Old 04-23-2006, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 833
What was Machel thinking?????????

OK...this may be late in coming but was anyone there for Baccanal Wednesday in TNT??? I am a huge Machel fan but he disappointed me with his stage show this particualar night because he had way to much Reggae influence...after 20 minutes of trying to reggaenize carnival I left with the 20 soca fanatics that was with me. I am not downplaying Reggae at all...I like it a great deal...but come on this is TNT Carnival non Sun Splash...If Machel would remember back to Pier 1 cooler fete about 6 years back the lead singer of I forgot which band got booed and pelted off stage when he tried singing his 3rd regae song in a row...I am a SOCA purist...I don't mind reggae influence soca but it was quite obvious that night the crowd felt as I did.
Old 04-23-2006, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
The JaM™

Careful now! got some hardcore machel fans here who might wanna beat you down...lol
Old 04-23-2006, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 56,868
I love Machel to death but I felt the same way. I understand the unity he's trying to promote and that he wants to take soca out of its lil box -I commend him for being a pioneer in so many ways but the bottom line is that I want pure, unadulterated soca. The reggae ish killed the vybe several times in my opinion.

I feel the same way about the amount of R&B thats been going on in the soca as well, that may be cool the rest of the year but NOT for CARNIVAL!
Old 04-23-2006, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 140,794
Originally Posted by tnt01
OK...this may be late in coming but was anyone there for Baccanal Wednesday in TNT??? I am a huge Machel fan but he disappointed me with his stage show this particualar night because he had way to much Reggae influence...after 20 minutes of trying to reggaenize carnival I left with the 20 soca fanatics that was with me. I am not downplaying Reggae at all...I like it a great deal...but come on this is TNT Carnival non Sun Splash...If Machel would remember back to Pier 1 cooler fete about 6 years back the lead singer of I forgot which band got booed and pelted off stage when he tried singing his 3rd regae song in a row...I am a SOCA purist...I don't mind reggae influence soca but it was quite obvious that night the crowd felt as I did.
Aryo SHUD ah PELT Machel wid TOILET PAPER for BRINGING REGGAE to CARNIVAL.

Aryo FRAID r WAH?
Old 04-23-2006, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,989
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA

Aryo FRAID r WAH?
He go get that just now he should know better!!!
Old 04-23-2006, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 23
DITTO!!! Come Carnival time I want to hear PURE SOCA...nuthin but!!
Old 04-23-2006, 03:37 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 56,868

Aryo FRAID r WAH?
Now you taking it too far...nobody pelting my Machel w/ nothing
Old 04-23-2006, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,989
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
D john john crew waiting.

Last edited by Predator01; 04-23-2006 at 03:46 PM..
Old 04-23-2006, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 160,101

Aryo FRAID r WAH?
: Instigator!

Old 04-23-2006, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,293

Point well taken, I am in agreement with you...but, did you take it to the main source management at Xtatik LTD, tel # 868-623- 0143 or xtatik@xtatik.com ? If so what did management have to say ?

Also, I would want to think that any professional in any business would want to hear constructive feedback ....so please let us know.
Old 04-23-2006, 06:36 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 1,263

Aryo FRAID r WAH?

LISTEN MISTER!!! ITS SUNDAY....SO U ARE SPARED....!!!

And yes.....I heard about this event and its so funny if u attended Zen, he did joke about that.......and most definitely fixed the problem......
Old 04-23-2006, 06:39 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva

right......MY CREW (MMF) COME FRONT!

WE WAITING FOR THE LIKES OF THOSE BRAVE ENOUGH TO TRY IT!!

in da words of the Rock...."JUST BRING IT!"
Old 04-23-2006, 06:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,231
Thankfully, I came in on Thursday.
Old 04-23-2006, 06:46 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 1,748
Originally Posted by Ms. Spicetatik
right......MY CREW (MMF) COME FRONT!

WE WAITING FOR THE LIKES OF THOSE BRAVE ENOUGH TO TRY IT!!

in da words of the Rock...."JUST BRING IT!"

well i wasnt present at the fete in question
but i belive he performed the same routine
each night at every fete.......and i luved it the only night
he strayed was at Zen on Ash Wednesday
which was a remarkable performance
I luv what he has done for soca and continues to do
The reggae and R&B influences are brilliant
he is just moving with the times and new trend
tryin to reach that diversed target market!
my two cents.....
Old 04-23-2006, 06:48 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Short_Thing

well i wasnt present at the fete in question
but i belive he performed the same routine
each night at every fete.......and i luved it the only night
he strayed was at Zen on Ash Wednesday
which was a remarkable performance
I luv what he has done for soca and continues to do
The reggae and R&B influences are brilliant
he is just moving with the times and new trend
tryin to reach that diversed target market!
my two cents.....

couldnt have said it better myself....(I missed u at Zen too?) lol!