Old 06-11-2004, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 732
Unhappy Why oh why....

Do we believe that Rupee or KL's record deals have anything to do with taking soca to higher heights?

Last edited by classyivy1; 06-11-2004 at 11:53 AM..
Old 06-11-2004, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 28,177
Originally Posted by classyivy1
Do we believe that Rupee or KL's record deals have anything to do with taking soca to higher heights?
Because many of us are hopeful. I think deep down most people understand that this will not create greater appeal for our music.
Old 06-11-2004, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Resident Fool

Credits: 190
In a word, NO

but more power to dem...
Old 06-11-2004, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,453
Originally Posted by WICKED SCORPION
Because many of us are hopeful. I think deep down most people understand that this will not create greater appeal for our music.

cause we want it soooo bad.... regardless of what it is... its so nice to turn on my local station and hear Rupee... one step in the right direction for any person of the caribbean.
Old 06-11-2004, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 531
I think it could elevate soca. If the two of them are sucessful, it will open the doors for other soca artists. Other record companies will grab up other soca artists if these two become sucessful. Its like rap music, when it took off all the A&R's was in the hood looking for the next Biggie, Tupac etc. Same thing will happen in soca....hopefully.
Old 06-11-2004, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 28,177
Originally Posted by Metro Robber
I think it could elevate soca. If the two of them are sucessful, it will open the doors for other soca artists. Other record companies will grab up other soca artists if these two become sucessful. Its like rap music, when it took off all the A&R's was in the hood looking for the next Biggie, Tupac etc. Same thing will happen in soca....hopefully.
I doubt it
Old 06-11-2004, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 531
Originally Posted by WICKED SCORPION
I doubt it

Doh be so pessimistic man. It could happen. It happened with rap and reggae music, why not soca? Honestly I doh feel it will happen with the "jump and wave" type of soca but I feel Rupee and KL on the right track.

Why don't you think it could happen?
Old 06-11-2004, 02:33 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 29,919
yep for sure it will happen..

every label picks up a copy of the new hit artist per say..
example i would put chingy, jakwon, cassidy, in de same bracket also ashanti, beyounce, dat chick from mtv (i forget she name).. so soon enuff de same will happen to reggae.. and as an extension soca
Old 06-11-2004, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Credits: 2,248
Hey more power to KL and Rupee....i believe they are on the right track and we all should garner our support for them....for those who doubt their talents or capabilities to transcend soca to mainstream status, hey you are not looking at promoting caribbean music on a whole .....
Old 06-11-2004, 03:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

First off I think it's great to see anyone from the Caribbean getting exposure on the worldwide stage, that's why I am proud of Rupee and KL. Same reason I was proud of Heather Headley or Craig Davis!

However, when it comes to soca music, the world isn't ready for pure soca music! Just like reggae, latin music, and all the other types of music that had to be "watered" down in order to get worldwide acceptance. When you turn on these stations that play reggae on a regular, don't you notice that it's a select few artist that get played. I'm not hearing any Morgan's Heritage or any Jamaican artist that you hear in these bashments in Brooklyn!

Robber, these record companies will only pick up people that are on the same track as Rupee or KL. Artists whose music can be easily classified as something else. If these 2 are successful, the Scrunters, Timmys, Lil Ricks, Maximuses of the world won't get a record deal! Unless they alter their music to suit mainstream (non-caribbean) audiences!

I think we need to realize that what's happening is not about our music being recognized, but it's only about $$$, then we will not be disappointed when KL or Rupee drop albums that only have a touch of soca!

Last edited by classyivy1; 06-11-2004 at 03:06 PM..
Old 06-11-2004, 03:53 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Unfortunately, although we love soca, we have to understand that in it's current state, it will never go any further than it is now. Which means, we west indians will continue to love it and jump up and wave our rags and wine and get sweaty and behave wassy etc. But past that, who else wants to listen to that?

Rupee and Kevin Lyttle probably love that sweatiness, but they also do not want to settle for just that. I am no big fan of Kevin Lyttle's talent but I admire where he has gotten so far.

