What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
I feel dat bim brings... lyrics and mid tempo feel to de artform as well as versatility with sq1 using french and african influence as well as zouk .. our niche has been carved when is comes to Ring Bang and Tuk elements of soca that most have yet to discover..
Credits: 2,396
I feel Trinidad brings that jump and wave n wine up aspect, that is apart of our "west indian" culture. TnT I feel for the most part gives off a nice vybe for carnival. I also feel tnt brings some good jouvert chippin music to the artform. and lastly tnt has a lot of well versed lyrics from some of the younger generation. i.e. maximus, bunji, treason.
Credits: 2,472
ST.CROIX...WE TINKER AROUND WIT D RYTHYM BOX WE HAVE MORE RYTHYM THAN LYRICS AS OPPOSE TO WHAT GOING ON IN TNT PLUS WE HAVE THE SWEETEST OF THE OLE TIME SCRATCH (BANJO) BAND.
Credits: 3,433
In St.Kitts we bring up-tempo rythym-box driven music. Small Axe Band is known for it's rythym box based music while Nu-Vybes has combined the rythym-box with sweet lyrical and musical arrangements creating a hybrid of bouyon/soca/calypso. In other words WCK meets Square One meets Burning Flames ,thats Nu-Vybes and St.Kitts-Nevis music.
KingBea....
Credits: 1,767
Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
all I have to say is Flames....... What we bring is nothing new. But what we do, we do it very, very well..... |
Credits: 1,089
BRASS...check roy cape and 3/4 of dem soca songs.
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,422
Re: Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
![]() steupssssssssssssssssss Flames have brought together a lot of elements of zouk, salsa/merengue, etc., into a good number of their tunes, and have brought their own sound to soca. They undoubtedly have had a certain level of influence on bands from other Leewards islands such as Dominica and St. Kitts. But I would say what they have done with the electronic production, the drum and iron sound, and bringing Spanish and Haitian influences into their music would be their contribution. |
Credits: 137
Re: Re: Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
KingBea....
Re: Re: Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
But is it new....( Don't reelly membah dee Zouk dough). I said nothing new..... |
KingBea....
Re: Re: Re: Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
Jamaica brings de reggae to de soca resulting in de ragga...
There's also Byron Lee & the Dragonnaires who despite a disturbing number of covers has helped to take soca to many places around the globe. Doh know if they've brought or added anything of significance to the music itself, but they have played a role in adding to it's fan base. |
Credits: 4,487
Grenada to me will always have this jouvert feel with drums and horns blowing. There is a song WCK have from 1980 something that is so similar to what we consider jouvert music out of Grenada, with JUST HORNS, CONCH SHELL BLOWING, and drums beating! Those out of Grenada would now that drums sound so significant, especially coming out of TIVOLI! Come to think of it, the sounds of jouvert were just played during that particular day, now you can hear it in a hit Soca chune! Otherwise, our calypsos and soca had a familiar sound of the traditional riddims! |
Credits: 1,712
salty |
Credits: 36
Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
Credits: 2,692
Re: Re: What Element does your island "STRONGLY" bring to soca?
let me clarify what i think i read... which i think was very clear... HE SAID SQ1 BRINGS VERSITILITY... and he used an example.... by using zouk....... i don't think he meant sq1 was the first to bring zouk to soca... he used zouk as an example to show versatility. on that note i sitting back and waiting for de cuss. |