9.
u leave jabae alone,that band is the future of bajan soca bands. the band is highly UNDERATED.
Old 08-28-2008, 06:00 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
u mean VINCY invasion cause contone, pong and all the so called bajan soca artistes have been influenced by vincy soca and bring that garbage sound to bajan shores.
u still bashing pong and contone. two artists who are trying to make uh living and u tearing dem down. gine de bruddas uh chance, uh begging yuh.
Old 08-29-2008, 09:10 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
u leave jabae alone,that band is the future of bajan soca bands. the band is highly UNDERATED.
You mean highly OVERRATED. How you could be a current band "headline" at 2 different fetes and the song that they play in the ads is one you put out in 2006!!! You mean to tell me you:
1. You only got one big tune?
2. You an put out anything worthwhile this year?

Jabae got a long, long way to go. But them is Bajan (sort of) so I wish then the best.