Old 04-04-2005, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,212
What makes a band a big band?

Everybody always talking about the big bands. So could someone please tell me what makes a band a big band?
Old 04-04-2005, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 30,013
Wha you think? Nuh popularity, quality of the members, performances, music...
Old 04-04-2005, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,910
I think so long as most people can at least say they have heard of the band & acknowledge that there is a fan base, they can be considered big. I may not care for Invasion, but I know they do have fans & would say that they are a big band. I would question a band whose only fans are at "home."
Old 04-04-2005, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 58
Good to know! I always thought it was anything above the sequence bands (like Imij & co) or bands with live drums and horns like (Trafik). Guess I learned something new
Old 04-05-2005, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummacita
I think so long as most people can at least say they have heard of the band & acknowledge that there is a fan base, they can be considered big. I may not care for Invasion, but I know they do have fans & would say that they are a big band. I would question a band whose only fans are at "home."
So what you are saying is that if they are big where they come from and people know them outside of there island they are a big band?
Old 04-05-2005, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,910
Originally Posted by sexydeva
So what you are saying is that if they are big where they come from and people know them outside of there island they are a big band?
Well is there a specific band you are inquiring about that should be considered big?
Old 04-06-2005, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bad Gyal Ting

Location: A place yuh probably heard of called 'mind yuh fada head'!
Credits: 121
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
Wha you think? Nuh popularity, quality of the members, performances, music...
I totally agree with u miss lady! It doh take a genius to make a distinction between a bad band and a real good band.
Old 04-06-2005, 06:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummacita
Well is there a specific band you are inquiring about that should be considered big?
Not at all. I just wondering what makes a big band.

So let me ask this who are considered the big bands?