Checkin de scene..
Credits: 6,089
What 'Road March' they talking 'bout?
Apologies if this is a repost.
Similar to the call by popular mas man Brian MacFarlane and many others to the new generation of designers to be innovative and creative in the design of costumes, I make a plea to the committee responsible for organising the Road March competition to change the name. They too should be innovative and creative and come up with a new name for the competition. From the '60s through the '80s the name Road March was given to the tune which was the people's choice on the road—the tune that revellers wanted to hear the most while parading the streets and crossing the stage. When calypsonians like Kitchener, Sparrow, Duke and SuperBlue ruled the road, their tunes were clearly the most popular tunes being played on the road for the season, and even after the Carnival season their tunes were clearly the favourites. What we see happening now is there are tunes which are clearly the favourites for the revellers on the road and tunes which the DJ, for whatever reason, decides to play when bands are ready to cross the stage. Being a regular mas player every year from 1982 to now, with the exception of two years, and as a child being in Skinner Park with my parents for the Carnival season from 1962 onward, I believe I know what a favourite tune sounds like and how the mas players and spectators alike react to it. This year and in recent years, the tunes that won the Road March titles in most cases did not reflect the tune of choice for the masqeraders. This year crossing the stage with Trini Revellers was the same. The tune that was played when we crossed the stage was different to the tunes we jumped and danced to leading up to the stage. Needless to say, the tune that was played when we crossed the stage won the Road March title. I don't have a problem with whatever arrangements are put in place for the results of the competition, but out of respect for the old bards, return the value of the name "Road March" to the most deserving song and find a new name for the stage competition. Food for thought: if you have a predetermined location for judging the tunes that the DJs and music bands know, then the results can be easily manipulated. Richard Ross via e-mail What 'Road March' they talking 'bout? | Trinidad Express Newspaper | Letters Do you agree or disagree? |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 70,222
Have to agree there!
The only way to make a true assessment of the real Road March is to have as many secret judging points as advertised judging points along the parade route! However this makes judging the road march way more expensive and complicated from a manpower point of view! Maybe it could be done but as I said there will need to be as many secret judging points as there are currently publicised ones! __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! |
Credits: 336
do they count...Sando, Chaguanas, Tobago etc in this Road March ting?
something wrong, cuz no way Fay Ann song coulda play only 98 times in two islands...this just not right. Last edited by SWAGGERIFIC; 02-24-2012 at 06:24 PM.. |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
On top of that I think there are 3 or 4 judging points in P.O.S and at at least 2 in Sando! __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! |
Credits: 1,018,653
I agree and discussions prior to Carnival I was saying to a few people that individual mas bands need to poll their masqueraders so that the masqueraders should determine what tunes they want to hear on the road and most importantly cross the stage to.........I had no problem crossing to Iwer and Fayann like we did on Tuesday as opposed to PYF
__________________ I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad
Credits: 90,619
The obvious simple answer is that every registered band should upload their 16-32 hours of music from Carnival Monday and Tuesday to the Carnival Committee and the Committee should make these files available for all. Then appoint people to count the number of times songs were played.
Thats if they wanted transparency... |
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Credits: 336
Checkin de scene..
Credits: 6,089
Girl Crush
Credits: 486,952
__________________ Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on. Long Live the Queen! |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
__________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! |
Credits: 150,641
The CDC (is it still that?) should always be looking to see where changes can be made for improvement of carnival...and clearly this is one of those things that needs to change.
Unique woman
Credits: 132,154
Secret recorders of how much a song is played at secret locations throughout the mas route is what I also say.
But it better be secret and not obvious otherwise it would be a waste of an effort. Some people too slick. I also feel there should be a polling of songs wanted to be played on the road. Sometimes they over kill certain songs and fail to play other songs that are road worthy. __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Unique woman
Check out some insulting words said by someone about the article writer on the website. So people in their 50s, 60s, 70s... who love the culture have no rights to an opinion ... lady get the hell out of here eh.... The older members of society are not alike and many do have valid points. Some people cyah think man gosh. Some people just like to cry down a new idea too much
__________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Higher Level
Credits: 10,657
I guess for people who care about which song wins Road March.
When I pay money to play mas I don't care for the policies involved such as B.O.D.Y or Road March, this is MY time. |
Unique woman
As a masquerader or onlooker I just want to hear good road music also... __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
The #1 Soca tune so far in 2012 is from XC-Lanz band out of Aruba...Selloff
Monster tune....Soca 2012 Carnival Party Rock Anthem by WTF

10Likes