Old 03-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,844
What Is A Soca Riddim??????

Is it a RIDDIM, which sounds nothing like soca, but you will find soca artists chanting/singing on it or is it a riddim that you can CLEARLY identify as being soca, or is it BOTH or neither????
Old 03-06-2005, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Poor Peoples Voice

Credits: 207
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Is it a RIDDIM, which sounds nothing like soca, but you will find soca artists chanting/singing on it or is it a riddim that you can CLEARLY identify as being soca, or is it BOTH or neither????
huh.....
Old 03-06-2005, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Poor Peoples Voice

Credits: 207
ya lost me there mr lyttle. but a "riddum" is a beat song by various artist. Whether its reggea or soca. Doesnt matter what the lyrical content is.
Old 03-06-2005, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by harizon?
huh.....
Uhm....ok...ley me TRY this.....

What makes THIS a SOCA RIDDIM???
Old 03-06-2005, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,855
Originally Posted by harizon?
ya lost me there mr lyttle. but a "riddum" is a beat song by various artist. Whether its reggea or soca. Doesnt matter what the lyrical content is.
yeah what you said......and many artists take that one riddim and they all sing under it....for instance (Thunderbird Riddim) Machel - No war, (concubine riddim) Denise Belfon - Bounce it...and (couldn't believe riddim) Gailann and Benjai - watching me
Old 03-06-2005, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Uhm....ok...ley me TRY this.....

What makes THIS a SOCA RIDDIM???
yes cuz other singers have a song under that "riddim"
Old 03-06-2005, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,006
I'm not too sure, but i think what he asking is what actually makes that a SOCA riddim, like what elements of the riddim is soca. Is it the artist who are on it, or is it how the riddim is produced? Am i correct???

if thats u question....kinda hard to tell
u have some, that u could listen to the riddim version alone an tell is a soca riddim (Nutmeg, Grippa, Courvoisier, Jiggle, etc....)

An then u have some other riddims, that could pass as another genre, an u cant tell till u hear the artists on it......
So i guess ultimately, is the sound of the riddim...but the artists song on it is a determining factor as well

(but if this is not what u meant, plz completely ignore this post)
Old 03-06-2005, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ms.Allison

Credits: 247
i think i understand what vincy sayin

alot of these riddims arent really soca...but since soca artists are chanting/singing on dem its considered soca...

basically some of these riddims sound nothing like soca ....ah think dats what he sayin
Old 03-06-2005, 11:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ackee
I'm not too sure, but i think what he asking is what actually makes that a SOCA riddim, like what elements of the riddim is soca. Is it the artist who are on it, or is it how the riddim is produced? Am i correct???

if thats u question....kinda hard to tell
u have some, that u could listen to the riddim version alone an tell is a soca riddim (Nutmeg, Grippa, Courvoisier, Jiggle, etc....)

An then u have some other riddims, that could pass as another genre, an u cant tell till u hear the artists on it......
So i guess ultimately, is the sound of the riddim...but the artists song on it is a determining factor as well

(but if this is not what u meant, plz completely ignore this post)
Correct
Old 03-06-2005, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniMami
i think i understand what vincy sayin

alot of these riddims arent really soca...but since soca artists are chanting/singing on dem its considered soca...

basically some of these riddims sound nothing like soca ....ah think dats what he sayin
Yes, you understand what I am saying.
Old 03-06-2005, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

oh ok....cool
Old 03-06-2005, 11:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Indianute

a soca riddim is the downfall of soca music. It is when of bunch of soca artists think they are jamaican and jump on the same track. When bunji and 10 other artists visit the same producer and put their vocals on the same track a soca riddim is created. As a result of the soca riddim soca artists now release atleast 20 songs a year...all on diferent soca riddims Most of these songs are sh!t but fortunately the better artists are able to come up with 2 or 3 good songs!
Old 03-07-2005, 12:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,006
Originally Posted by Indianute
a soca riddim is the downfall of soca music. It is when of bunch of soca artists think they are jamaican and jump on the same track. When bunji and 10 other artists visit the same producer and put their vocals on the same track a soca riddim is created. As a result of the soca riddim soca artists now release atleast 20 songs a year...all on diferent soca riddims Most of these songs are sh!t but fortunately the better artists are able to come up with 2 or 3 good songs!
Vincys seemed to do well with the soca riddim....max is like 4 ppl...an the riddim sounds soca (and riddims are used in moderation), so i wouldnt go out an say the riddim is solely responsible for the downfall of soca music in general
Old 03-07-2005, 12:19 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 24,373
Originally Posted by Indianute
i disagree more emphasis is placed on the lyrical content.. cause the same riddim already equalizes the playing field but what makes the artist great is in his lyrics.. Machel and Saucy for example.. No War vs i cannah really remember de song woman love to whine to it though
Old 03-07-2005, 01:17 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 6,464
riddim wha

Soca needs no riddims we need to get out of reggae bamsee!