Old 08-09-2005, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 59
What was your first impression of Alex Jordan’s first show on 1XTRA?

Well, if I were to give this first show a title, I would call it “The Bajan Vincy Show”. Bajan this Bajan that Vincy this Vincy that blah blah blah! But the one thing that puzzled me was that I couldn’t figure out whether she was Bajan or Bajan. I think playing of Bunji’s song Kingdom of Heaven made the 2 hour some what palatable.

Those are mine, what are your thoughts?
Old 08-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,791
Originally Posted by skbeeU
Well, if I were to give this first show a title, I would call it “The Bajan Vincy Show”. Bajan this Bajan that Vincy this Vincy that blah blah blah! But the one thing that puzzled me was that I couldn’t figure out whether she was Bajan or Bajan. I think playing of Bunji’s song Kingdom of Heaven made the 2 hour some what palatable.

I was WONDERING when someone was going to CREATE this THREAD.

I thought VASSELL would have been the one.

Anyhow, she is off to a FANTASTIC start.

The WOMAN just PLAYING the CHUNES that are VERY HOT right now....well, the VINCY chunes that is.

Remember, it is a UK show, so maybe those are the CHUNES that are CURRENTLY hot in the UK.
Old 08-09-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
cyan.mis.d.festival.again

Credits: 415
Originally Posted by skbeeU

dang girl, that's harsh. so you couldn't stomach the rest of it? ouch! i noticed that she favoured those two islands...but i thought it was a good thing for the time of year. vincy music is just starting to get into all the dj's hands. and she's bajan, cropover just done...i'd have problems if she didn't rinse those tunes.

yes, antigua just done...i'm sure she'll play those as she gets them. grenada just wrapped up today...i'm guessing same deal.

come december i bet my bottom dollar T&T will rule the airwaves.

curious why you thought the show was so bad...? she played the Lava Slide...two of the 4 artists in her mix were Trini.
Old 08-09-2005, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)

no one complains when they bussing bear trini songs, jeeze.

i haven't listening to that show in ages. if i didn't check poisonuk i'd never have known (til vassal posted) that slic was leaving
Old 08-10-2005, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink skeebu

who tunes she was playin? she is bajan. something wrong? so she should be playin de bajan tunes, is she doin that? if she isnt then she want firin, i would have to chat with she boss. let me know before i mek a move.
Old 08-10-2005, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bajandobad84
who tunes she was playin? she is bajan. something wrong? so she should be playin de bajan tunes, is she doin that? if she isnt then she want firin, i would have to chat with she boss. let me know before i mek a move.
Sometimes I WONDER if you DIGEST some of the COMMENTS that you made prior to hitting the SUBMIT REPLY button??

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-10-2005 at 11:36 AM..
Old 08-10-2005, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,663
B’'dos Crop Over 2005 – Road March & Party Monarch**

Nathalee Burke (B’dos) ft. Shontelle Lain (B’dos) | Colours | (CDR)

Machel Montano (T&T) ft. Black Stalin (T&T), Fresh Life (T&T) & Farmer Nappy (T&T) | Love Fire Instrumental) | (Xtatik)

Jamesy P (SVG)| Nookie |(Ministry Of Sound)

Jamesy P (SVG) |Nookie (Instrumental) -(Ministry Of Sound)

Alison Hinds (B’dos)|Roll it |(CDR)

KMC (T&T) & Beenie Man (Jamaica) | Soul On Fire (Remix) | (Ultra)

Machel Montano & Xtatik | Madder Than Dat (Instrumental) | (Xtatik)

Destra (T&T) | We Say So |(JW)

Machel Montano (T&T) ft. Black Stalin (T&T), Fresh Life (T&T) & Farmer Nappy (T&T) |Love Fire (Instrumental)|(Xtatik)

*Lava Slide Riddim Medley*
Skinny Fabulous (SVG) | Jook Back| (Non-Fiction)

Dawg E Slaughter (T&T) | Done |(Non-Fiction)

Icon | Ready |(Non-Fiction)

Bunji Garlin (T&T) | Whatever |(Non Fiction)

Barbados Coalishun ft Rupee | Not Me |(Monstapiece)

Rupee (Barbados)|Do The Damn Thing (Instrumental) |Atlantic)

Tallpree (Grenada) | Ole Woman Alone |(Rockin’ J)

Machel Montano (T&T) ft. Black Stalin (T&T), Fresh Life (T&T) & Farmer Nappy (T&T) | Love Fire (Instrumental) |(Xtatik)

1Xtra Live @ Alternative Concept - Trindad Carnival 2005*

Machel Montano (T & T) ft Doug E Fresh (U.S) & T.O.K (Jamaica) |We Not Giving Up

Onika Bostic (T&T) & Bunji Garlin (T&T) | Get On Bad |(VP)
T&T Road March 2005**

Shurwayne Winchester (T&T) – Dead or Alive |(JW)