Agree with me or not, I think I am right. Soca music will not reach higher heights until changes are made to the music. How many songs are going have be about a wine and roll and cock back yuh bottom and go down low and all the fackery that we love so much. I include my self in the mix. I love the jump and wave music.

Classy, I know you love your soca the way it is and should not be altered or "watered down". I respect that. Just KNOW that it will never reach past it's current audience which is cool for some, and not so cool for others.

In order for soca to reach a wider audience, changes have to be made. Topics have to extend past put up yuh flag or wine on a bumpa. (Who, besides us can relate to that?)

There are other things that can make the music more appealing to an international audience but allyuh might call me a sellout. But none of it has to do with selling out. It has to creating a market for music out of Trinidad.

let the bottle pelting begin. *ducks and runs for cover*

Last edited by Scooby; 06-11-2004 at 03:57 PM..
Old 06-11-2004, 04:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Originally Posted by Scooby
Agree with me or not, I think I am right. Soca music will not reach higher heights until changes are made to the music. How many songs are going have be about a wine and roll and cock back yuh bottom and go down low and all the fackery that we love so much. I include my self in the mix. I love the jump and wave music.

Classy, I know you love your soca the way it is and should not be altered or "watered down". I respect that. Just KNOW that it will never reach past it's current audience which is cool for some, and not so cool for others.

In order for soca to reach a wider audience, changes have to be made. Topics have to extend past put up yuh flag or wine on a bumpa. (Who, besides us can relate to that?)

There are other things that can make the music more appealing to an international audience but allyuh might call me a sellout. But none of it has to do with selling out. It has to creating a market for music out of Trinidad.

let the bottle pelting begin. *ducks and runs for cover*

You know what scooby, the things that you say needs to change in order to make soca more marketable to the world, is what makes soca, SOCA! If I wanted to hear R&B or reggae, I will turn to Usher or Beenie Man. When I want to hear soca, give me SOCA! Not a hybrid, not a combo! I personally enjoy the soca of yesteryear, where it was distinctively Caribbean and where the artists did not care about what American audiences thought of OUR music.

And by the way, soca music can speak about patriotism, love, relationships, society, and a wide range of topics. It's not only about jump and wave. I take offense to that mindset, because to me that is making our music seem senseless
Old 06-11-2004, 04:23 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Originally Posted by classyivy1
You know what scooby, the things that you say needs to change in order to make soca more marketable to the world, is what makes soca, SOCA! If I wanted to hear R&B or reggae, I will turn to Usher or Beenie Man. When I want to hear soca, give me SOCA! Not a hybrid, not a combo! I personally enjoy the soca of yesteryear, where it was distinctively Caribbean and where the artists did not care about what American audiences thought of OUR music.

And by the way, soca music can speak about patriotism, love, relationships, society, and a wide range of topics. It's not only about jump and wave. I take offense to that mindset, because to me that is making our music seem senseless
Like I said, I know you love it the way it is and the way it was. But what about soca artists that don't want to just settle for being a big fish in a small pond.
How's this?

1.What would be your reaction if certain current soca artists sang a different "crossover" style.......still representing their place in the Caribbean. A style that would be marketable to that previously discussed international audience.

2.However, they still sang the soca that you love for Carnival time. How would that go over with you? Or do you think it is still blasphemous?

I know you might not like the music, but what would be the opinion on artists that did that?
Old 06-11-2004, 04:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Scooby,

I look at it this way, if someone like Machel would walk away from a record deal, then there was something about that deal that would not have been beneficial to our music.

Furthermore, the purpose of me starting this thread was to basically say, we can be happy for KL and Rupee's success as artist. But don't expect soca music to benefit from this. And certainly let's not get carried away to think that soca music will be stepping up to any kind of fame! Mainstream audiences don't care whether a song is soca or shite..They're just on what's the newest fad! Record companies only care about $$$$!

Last edited by classyivy1; 06-11-2004 at 05:26 PM..
Old 06-11-2004, 05:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mommy Dearest

Credits: 67,252
It's nice to know that my culture is being recognized by the outside world as beuatiful. Beautiful not for it's tourism but for it's culture the music. And besides I would like to her soca on mainstream radio without having to worry moving my car in the wrong spot and getting nothing but static. People who listen to those stations know what i am talking about.