Credits: 14,232
spell it wrong.
j'ouvert- i opened....daiz de french-english translation.
ah like chupidness
Credits: 13,823
i think iz morning beginning...something do do with the new dawn
AKA Dimeout
Credits: 990
can someone tell me what is the meaning of mas?
Rebelucian
Credits: 5,789
day opened = opening of the day = sunrise
ah like chupidness
Credits: 13,823
short for masquerade.... |
#7 (permalink) | ||
Credits: 20,800
http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/events/tr...ctionary.shtml |
||
AKA Dimeout
Credits: 990
Credits: 29,966
And J'ouvert means 'Break of dawn' SOS. Wha kinna question is dah? |
Credits: 700
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,858
yuh sig is crazy ![]() |
Credits: 2,475
From very early morning thousands and thousands of people jumping up behind drums, iron bands, steelbands, brass bands, and unfortunately sound systems too. Some people might be uniformed as a masquerading jouvert bands, and or also with paint, oil and mud. I think long ago it use to be sweeter in the sense that some of these different bands would clash but today there are not as many bands.
I only wish I had the chance to witness Burning Flames in a jouvert in Antigua to see how the crowd does go on. Sometime in the future I will witness Red Hot Flames do their thing |
Credits: 6,465
I will go with the start of KANIVAL |
Another Sexy Scorpion!
Credits: 134
Shurwayne's Interpretation
This is an excerpt from an email Shurwayne Winchester sent to me in Feb 2002. I was doing some research on j'ouvert and since he has a song, it thought it was great to get his input.
"Some things in Jourver't would be different depending on what Island you are from, but the foundation is the same. Jourver't is about _expression, it's that one morning when all is let loose, and the old reigns as king and queen on the road. Demons are one of the more portrayed aspects of jourver't they represent all the negatives around, and both man woman and child are allowed to tell their story by their dress code and behaviour. Men in women's clothes, drinking from old vessels like a posie, snakes around the necks and on shoulders of the masqueraders are also favorites. In Tobago the biggest part of our jourvert is mud. Eight thousand and more would be covered in mud chanting old slangs as if to awaken the dead. Any thing old is the wear on that morning. In one of my songs "Jourver't" tells a whole story of jourver't. Jab, jab is a favourite chant. These people would dress to look like Satan,demons or any evil, and taunt, frighten you into paying for your life. Forks in their hands they would come closer and closer chanting "Jab'jab pay the devil." One dollar or two would avoid you getting mud paint or any thing they are covered with thrown all over you. Stories are told and scenes can be seen acted of social events, history on the whole can be seen that morning. Jourver't is freedom, Jourvert is missbehaviour, Jourver't is pure madness. To be tidy on Jourvert is an insult. Rags are called for to look the part, and white means war. Any reveler seeing white would attack to be the first to dirty the person in white." |

yuh sig is crazy