Roses Crew (SVG|West Indian Posse (Instrumental)|(CDR)

*Mas Bands Package - Wendell Clement & Joan Sams*

Magic (UK) |Soca Posse|(Jet Star)

Mad Professor (Jamaica) – P.I.M.P (CDR)

**Steelband Package – Matthew Phillip & Pepe Francis**

Kevin Lyttle (SVG) |After Party | (CDR)

Bunji Garlin |Kingdom Of Heaven (March Out Riddim) |(Vengeance Media)

*Soca Classic**

Red Plastic Bag (Barbados) | Ragga Ragga Ragga |(Bayfield)

Burning Flames (Antigua)|Strings|(VP)

Madzart (St Vincent) ft. Bunji Garlin (T&T) | Poor People Crying| (CDR)

Trini Jacobs (T&T) |Wine Behind De Truck |(Finatic)

Edwin Yearwood (B’dos) ft. Lexxus (Jamaica)| Best In Me (Rocksteady) (Remix)|(VP)

Luta (SVG) ft. Maximus Dan (T&T) | Levitate |(CDR)

Lil’' Rick (B’dos)| Do For Do| (CDR)

Bambino (Guadaloupe) |Ticky Tack| (CDR)

KMC (T&T) ft. Wayne Marshall(Jamaica)|First Experience |(Promo)
Old 08-10-2005, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA

I was WONDERING when someone was going to CREATE this THREAD.

I thought VASSELL would have been the one.

Anyhow, she is off to a FANTASTIC start.

The WOMAN just PLAYING the CHUNES that are VERY HOT right now....well, the VINCY chunes that is.

Remember, it is a UK show, so maybe those are the CHUNES that are CURRENTLY hot in the UK.
I dont hate on no WI nation vincypowa. I think you've got the wrong impression of me. and it was a comfortable start not A FANTASTIC start. and she never been a strickly MUSIC dj so her vault of music isnt going to very big anyway. if she wants to play those tunes that is her choice i have no problem. its not the only soca show avalilble in the UK.
Old 08-10-2005, 11:36 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,694
it a recent interview she said she would be playing new music.... and highlighting bajan music.... sounds like she did just that.
Old 08-10-2005, 11:42 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by vassell junior
I dont hate on no WI nation vincypowa. I think you've got the wrong impression of me. and it was a comfortable start not A FANTASTIC start. and she never been a strickly MUSIC dj so her vault of music isnt going to very big anyway. if she wants to play those tunes that is her choice i have no problem. its not the only soca show avalilble in the UK.
When I said I THOUGHT VASSELL would have been the ONE to MAKE this THREAD, I was REFERRING to the FACT that you have MENTIONED on several OCCASIONS about 1XTRA.

I believe that your'e the one who POSTED info on the NEW HOST. Therefore, I thought that you would be the ONE who would POST a THREAD on her FIRST show.

Get it?
Old 08-10-2005, 11:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
When I said I THOUGHT VASSELL would have been the ONE to MAKE this THREAD, I was REFERRING to the FACT that you have MENTIONED on several OCCASIONS about 1XTRA.

I believe that your'e the one who POSTED info on the NEW HOST. Therefore, I thought that you would be the ONE who would POST a THREAD on her FIRST show.

Get it?
OK. but i thought you meant i would be critical of her because she played VINCY tunes and BAJAN tunes
Old 08-10-2005, 04:20 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by vassell junior
OK. but i thought you meant i would be critical of her because she played VINCY tunes and BAJAN tunes
Nah bro.
Old 08-10-2005, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
bajandobad84

Wink

most of them tunes aint new, it seems i got to become a dj in order to push me country music cause she aint doin a good job. she needs more songs from the other islands. and vincypowa, u must show me how to use the computer.
Old 08-10-2005, 04:36 PM   #14 (permalink)

most of them tunes aint new, it seems i got to become a dj in order to push me country music cause she aint doin a good job. she needs more songs from the other islands. and vincypowa, u must show me how to use the computer.
Practice Practice Practice....it will come to you EVENTUALLY.
Old 08-10-2005, 06:56 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 59
Originally Posted by t-daughta
dang girl, that's harsh. so you couldn't stomach the rest of it? ouch! i noticed that she favoured those two islands...but i thought it was a good thing for the time of year. vincy music is just starting to get into all the dj's hands. and she's bajan, cropover just done...i'd have problems if she didn't rinse those tunes.

yes, antigua just done...i'm sure she'll play those as she gets them. grenada just wrapped up today...i'm guessing same deal.

come december i bet my bottom dollar T&T will rule the airwaves.

curious why you thought the show was so bad...? she played the Lava Slide...two of the 4 artists in her mix were Trini.

>dang girl..<
Well, I intentionally leave the seat up and on occasions pitch a tent.

The show wasn't horrible just not what I was expecting.